We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice find for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gusto

Gusto
75 London Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7DY, England
+44 870 4012101
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: "Alderley Edge – home to some of the nation’s most famous sporting faces, not to mention some of the most demanding diners in the North West. This is where Italian restaurant Gusto steps up to the bar. Taking 1950s New York Italian restaurants as inspiration Gusto has a filmic atmosphere thanks not only to clean, stylish décor but to the raft of slim, glamorous girls sipping wine and comparing the contents of their shopping bags. In the summer Gusto is the perfect place to people watch with a sun-trap terrace just the spot to enjoy a lingering lunch. Every dish on the classic Italian menu is freshly prepared and delicious, a welcome change from the pre-cooked chain pizza. "
Newcastle under Lyme
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice find for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Sorry this can not be a comprehensive review as I only dropped in for lunch no alcohol! I was caught between clients and just fancied a ceasar salad don't know why just did. near to Alderley edge, (for that read expensive!) and thought ok. Parked on side street no charge for 1 hour looked up and down high st Gusto looked good and was closest so went in. Wow I suspect it was what I was expecting for Alderley Edge but it was still a surpise great modern interior loads of space not crowded, wished I had time to look at wine list but didn't. Shown to table waitress immediately ordered water then returned for order. Said without looking at menu I wanted a chicken caesar and waitress said no problem but how about their Romesco Chicken salad. Same price but with warm goats cheese as well on rocket. So went for it. I would certainly have that again. Very fresh plenty of chicken and rocket and goats cheese not overpowering. Unfortunately did not get name of waitress on bill it said "trainee".

Sorry can not give full report but based on that qucik visit I will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    84
    60
    33
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, poor service. Hopefully a one off.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Gusto is a great restaurant, lots of atmosphere, wide selection of food and perfect for families. Usually it is difficult to fault the place. Perhaps due to a post Christmas 50% discount offer they were running, the place was heaving when we arrived at 5.30pm on a weekday. Service was slow from that start with the waiter taking 10 mins to take our drinks order. They were obviously understaffed which is bad planning on the managers part given you had to book online for the offer so they would know how busy it would be.

Food came quickly and was as good quality as always but the waiter missed off a side dish which we were then charged for and never brought one of the drinks we ordered.,

Will go back as the food is always great but they need to make sure they have adequate cover when they know it is going to be busy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Super job”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Been twice in January so far, enticed by the half price food offer. Superb value for money. My daughter's steak was perfectly cooked, and my seafood risotto was excellent. I'm sometimes nervous about ordering risotto as it often arrives bland and overcooked. This was great though, lots of flavour and plenty of seafood including lobster. I'd even pay full price for it! Jolly atmosphere, my only one gripe, I hate being addressed as 'guys'. Please stop, it jars.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“SUNDAY LUNCH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Lovely meal for my fathers birthday lunch..service was great . not cheap but would go back. atmosphere was nice and staff were very attentive and informative,

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good food, great service very helpful and kind with my 4 year old grand daughter nothing was to much trouble.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gusto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.