We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best country pub around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Lion Inn

The White Lion Inn
Audley Road | CW2 5PG, Barthomley, England
01270-88-22-42
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Barthomley
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A former Marstons Pub of the Year 2007
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best country pub around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Worth a visit just for the fire! The beers are kept extremely well and there's always a good selection. Food is only served at lunch times but is always excellent!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have been regulars at the lion before the fire and have enjoyed each visit. However, since the re-opening we have been twice and the prices have shot up. We will not go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must visit if your in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The White lion is a place I have to visit when I'm in the area. I travel up and down the County with my work. But always make a B line for this place. Friendly staff. Great food. Spotlessly clean And the atmosphere is fanatic. I would highly recommend .5★★★★★..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“BACK TO ITS USUAL WONDERFUL STANDARD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The restoration after the fire has been brilliantly done. No doubt there has been plenty of advice from English heritage. The redecoration is spot on.
At present there is only a limited (but excellent) menu. Normal service in mid-August. As usual the friendliness and service is impeccable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just re opened after the fire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Opened last Tuesday after the fire of 1st April, which destroyed the thatched roof.

They have done a wonderful job of restoration, the new thatch is a work of art. Inside is no different really, just 2 new fireplaces, been redecorated in side, thankfully that was all it needed.

This is a great Olde world pub, in a sleepy hamlet, set in lovely countryside, don't think it will be any different now from when it was built many hundred of years ago. open fires rustic seating and tables, a joy to find a pub so unspoilt.

They only do food at lunchtime, which is good wholesome food at reasonable prices, the landlord informed me last Tues, they are starting the food again sometime in August. My favourite pub!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Lion Inn also viewed

 
Wrinehill, Staffordshire
Madeley, Staffordshire
 

Been to The White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.