We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Conference / Workshop Facilitation and Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nantwich Road, Crewe CW2 6DN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Business Conference / Workshop Facilitation and Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Management and Staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and we were incredibly well catered for.
Workshop Room was perfect - large, well ventilated, provisioned with projector, screen and flipchart. Food served in room by very polite staff. We had one in the party with special dietary requirements, who was catered for brilliantly - thank you.
We will definitely return !

Room Tip: Road side is better than the side facing the West Coast Main Line - both are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Tim, Thank you for the great review. we are delighted that your event was a great success. I will pass on your comments to all the team who will be so pleased that their efforts have been recognised. We all hope that you choose us again for any future events. Kindest Regards Tracey Molyneaux GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    46
    13
    9
    11
See reviews for
16
28
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arrived late on Friday 10th April with David Urquhart (Coach) due to accident on the motorway so the meal time was adjusted from 6.30 till 8pm.

My friend and I paid the single supplement and were each given a large room with double bed both rooms were very comfortable and clean. I certainly didn't notice any noise and had a good nights sleep on both nights.

Bathrooms were fine with shower over bath no problem with the water which was plentiful and hot. The food was fine for both breakfast and evening meal. Rolls were on a separate table which was a bit unusual as the food was served to us!

The staff were all friendly and pleasant and the hotel seemed to have been newly decorated with lots of new carpet. We were in 223 and 225 and our only problem was finding the rooms as it's an old hotel the layout is a bit higgledy piggledy!

The was no entertainment in the hotel so on the second night my friend and I went out.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you ever so much for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and do hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Kindest Regards Tracey Molyneaux GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Crewe Arms recently as I needed to book at short notice and other hotels I would usually visit were full. I don't need to be in the town centre for work so would generally prefer a quieter location. Nonetheless reviews seemed to be on the up so I thought it'd be worth giving the Crewe Arms a try.

First impressions weren't great. Although the lobby was smart and seemed clean, I was greeted at the check in desk by a lingering smell of stale sweat. The lady at the desk ignored me for several minutes while she completed a conversation with a colleague.

Once checked in, I walked out of the lobby and straight into the 1980s. The smartening-up seems to have extended precisely as far as the breakfast room and no further. This is a hotel which trades on its historic character - Queen Vic used to stop by on the way to Balmoral doncherknow - but from the stairways onwards the impression was more of tired late 20th century than charming mid-19th. Lots of scuffed brown varnish handrails and off-white woodchip walls on display, plus something mysterious and probably unspeakable trodden into the carpet on the way to the second floor.

My room was a twin just off the stairwell. The door to the stairs had a broken closer / damper so it slammed violently every time someone went through, rattling the furniture in my room.

No obvious sign of recent renovation in the room either; bedspreads etc. may have been newish but the design was dated making it difficult to tell, the carpets and walls were definitely vintage (not in a good way), and the curtains were dusty. The view was of a dirty brick wall, an odd UPVC door opening onto a decidedly unsafe-looking platform leading nowhere, and some bins down in the courtyard. Not to forget the decaying remains of a pigeon on a ledge. The room was stuffy but with no air conditioning and no obvious way of opening the window even if I'd wanted to (which I didn't in the circumstances) I put up with it.

The bathroom was a tiny sort of wardrobe thing, a step up from the level of the rest of the room. A cracked basin, squeaky taps (one boiling, one freezing) and drains that made weird sucking and gurgling noises. The shower cubicle, also tiny, had grimy peeling sealant and someone else's hairs in it.

I didn't fancy eating there so went out in the car and picked up a pizza instead. If it had been more than a one night stay I would have checked out early and gone elsewhere.

Avoid, even if it's cheap.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear sir, I am sorry to say that I do not agree with the contents of your review and find them to be most unjust. The whole hotel has been refurbished including new TV's, beds, bedding, soft furnishings etc... I have checked the plumbing in the room you occupied and all is fine, there if no evidence of a dead pigeon, the varnish on the staircase is newly done. The door closer has been adjusted slightly. We are a very historic property and I believe that the refurbishments done have taken this into account. Perhaps a more modern property would better suit your needs. Regards Tracey Molyneaux GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed overnight on 17 April 2015. Check-in was speedy and the single room was spotlessly keen, compact but stylish. Windows are double glazed to muffle train noise and this was effective. Kettle and tea and coffee making facilities available, flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board! (A trouser press may have been a better option for most however!). Bed very comfortable. Had an excellent room service meal (battered haddock,chips, mushy peas). It took half an hour to arrive but was worth the wait (the room service charge, £2.50 was waived). Breakfast offered comprised a large selection of cereals, juices, breads and was worth £9.95.

Any niggles? Very few. A rubber mat for use in the bath or shower would be helpful to avoid slipping and a hand railn near shoulder level on the wall (small ones are included on the bath sides).

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for the great review, we are all very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. We do have bath mats available at reception, so if you do stay with us again in the future please ask and we will have one placed in the room for you. Thanks again and kindest regards Tracey Molyneaux GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed in best western before so knew what to expect. However the Crewe Arms exceeded our expectations. A historic building that's easy to find with plenty of free parking. The staff were really friendly. Our room was quite large, very clean and comfortable. A great stay!! Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Many thanks for the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The whole team sincerely hopes that you come back and visit us again soon. Thanks once again. Kindest Regards Tracey Molyneaux GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Appears renovations have changed this establishment for the better. Nicely and quickly checked in. Blazing fire in the lobby and restaurant was busy. Room was very typical for Europe; small but efficient. Given wifi code for each device. Did occasionally hear the passing trains nearby, but not enough to disturb sleep. Only main complaint is that bathroom never really ot hot water; lukewarm was okay only for a brief rinse.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Dear Drew, Many thanks for the great review. I have had maintenance take a look at the water temp and we have increased this slightly so envisage no further issues, please accept my apologies if this caused you any inconvenience. We are pleased that all other aspects of your stay were good and hope that you will return when next in Crewe. Kindest Regards Tracey Molyneaux GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel

Address: Nantwich Road, Crewe CW2 6DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional 61 bed roomed hotel offering both bar and restaurant along with 5 meeting/conference rooms. The bar is open daily serving food and drinks from 7am - 11pm All rooms are en suite and offer tea/coffee, iron/ironing boards, hairdryers, free wi-fi, flat screen TV's, direct dial telephones Undergoing a major refurbishment Jan - June 2014 - all areas of the hotel have been completely renewed and modernised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.