We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alderley Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alderley Restaurant
The Alderley Edge Hotel | Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BJ, England
01625 583033
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Special service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Top class food, lovely service made for a very special evening.
Nothing was too much trouble.
The complimentary food was superb, the 8 course tasting menu an absolute delight.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    12
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Brasserie at Alderley Edge Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a great meal last week at the Brasserie, Alderley Edge Hotel. Never eaten at the Brasserie but the food was excellent. Mr Frosts’ Rib Eye Steak, was one of the best I've had. As usual the staff are warm, friendly and helpful and as always. Great food and a classy hotel!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Oh what a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had supper here at the weekend with friends and we had been promising ourselves this 'treat' for a while. I had been a regular at the restaurant for over 10 years when I lived locally but have not been back since I moved to Cambridge in 2006. When we arrived the four of us were seated at a huge round table near the window. It felt like a board meeting with half the board missing! We waited ages to have our drinks order taken but at least that gave us time to move ourselves to a different table! Once at the table we waited a long time for wine and food. Now I know that all the food is prepared individually but still......Finally to cap it all when the cheese came we asked for some water biscuits.....they smelt of paraffin! Initially we thought it was the aroma of one of the speciality cheeses but it was so strong that my friend had to wash her hands to get rid of the smell! Although the cost of the cheese course was removed from the bill it did not remove the massive sense of disappointment and I now wish we had gone to the Chinese in Holmes Chapel!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“First class food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I recently visited the restaurant and tried the summer tasting menu. The portions were just right and the food was excellent with very intense flavours.Staff were accommodating and were keen to give alternative options for members of the party who didn't like the course on offer. The head waiter was particularly attentive and offered us a glass of champagne 'on the house' as they had hosted a champagne tasting event that afternoon. This was a really nice touch.We will certainly again for one of their themed menus. The brasserie looked good to with a nice'buzz'

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Tasting Menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We opted for the 7 course tasting menu. It was nice but nothing outstanding. The portions were quite large which I think slightly spoiled the presentation. We frequently eat at a couple of 1 and 2*michelin restaurants close to our home in Surrey and expected a similar experience. the staff were friendly but did not have the expertise I would expect in such a restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alderley Restaurant also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to Alderley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alderley Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.