We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge to your Saves list
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Harry Potter it isn't, but magic it most certainly is. Just got back from a stay in The Merlin. What can I say, amazing! Ian is so helpful, a really nice guy, plenty of suggestions for places to eat etc. Only a short walk into the village. Absolutely spotless, everything you could possibly need, and when I say everything, I mean everything . There's so much in there to look at, we were still spotting things as we left. Can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
328
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We returned to this property for another two nights after last year's trip. The owners approach to clutter and the eclectic is a great way to go (we've been to other venues that do not do this well: it takes a certain eye).

Not cheap but for a couple of nights it's great.

Room Tip: I think they're all good - we stayed in the Camelot suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We have returned today. From a two night stay in The Wizardry. Ian was a brilliant host, and very knowledgable and enthusiastic about the area. The accommodation was magical - another world that was very thoughtfully decorated and furnished.
It was a one minute walk to the resteraunts, bars and shops. We were lucky to spot a couple of celebrities in one of the local bars.
We would be keen to visit again. The accommodation was spotless and we were made to feel very welcome. Thank you Ian.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in the Wizardry for two nights for my birthday in August , I have never spent such a relaxed chilled out weekend. We were amazed and stunned the photos on the web site do not do Wizards Thatch justice. There is something too look at or read in every available space the attention too detail is out of this world. There was a fridge and microwave hidden away for convienence. The setting is stunning quiet and peaceful but still in the midst of Alderley Edge where there is bars restaurants and a local supermarket to get a few essentials. We took lots of photos around the Wizardry and everyone we have shown have wanted to stay too. Compliments too Ian and Ali for such a unique romantic stunning hideaway. We hope too have the luxury and privilege of being able too stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in the Camelot suite at the Wizards Thatch in July 2013 for 3 nights. It was unlike any place I have ever stayed. The Wizards Thatch was enchanting. We stayed there as it was close to the Royal Horticultural Society show at Tatton Park. The Camelot suite enthralled us for hours every evening on our return. The attention to detail and furnishings was exquisite.
My favourite area of the suite was the living room. It had so many things to look at and the reading collection was wonderful.
Waitrose and Tesco express are just a few minutes walk away. There was a fridge, toaster, kettle and microwave in our suite. After one particularly long days at Tatton Park RHS we shopped at Waitrose for ready microwave meals and had a beautiful dinner in the Wizards Thatch garden. There was a charming outdoor dining area with a fountain and fairy lights which was really enjoyable. We also walked a few minutes to the many cafe's and restaurant's on the main street of Alderley Edge. The Botanical restaurant was lovely and recommend this for lunch or dinner.
The owner Ian met us on our arrival and was a fountain of knowledge. I booked this suite 6 months prior. I had tried a couple of times before and always fully booked (I had left it to a couple of days before each time). Last year Ian was very kind to give me a few other good local places to stay as he was very concerned that I would be able to find accommodation.
The summer evenings also helped. The colour of the sunshine through the ivy that frames the windows was beautiful. I would like to visit again in winter and snuggle up in warmth of the Camelot suite. Wizards Thatch is a MUST visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Two nights of peace and tranquility, what a treat, and what interesting and cosy rooms. Spent ages reading the newsprint on the walls, kept finding another bit I'd missed! The bath was a bit of a challenge for me (stiffness of joints) but my daughter loved it. We liked being so close to the village, and found the car parking scheme very easy to follow and close by so that I felt the car was secure. The fridge, kettle, milk, tea, coffee, and cake and biscuits were very much appreciated and the china is lovely to use. A comfortable and enjoyable stay, well done Wizards Thatch!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

After seeing you on four in a bed I drive the kids crazy keep showing them pictures on the I pad the kids treated us to two nights in the wizardry room at wizards thatch we was not disappointed it was absolutely fantastic can't wait to return back to try one of the other rooms the only downside was we had to come home thanks for making our stay amazing janet and mick from Nottingham

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.