We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sssssshhhhhh it's a secret......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge to your Saves list
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Fulwood
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sssssshhhhhh it's a secret......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

...Britain's best kept secret. This was our second visit here. And JUST WOW! Wizard's Thatch is somewhere so special that the dictionary lacks adjectives to describe it. It's above and beyond what any hotel could possibly offer. Like a surreal world.

If you imagine having your house filled with empty ginger beer bottles, ancient books, hand prints in plaster on the wall going up the stairway, champagne corks on the ceiling beams, a grandfather clock and an old typewriter in one corner and even a teeny teddy squished between rows and rows of antique books - it'd just look untidy, but at Wizard's Thatch everywhere you look is a photograph opportunity and a magical, enchanting work of art. Immaculately clean and although checkout time was midday, I struggled to leave the teeny wooden wizard's door before one minute to midday. Been home for one night and already booked the next trip.

Simply magical! Thank you Ian - it was really great to meet you too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
329
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed in The Wizardry for our honeymoon for 4 nights, it was magical from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.

There is everything you need to have a relaxing & romantic break. The quality of the bedding, towels and all those extras touches make it the perfect stay. We didn't want to get up in the morning, it was so nice to just have breakfast in bed & not have to rush. We did go into the village one morning and have breakfast in the Village cafe which is superb value for money & excellent quality and service.

The Wizardry is full of amazing items and Ian clearly takes pride and knows every item & it's history in there, we were fascinated listening to the stories behind them & could of listened for hours.

There are beautiful walks just up the road and again through the woods there is a lot of stories to be told that are fascinating to listen too.

This was our second visit to this beautiful place and we will certainly be returning for a 3rd.

Our first was whilst filing 'four in a bed' as contestants. We have remained good friends with Ian & Ali and we were honoured to have them join us at our wedding to celebrate and then to return here with no manipulation from crew or filming so we could really appreciate what it is Wizards Thatch has to offer & we loved every minute of our stay. Thank you Ian for taking the time to tell us more about the history wizards thatch.

This is the most romantic place in England.

Thank you Ian & Ali we look forward to seeing you both soon.
Love Nick & Andrea :-)
Northrise Lodge B&B Hastings xx

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Wizards Thatch is located very closely to all the upmarket restaurants of Alderley Edge.
I stayed in the Merlin Suite on business and it was perfect, had a desk to work, even had a
Business meeting there.
Has a lot of character and history, with the wooden beams and an 'olde worldly' feel. Bit like
Harry Potter world.
Would stay there again....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

As people who thoroughly enjoy "olde worlde" & different experiences we booked Wizards Thatch for last weekend and stayed in The Wizardry - MIND BLOWINGLY BRILLIANT! And being on the edge of the village no shortage of pubs and restaurants to eat at though quite pricey.
Steve & Barbara
Manchester

Room Tip: We stayed in The Wizardry and had the opportunity to view all 3 suites and there isn't one we wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

had a wonderfull two night stay in the wizardry.Every detail had been thought through making wizards thatch a very unique and homely place to stay. Ian could not have been any more helpful and obviously takes a great pride in the house. History and charm oozed from everywhere that you looked.All the facilities of the town are just around the corner and would highly recommend Fosters fish and chips although not the grill on the edge. Will return soon hopefully.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

This is such a romantic place to take your loved ones. My husband took me for a surprise 50th.we stayed in the wizardry. Words cannot describe how enchanting it is. Fab four poster bed so comfy. There is a microwave and fridge with milk in also tea and coffee provided lovely biscuits and gingerbread. We went out to eat at night all lovely restaraunts and bars. Can't fault it all the quirky rooms. Will be back. Also we took our dog and there is some lovely walks if you turn left straight out the cottage walk up the hill there is loads of walks up therein the woods . Thank you Ian for making us so welcome.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed here on the night of our wedding, could not of picked a more perfectly magical place. The luxurious room with its unique style made our night like a fairytale. Loved all the memorabilia and literature, everything was so engrossing and interesting. There was some fabulous historical facts darted around and as you looked round the room you would always notice something else fantastic and new that you hadn't already spotted! Ian was more than welcoming and it was amazing to speak to him and find out more about the place and how he and his family had built it up to the beautiful place it is.

We cant wait to stay there again, Wizards Thatch will always be something very close to our hearts perfectly starting our special new chapter in our life together.7

Mr & Mrs Edwards x

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.