We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My son's local at Uni” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Duke of Gloucester

The Duke of Gloucester
University Way,, Crewe CW1 5NW, England (Formerly Tje Duke of Gloucester)
01270 539380
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 129 Restaurants in Crewe
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Stockton on Tees
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“My son's local at Uni”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

When visiting my son at University this is the pub/restaurant I use. It is relatively large clean and friendly. Prices are generally reasonable ( over £3.50 for a pint of draught San Miguel is steep though) and beer quality is high. £8.95 for a main course is good value and there is plenty of choice. i would like to see more grills ( only steak is a rump) and would be happy to pay for the pleasure in a pleasant environment.
I arrived for breakfast the following morning and forgot i was on the wet side of the Pennines- a glorious day resulted in an ample breakfast on the very pleasant terrace. A rare pleasure.
You can do much worse than eating / drinking here even if it does have the feeling of a tied brewery too evident for my taste.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    43
    20
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Average, but cheese and onion pie good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Nice pub and good surroundings, food bit hit and miss and frozen chips! Could be great if paid bit more attention to detail.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Appalling Welcome!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have been regulars here for the last 6 years, going at least once a week, being busy working parents, however things have been deteriorating and although we have persevered, our experience on Thursday was the final straw and do not think we will be visiting again. On arriving at the Restaraunt which unusually had only one couple in, we were offered the table next to the toilet entrance and not in the Restaurant itself, when we asked if there was not any tables free in the Restaurant, we were told yes there was but, as we had my Grandson with us, it would be easier for them to clean sat there than on the carpeted area. My daughter was made to feel very uncomfortable by this, as we have eaten there on numerous occasions with my Grandson, and no mess has ever been made, bearing in mind more often than not he eats before we get there and perhaps has some vegetables to munch on while we eat, these do not go on the floor. My Daughter was made to feel so awkward, and the implication that her son was a very messy eater, meant she felt we could not stay there. If this is how the staff are now making regulars feel, how would a new customer feel with this greeting? We were very very disappointed, and could not believe how after all the money we have spent there, we could be treated with this attitude. Such a contrast to the warm welcome we used to receive from Paul and his team.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very poor, avoid at any cost!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Myself and family popped into the pub for an evening meal. Although some staff were friendly overall the experience was very poor. We were disgusted to see a young woman on the bar pull up her pants and then wipe a head off a mans pint with her fingers. We then saw the same woman take clean glasses and hold them against her shirt before putting them up. Food came was 'alright' however not at the high standard it's usually at... Chips part cooked, garlic bread very cold. Just before we left we had to hear 3 members of staff swearing and moaning. How can this be professional? This use to be a great pub to take family and friends however we will be avoiding this pub for a while....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Family friendly pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Not brilliant, but very acceptable. Food is good and tasty but lacks individuallity. Fast turnaround on service, easy to order. A bit like an upmarket McDonalds.
Children friendly, a bit noisy & crowded. Overall it was OK

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duke of Gloucester also viewed

 

Been to The Duke of Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duke of Gloucester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.