We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Lunch time drink” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Botanist

The Botanist
15 London Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7JT, England
01625 865637
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: Barbecue, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Formally No.15 Wine Bar, The Botanist offers a well stocked cellar of cask-conditioned ales, more than 70 bottled beers and ciders from around the world, a selection of finest Champagnes and an intriguing cocktail menu. Food comes in the form of a deli-style menu with rotisserie and barbecue. Owned and operated by the New World Pub Company, The Botanist is unlike anything else.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Lunch time drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited the Botanist on Saturday lunch time, it is a very pleasant establishment with friendly staff. An enjoyable drink was had......

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsey p, Guest Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and delighted that you fmjoyed your visit. X come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    80
    27
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Uninterested staff and overpriced ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014


Came for lunch on Tuesday 1st July with my mum.

Ordered our overpriced non alcoholic cocktails at £5 each which took quite a while to be served to us and was basically a jug of ice with a bit of juice, no more than 4 sips from the straw until it had gone!

The Sandwich I ordered did not warrant £10!! Chicken Sandwich with cold chips... Not good. Lady didn't ask of we wanted any condiments with our food so I had to ask for mayonnaise.. Which didn't come after waiting 10 minutes. Eventually got her attention and asked for the mayonnaise again, she apologised.

After we finished eating we sat and waited for over half an hour for someone to come and take our plates away... When this happened I asked for the bill. We then sat and waited another half an hour!!! Asked the lady again, she apologised. However, the bill still didn't arrive at our table.

By this point we just wanted to leave and we're really fed up of waiting. There was only one other occupied table, so what were the staff doing? We decided to go to the ladies to see if this got her attention. To no surprise it did... We came downstairs and our drinks had been cleared away. As we sat down I could hear the lady discussing what what happened and laughing about it?!? We sat down for another 5 minutes assuming the bill would be brought over too us. You guessed it, it never happened. We ended up going up to the bar where the guy making drink asked how he could help, when asking for our bill he raised his eyebrows and said oh was it you sat in the corner table, I was told you'd left !

Expected more for a well known established restaurant in alderley.

Overall, really disappointed. Will stick to the bubble room in future and won't be recommending to friends or family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsey p, Guest Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We would appreciate the opportunity to investigate your recent experience with us. Please contact us with more details at alderleyedgebdm@thebotanist.uk.com as soon as you can. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Constant overcharging”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

It pains me to give this place such a low score but the constant overcharging is just terrible. I've been here many times for business and pleasure and nearly every single time I have been overcharged or short changed. It really can't be a coincidence when it has happened so many times. Whether it's one extra drink that was never ordered or some extra drinks or starters or desserts it's far to common for it to be accidental. Shame as the atmosphere and good are great. So do go and enjoy it but always check your bill and your change.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsey p, Public Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback - we would appreciate some more details in order to investigate your experience. Please contact me by email at alderleybdm@thebotanist.uk.com when convenient. Many thanks and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting and Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Really good to visit for lunch - great music.
The service is good and the food is not absolutely amazing but the menu is varied and interesting. I thought the starters were better than the mains. Very good for children - colouring and kids meals available. Would definitely return.
Also has lovely cocktails.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsey p, Public Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello Gemma - many thanks for your review - delighted to hear you enjoyed the children's menu choice and the cocktails. We hope to see you back soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loose Leaf Tea leading to a Rum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great in the day to hang out in a cool environment with a loose leaf tea - friendly staff add to the experience. Quality venue to enjoy the night pass you by supping rum & more rum - some day I'll sample the food!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsey p, Public Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello - love this review! Loose tea and run = Happy Munchbelly! You MUST try our menu - its delicious and varied - the hanging kebabs are a treat. Hope to see you back enjoying a pot of loose tea (and a rum) very soon! X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Botanist also viewed

 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to The Botanist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Botanist, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.