We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we liked it!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Crewe Barthomley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Crewe Barthomley to your Saves list
Travelodge Crewe Barthomley
Junction 16 M6/A500, Alsager Road, Barthomley CW2 5PT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barthomley
Kinross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“we liked it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

turned up here after a day at alton towers. 1st impressions were very grim. First we drove past it as foliage totally covers the sign. Then we were horrified to see a little chef where we expected burger king costa and marks. This lodge is ANCIENT!! However reception was quick and friendly. Rooms are ancient and smell strange. However, things picked up as we preferred our little chef meals to burger king. The kettle at the lodge was a quiet boiler and lovely big mugs. We were absolutely shattered. The pull out bed is very short and only suitable for a small child. Although the staff knew to expect 7 of us (2 rooms booked) they had only made up the double beds in each room and we had to get extra for the pull out beds. And only one towel in each room provided. Tracking down extra linin is the last thing we wanted to do late at night. For a quiet comfy night though, this was fab. We went to bed about 11pm and slept undisturbed til 10am!! We slept far better here than at the noisy alton tower hotel for sure. The shower was very good and we got toast and marmalade at little chef before heading off again. Don.t think we would want to linger too many nights here but after a dreadful 1st impression, we loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    45
    19
    40
See reviews for
42
33
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This Travelodge is the worst i have ever stayed in, smelly and unclean. The room had nothing all the walls at all to give it even a glimmer of comfort, just holes and fixings where once were pichtures.
Avoid

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I could not believe my luck when I got a real bargain of £10 per night and booked 3 nights.
My hobby is researching my family history and it gave easy access to where I needed to be.

The public area and my room were really smelly and I can only describe it as a cross between cats wee and stinking old mops hiding in cupboards. Other than that I thought it might be my ancestors buried under the floorboards.

I bought neutradol spray which helped to mask the smell which was a shame because it was clean although in need of complete refurbishment. I won`t be back at any price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulster
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My son and myself stayed here for two nights whilst travelling from Scotland to Twickenham and back for the Heineken Cup Final. To be honest, you could spend a fortnight here, and that would be just to clean it.
When we arrived we were met by a lady who looked somewhat dishevled and flustered. On entering the room there was only one bed made up and when we asked for the second I was handed a "bed pack" over the counter and told to get on with it.
Our room was advertised as a family room. It had a double bed, a pull out mattress from under a sofa which could only be described as something which would be found in prison. There was also a sofa which could be used.
The bathroom was something else. Really in need of a refurbishment, as was the whole room, but there were three long dark hairs on the tiles around the bath. The whole place had a smell which was not inviting. The double bed was awful. You sank into the middle of it and had great difficulty getting out again. You also ended up with your feed higher than your head, alright if you have low blood pressure.
Would I stay there again? No. Would I recommend it to you? No.
There is a Premier Inn a short distance away towards Crewe itself, try there.
Was there any positives about this establishment? Yes, it was right beside the M6. That's it.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have never been to a more dirty hotel in my life. As a Head Housekeeper I know what i am talking about. How they let anyone stay there is unbelieveable we paid full rate . Even if you pay the lower rate you should be entailed to a clean room without smells. So do not book we where lucky enough to be relocated to another Travel Lodge even if it meant going 25 minutes down the road.
NEVER NEVER NEVER AGAIN

Room Tip: choose another travel lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed here again on our way north and arrived around the same sort of time as last time, early evening. This is a busy time for (what appeared to be) the one person on duty but I have to say she coped spendidly... and smiled too! The hotel itself is the same as before, tired and badly in need of maintenence but it was clean and it's cheap... and, if you're only there for the one night, it is perfectly adequate as a stopover.
Book online, check in quickly and no checkout... brilliant!
Due to the panic buying, the petrol station across the way had run out of unleaded, but the wife's new car is a diesel so we were able to top up without resorting to the ridiculously priced stuff available at one of the M6 services.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This travelodge is just what you'd expect. It's basic, but does what it is intended for. My experience of this travelodge was nowhere near as bad as is made out in other reviews. The room was fine, check in was quick and easy, and the adjoining Little Chef was ideal for a hot chocolate before bed, and breakfast in the morning. It is feeling a little tired compared to some of the newer travelodges, but it was perfectly acceptable as a one night stopover.

The only problem I had was a group of drunks arriving back at 1.45am, shouting and slamming doors. Unfortunately there are some very inconsiderate people out there who think it's acceptable to wake the whole hotel in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Crewe Barthomley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Crewe Barthomley

Address: Junction 16 M6/A500, Alsager Road, Barthomley CW2 5PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Barthomley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barthomley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crewe Barthomley Travelodge is nestled in the lovely Staffordshire countryside. Even though the hotel is located off the busy M6 and the A500 you would be surprised how quiet a nights sleep you will have. Each of the 42 rooms has on’ suite bathrooms with bath and shower facilities. We have 39 family rooms, which have the facility to sleep 4, and 1 double room that sleeps 2, we also have 2 single rooms with disabled facilities that can sleep 2.All our rooms have secondary double-glazing, tea and coffee making facilities, TV with 17 channels and all the family rooms have a double bed and a sofa bed. We have a 24-hour service station opposite and a Little Chef next door. Parking for 42 cars, with 24-hour c.c.tv.The Hotel is all on ground level, which is why we are a popular choice after a long journey. Only 3.5 miles from Alsager, which has an array of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Crewe Barthomley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Crewe Barthomley Hotel Barthomley
Travelodge Barthomley
Travel Lodge Barthomley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Crewe Barthomley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.