We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Master Potter

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Master Potter
Tean Road, Cheadle ST10 1LW , England
01538 753196
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 18 Restaurants in Cheadle
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
norwich
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Visited here whilst staying nearby in the excellent Park View Guest House. Went on a Monday evening so was fairly quiet. Service was very efficient, good range of drinks to choose from. Menu very well priced and wide range of food to choose from. Portions very ample. Nothing spectacular but a good value family pub meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful. God value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We regularly call in for tea. The food is usually reasonable and good value. Don't expect gourmet cuisine though

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I go to the Hungry Horse in Cheadle every Sunday for lunch and we have always had a good meal. The staff are really friendly and make you welcome. Can't say a wrong word against it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We visit the Master Potter regularly.
It is very good value 'pub grub'. We have never had a bad meal and have always found the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tean, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Customer Service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Visited a couple of weeks ago with my boyfriend on a Sunday night. It was a very quiet night so we're annoyed that we waited a good 5-10 minutes to go behind the bar are serve us! I ordered the lamb shank and can say I was definitely disappointed when it arrived. The peas had been very overcooked, the mashed potato had gone hard and crusty on the top and the lamb shank was so hard I couldn't even put my knife through it. Nobody came to check back on how our meals were, once we'd finished the waitress came to clear our plates & asked if we'd enjoyed our food, I told her what was wrong to which she just replied 'Sorry about that' & walked off!! We left our drinks and walked out, safe to say we won't be returning!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Master Potter also viewed

Cheadle, Staffordshire
Cheadle, Staffordshire
 
Cheadle, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Master Potter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Master Potter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.