We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Food and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panacea

Panacea
London Road, Alderley Edge, England
01625 599 200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 27 Restaurants in Alderley Edge
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fab Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Dined here in september with 4 girlfriends. Had a great evening with fabulous food and service. Everyone very friendly. We did wait over 3/4 hour for our table , that had been booked one month previously, but the excellent food made up for this.. Went upstairs to the bar later . Loud music, dim lighting, if i have to say it, all alittle seedy looking .We all felt uncomfortable, not our scene at all, had a quick drink and left. But if you want a nice meal with friends then would definately recommend. If you want a nice evening with the love of your life then this isnt the place to be, too many female predators on the look out for a man !!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    3
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“First Time Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

They have parking! a big plus in Alderley. Outside seating with massive umbrella's with heaters should it get a bit nippy.

Only had a champagne and a wine but the service was good, the drinks nice and cold. People were eating but we moved on, I will do the review on the food next time when for sure we will try out their menue. The venue is perfect and the clients upmarket I would say. So put this place on your drive out and have a drink location and look out for who's who!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretentious....what!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

THE most pretentious place I have ever been, dont get me wrong the dining experience is fabulous food and service both excellent, but the people especially the women, well most of them look like they are in bad drag and even when my husband got 'hit on' and he kindly pointed out that he was with his wife (me) she just glared at me and carried on hitting on him....the reason I am now writing this is because it has been exactly the same on 3 seperate occassions i have been, if you choose Panacea choose the one in Manchester its fabulous in every way and believe it or not, not nearly the amount of over aged wannabes!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nether Alderley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Late night atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Packed out on Saturday nights but you can still move about and chat. Music not too loud, not deafening at least. A good place for mixed ages and no entrance charge.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Style above substance : overpriced for insecure types”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

For people who want to show off Panacea is the place to go. For people who like nice food, try somewhere else. I went with four friends for lunch and was amazed at the poor quality of the food. It was beautifully presented, but that is not my idea of good taste, the taste of the food is! Of the five of us only my friend who had a club sandwich was not disappointed, and really if a club sandwich is the best they can offer, you might as well pick something up in the local bakery. Selling itself as a high-end venue, it may take in the insecure and inexperienced, but as a place to have good food, try elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panacea also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to Panacea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panacea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.