We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than other reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Crewe Barthomley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Crewe Barthomley to your Saves list
Travelodge Crewe Barthomley
Junction 16 M6/A500, Alsager Road, Barthomley CW2 5PT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barthomley
Peterborough
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Much better than other reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This travelodge is just what you'd expect. It's basic, but does what it is intended for. My experience of this travelodge was nowhere near as bad as is made out in other reviews. The room was fine, check in was quick and easy, and the adjoining Little Chef was ideal for a hot chocolate before bed, and breakfast in the morning. It is feeling a little tired compared to some of the newer travelodges, but it was perfectly acceptable as a one night stopover.

The only problem I had was a group of drunks arriving back at 1.45am, shouting and slamming doors. Unfortunately there are some very inconsiderate people out there who think it's acceptable to wake the whole hotel in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    40
    18
    37
See reviews for
37
28
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

stayed here whilst in Stoke on Trent (Hanley) for an event, safe to safe I shall never return, you get what you pay for - you certainly do! I think I got a £20 one night deal. Arrived at reception to an unfriendly unco-operative member of staff, who eventually booked me in, the room was on the ground floor facing the car park and absolutely "reeked" of damp, it was so pungeant when I openened the door, the first thing I did was open the window and then put the heating on full blast, consensation was dripping from the window, the mattress was completely out of shape, with our heads lying substantially lower than our legs! our companion didn't fare well either the mattress for the 3rd person was like something you would expect to see in a 90's primary school gym lesson, worn, tattered and smelly. I have stayed in several Travellodges in Britain and always found then reasonable, this one however should be avoided until they advertise a renovation is complete

Room Tip: Pick another hotel at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

A wonderful reception but downhill from there. Have stayed at Travelodges in several areas of the UK which, although basic, have been adequate so were disappointed. On a positive not the bed linen was clean. However, we had to ask for linen for other beds and additional towels. Towels were very thin therefore soaking wet after one use.
It was the all pervading smell of 'Shake and Vac' that made us sneeze and stuck in our noses throughout the following day; it almost masked the musty smell of the whole hotel.

Given that DeVere Wychwood Park often have special offers they will need to raise their game at this Travelodge.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

You get what you pay for. Not the best hotel in the world, not very clean and just feels grotty but it is in a great location for the M6.

The rooms could do with a good clean!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stopped overnight here on a journey from the West Coutry to Scotland. It's 30 minutes north of the M6 toll road so ideal for a Friday night when you're sick of driving if you set off after work. There's a petrol station there too which is 7p cheaper than filling up on the motorway. Bed linen clean and the bed(s) are quite comfortable
No checkout in the morning, you can get straight over to Burger King (or the Little Chef) for your breakfast, then fill up before off on your journey again. These are OK for breakfast but if you want a better meal there are a couple of pubs quite near, however they don't open until 11:00
Ok that's the good things over with...
Much like the other reviews we only stayed here because it is cheap and just off the motorway and we didn't expect too much which was just as well.
The place is shabby outside, uneven paving stones, leaves everywhere, garden unkempt.
No receptionist when we got inside and, when she did turn up she didn't smile (it makes a difference) as she gave us our room key... did we disturb her from something more important?
The room allocated to us smelt quite strongly, when I complained she explained that the smell was due to a new carpet but if that was the case why hadn't someone opened the window and left the heater on? She didn't move us...
After a while, with the window open, the smell got to a level which we could accept and, by the morning, had disappeared. Of course it meant we had to listen to the motorway all night but never mind.
The room was clean enough but the bathroom was tired, cracked sealant around the bath, cracked pasterwork around the door etc.
I complained and they've given me a voucher towards my next Travelodge stop... which is nice of them.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, Kent
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed at this Travelodge overnight to break our journey from Kent to Scotland, booked in advance on a cheap deal. The receptionist was lovely, really friendly and helpful. But we wouldn't stay here again if they were giving the room away. The room itself was dusty and in need of some re-decoration. The bedding was clean, but only two pillows provided, and it felt as though the room sloped downhill. The bath and surround were so dirty, I couldn't persuade myself to take a shower, and the room smelled mouldy. The basin and loo were clean, but the seals around the basin/vanity area were all coming away from the wall, the tiles and woodwork were chipped - it made me gag. Sorry, Travelodge, it's no good offering people cut-price rooms unless they're at least clean! We were really disappointed, as we have stayed in a number of very good Travelodges. And to cap it all, the only place to get breakfast the following morning was an over-priced Little Chef. Can't recommend either, I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, perhaps?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I use this lodge a few times each year. Recently had a few nights at £12 a night. Comfy clean bed, It was clean enough. But the bathroom needs a revamp. Bath was disgusting and the shower, well that was out of noahs ark. For a place to rest your head its okay. No facilities as such other than a over priced greasy chef. I will return, Just wish they would put decent showers in, and replace the baths,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Crewe Barthomley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Crewe Barthomley

Address: Junction 16 M6/A500, Alsager Road, Barthomley CW2 5PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Barthomley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barthomley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crewe Barthomley Travelodge is nestled in the lovely Staffordshire countryside. Even though the hotel is located off the busy M6 and the A500 you would be surprised how quiet a nights sleep you will have. Each of the 42 rooms has on’ suite bathrooms with bath and shower facilities. We have 39 family rooms, which have the facility to sleep 4, and 1 double room that sleeps 2, we also have 2 single rooms with disabled facilities that can sleep 2.All our rooms have secondary double-glazing, tea and coffee making facilities, TV with 17 channels and all the family rooms have a double bed and a sofa bed. We have a 24-hour service station opposite and a Little Chef next door. Parking for 42 cars, with 24-hour c.c.tv.The Hotel is all on ground level, which is why we are a popular choice after a long journey. Only 3.5 miles from Alsager, which has an array of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Crewe Barthomley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Crewe Barthomley Hotel Barthomley
Travel Lodge Barthomley
Travelodge Barthomley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Crewe Barthomley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.