We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard 2 for 10” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cheshire Cheese

Cheshire Cheese
332 crewe road, | Shavington, Crewe CW2 5AF, England
+44 1270 747787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 167 Restaurants in Crewe
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: "A True British Local" The Cheshire Cheese is what we all have been waiting for a real community Pub. We offer good food, Great Beer, Live music on every weekend. We also have a wonderful Beer Garden to the side and rear and sun terrace to the front and a Very large car park. So please why not call in and see for yourselves what a great Pub we have just on our doorstep!!
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Standard 2 for 10”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Visited this place a few of times over a couple of years; found it ok, the atmosphere is good the FOH are always attentive though openly chat amongst themselves at the bar.
The food isnt exactly worth the money though nothing is really nowadays though, good for a quick stop of wouldnt visit for a special occasion or take family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    22
    8
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband first drank at The Cheshire Cheese 60 years ago! How times have changed. Living out of the area, and driving past we decided to pop in for lunch. What a very pleasant surprise! On receiving the wine list we found a very concise but amazingly well thought out list.
We chose a bottle of well chilled Sicilian white and studied the menu. An amazing document! Many very exciting Indian dishes, all with very explicit descriptions, plus a very Interesting European section. We both chose Keralan dishes, mine prawn, my husbands lamb. Fantastic! The flavours were excellent as the various spices in each dish could be clearly tasted.
The service was very good, pleasant but not intrusive. All in all an excellent experience. We will be returning with friends. What a find!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Fabulous food, lovely warm welcome from the staff, would recommend to anybody. Will certainly be returning again very soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Went for the first time with friends,had a fabulous Indian meal,paneer curry it was as nice as I had eaten in Goa. Friends also enjoyed their meals and the cheese board was excellent too. Nice surroundings,good service what more could you want and I am very particular.A must visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great food at fab price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Always get a warm welcome from Sree and the team at the co co nut grove aka the cheshire cheese food wines and beers all first rate the peacock and duke of glos would do well to look at the way this place is run its miles ahead of them both !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheshire Cheese also viewed

 

Been to Cheshire Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheshire Cheese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.