We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Delightful Welcome, and Lovely Ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stag's Head Great Warford

Stag's Head Great Warford
Mill Lane | Great Warford, Alderley Edge SK9 7TY, England
+44 1565 872350
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Situated in the stunning cheshire countryside, The Stag is a family friendly traditional pub providing impeccable service, fresh homemade food and an excellent range of wine, cask ales & champagne to all that visit.Here at The Stag, we use only the best locally sourced produce enabling our experienced, Award Winning Chef and his team to deliver the best of British cuisine.Choose from our extensive menu or blackboard specials and enjoy your meal in one of our cosy dining rooms with open fires or out in the sun on our fabulous new decking area which overlooks our large, child friendly garden and beautiful Cheshire countryside.What better venue to hold a special event! we cater for all occasions with each event taylor made to suit your individual requirements.Come and visit us very soon and experience first hand why we are the talk of Cheshire....
New Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
“Great Food, Delightful Welcome, and Lovely Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was visiting a friend who just moved to the area and we went for a late drink at The Stag's Head. It was absolutely delightful and welcoming. Though it was 10:30 p.m. (after the kitchen had closed) they offered up some sandwiches which were completely delicious with a fresh salad right from local gardens. The pint of draft beer was delectably ice cold. It was the best of an English pub, with friendly regulars and a comfortable setting inside and a gorgeous wooden deck overlooking pastoral fields outside. I look forward to many more visits!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    37
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Pub & Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Stag at Great Warford is a welcoming country pub with excellent pub food and an interesting menu. Bar can be lively early doors and particularly on Fridays. Staff are all helpful and attentive. Great beer garden and sun decking to watch sun go down over the Cheshire plain.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just been in Stag for dinner. Great choice on the menu. Pub is spotless and decor is really nice. Staff were really friendly. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Try the Ploughmans!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a great find! We followed the brown signs in Mobberley and found this great pub. Away from the hustle bustle, nice decor, friendly staff, great beer garden with lots of kids space, footie net etc. Sunny day so we sat outside, lots of outdoor seating, places to leave bikes, buggies etc. The food was delicious, fabulous Ploughmans with home made chutney and followed by chocolate brownie with cream and two spoons! We will return with our kids next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Have been here quite a few times in the last year.
The service and food is very good.
Never had a bad meal and it seems to be very consistent, which I think is always good.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stag's Head Great Warford also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to Stag's Head Great Warford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stag's Head Great Warford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.