We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stag's Head Great Warford

Stag's Head Great Warford
Mill Lane | Great Warford, Alderley Edge SK9 7TY, England
+44 1565 872350
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Situated in the stunning cheshire countryside, The Stag is a family friendly traditional pub providing impeccable service, fresh homemade food and an excellent range of wine, cask ales & champagne to all that visit.Here at The Stag, we use only the best locally sourced produce enabling our experienced, Award Winning Chef and his team to deliver the best of British cuisine.Choose from our extensive menu or blackboard specials and enjoy your meal in one of our cosy dining rooms with open fires or out in the sun on our fabulous new decking area which overlooks our large, child friendly garden and beautiful Cheshire countryside.What better venue to hold a special event! we cater for all occasions with each event taylor made to suit your individual requirements.Come and visit us very soon and experience first hand why we are the talk of Cheshire....
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Had the sunday roast. All 4 of us loved it. Fresh well cooked and lots to eat. It was a 1.hour for us to drive there and it is well worth it. Going sgain very soon

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    37
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration - Dissapointing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My immediate gripe is that this pub crams too many people in at the expense of the Customer! Hardly a warm greeting, with my party of seven plus my 5 month old granddaughter I had to struggle for attention and to be shown to our table. Shoe horned in with chair backs literally up against the opposite diners. This caused immense inconvenience wih three of my party constantly having to move from their seats to allow thoroughfare. Food wise? Although in general we enjoyed a good ocassion my choice of meal was a complete let down. A 10oz rib eye steak whcih I found extremely fatty, the 'peppercorn' sauce was a watery cream coloured effort devoid of any peppercorns whatsoever. Ordinarily, would have complained but just ejoyed the wine and chose not to create a 'downer' on the event.

Would not visit again.

David G.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch at the Stag”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Went for Sunday lunch with parents. A warm welcome from the staff and we had a table in one of the quieter rooms. Drinks arrived quickly and the service throughout was friendly and efficient.

This pub has a good pub menu. Thai fishcakes served with crunchy spiced salad were lovely. Being Sunday we all choose the roast, the beef was served nicely pink, roast potatoes crisp on the outside and fluffy in the middle, a selection of vegetables that retained some of their bite and a substantial Yorkshire pudding. Baked cheese cake desert was light, full of flavor and served with a fruit coulis.

Another room was reserved for a private party... it was nice to hear the group enjoying themselves but they were not so loud as to detract from our enjoyment. I took a walk to the garden area which is extensive. Plenty of space for children to have a run round, area for dogs and also a proper outdoor dining space (weather permitting).

I have been there a few times with parents and the Stag has always delivered.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stags Head”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I'd like to post a review of the Stags Head please. Is it ok to post it here and you move it as I can't see any other way?

We ate at Stags Head Saturday evening August 4 to celebrate (if thats what you do after a certain age?) my wifes birthday.

Table was booked for 8pm we arrived early and were warmly greated with a Happy Birthday and shown immediately to our table. I sampled a pint of Stags Head ale....delicious and as she was driving Pauline took a tonic. Menu was better than Pub Fayre I was tempted by steak au poivre but we eat that at home so I settled for Fish Cakes (better than delicious) with Baby Back Ribs mains Pauline had Minestrone Soup (obviously home made) with Sea Bass.

The food was piping hot (HOT) really tasty and ample portions couldn't ask for more really!

I didn't want a desert but said I'd like the menu and was tempted by Tiramisu (Sp?) which was delivered complete with a candle and 2 spoons (Grrrrr!) It was to die for, as Greg Walace says I could have happily dived in and devoured the lot........which is what I did wiping the plate with my finger to collect all the sauce!

As it was super Saturday at th Olympics we didn't stay for coffee listened to Jessica Ennis on the radio just about topped off a cracking evening

Stags Head deserved far better than its rating on trip advisor!

Gold medal from us !!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stags Head at Warford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I'd like to post a review of the Stags Head please. Is it ok to post it here and you move it as I can't see any other way?

We ate at Stags Head Saturday evening August 4 to celebrate (if thats what you do after a certain age?) my wifes birthday.

Table was booked for 8pm we arrived early and were warmly greated with a Happy Birthday and shown immediately to our table. I sampled a pint of Stags Head ale....delicious and as she was driving Pauline took a tonic. Menu was better than Pub Fayre I was tempted by steak au poivre but we eat that at home so I settled for Fish Cakes (better than delicious) with Baby Back Ribs mains Pauline had Minestrone Soup (obviously home made) with Sea Bass.

The food was piping hot (HOT) really tasty and ample portions couldn't ask for more really!

I didn't want a desert but said I'd like the menu and was tempted by Tiramisu (Sp?) which was delivered complete with a candle and 2 spoons (Grrrrr!) It was to die for, as Greg Walace says I could have happily dived in and devoured the lot........which is what I did wiping the plate with my finger to collect all the sauce!

As it was super Saturday at the Olympics we didn't stay for coffee listened to Jessica Ennis on the radio just about topped off a cracking evening

Stags Head deserves far better than its rating on Trip Advisor!

Gold medal from us !!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stag's Head Great Warford also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to Stag's Head Great Warford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stag's Head Great Warford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.