We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corks Out

Corks Out
73 London Rd, Alderley Edge SK9 7DY, England
01625 582 777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 25 Restaurants in Alderley Edge
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

If you like wine and excellent advice and unique experience, staff very helpful. Informal surroundings and wines for all budgets. I have recommended to clients and friends and they all loved it

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“tainted wine, arrogant staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I have spent a lot of money at this store since it opened a few years ago. It is expensive compared to other wine retailers but the enthusiasm of the staff made up for that. I stopped using it for a while as it seemed to be undergoing a transition with changes in management and issues with maintaining privacy of personal data of people on their email list. A few months ago it had a refurbishment and reopened as a combined wine bar/wine retailer with new management and staff. I started to use the store again and was initially impressed. I even recommended them to colleagues. Recently, however, and for the first time, on two separate occasions I had to return a bottle of wine because it was tainted. Although the shop assistant (manager??) changed the first bottle without question, when I asked he change the second bottle he was reluctant arguing that he had tasted the first bottle I returned and it was fine - just "a bit tight" and "needed to open up". Very odd - at the time I had the chance to return the bottle it had been open for about a week - hmmm,,, I was insistent and he did reluctantly replace the second tainted bottle but made clear his reluctance - emphatically. This outfit needs to learn that the customer is the judge of product and service quality. I will not be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Corks Out is an amazing place to try great, reasonable priced wine. You are certain to meet new people, relax in the new lounge area, and enjoy wine! This is a personal favorite place due to my love of wine, enjoyment of good conversation, and the ability to get on wifi. Corks Out also has amazing service, with friendly and knowledgable staff.

Offer great hours, normally open by 10am and close around 10pm on week nights.

Have a try at the new interactive "wine taster" and enjoy the exellent cheese tray!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A wine and a whiskey, yes an American one hence the E”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Friendly, knowledgeable, a nice place. If you want a better whiskey/whisky shop go to Lincoln (A fine shop there) good wine selection too, not the best but really quite good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

No other words than lovely and you must go and try. Its a shame there is no little olives to accompany or nibbles as that would be prefect but fabulous selection of wines for all pallet's.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corks Out also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to Corks Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corks Out, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.