We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge to your Saves list
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I decided to have a little break before Christmas and spend the night before Christmas Eve at the Wizard's Thatch. We were met upon arrival by the owner who was very friendly and helpful. We had booked to stay in the Camelot suite which was absolutely gorgeous, really cosy and atmospheric for a Christmas break. We had taken our own picnic of smoked salmon and champagne and it was really handy that there was a fridge, cutlery, glasses etc. Before cracking open the champagne my boyfriend banished me from the lounge...unbeknownst to me he had been studying the pictures of the cottage on the internet and had planned a treasure hunt around the cottage which I am very happy to say ended in me finding a diamond ring!! An absolutely amazing night and an amazing place to get engaged...we're getting married nearby and I'll certainly be recommending it to all of our wedding guests and we'll most likely be back every year for our anniversary!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
328
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011 via mobile

This is a little gem! We were searching for a suitable hotel for the night of and night after our wedding before departing on honeymoon, and eventually found The Wizards Thatch.
Ian was very helpful in setting up the booking, New Years Eve, and offered a viewing before we booked.  On the day of the wedding he ensured our bags were in our room for our late arrival, and ensured I knew where everything was...including him should we need mhim on our arrival!
The rooms were fantastic, and we were so relaxed from the moment we arrived.
Even though we live very close by, we will be staying again, and will certainly be recommending it to our friends and family. Truly a stunning find that we can't praise highly enough!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

An absolutely stunning place to stay. Ian was so welcoming and everything about his home was so magical. Thank you so much for sharing your haven with us we do hope to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

A fabulous weekend my partner and I had a lovely time, the Wizards Thatch is simply out of this world, words and pictures cannot describe how good it is you simply need to see it personally.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

What a find!

My wife and I stayed at the Wizards Thatch for a night and could not have been more impressed. The whole place oozed character and was finished to the highest standard....not a single complaint.

It is a real treat to stay here (we were in the Lancelot Suite) and we would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Alderley Edge.

Iain and Suzanne

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

I booked Wizards Thatch as a special treat for my husband's 70th Birthday. We also wanted to break the journey from London to the Lake District, but to do it in style.
Wizards Thatch ticked all the boxes, and how!
It also accomodated our Border Collie, Bob, who was immediately at home.
It was very comfortable, full interesting curios, and very welcoming with all the ingredients for afternoon tea when we arrived, including cake.
The bed was exceptionally comfortable.
Ian was also most helpful.
We would strongly recommend this to anyone wanting a special night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

The most romantic place i have ever been too. Two nights was not long enough. I am already planning a return trip!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.