We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! We will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge to your Saves list
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bromley
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Loved it! We will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

A scrumptious get away: a whole suite of rooms, effectively, with two
bedrooms with doubles (one a four poster), a bathroom (though no built on
shower) and an additional toilet, plus sofas and tea and coffee making
facilitates. But that sells it rather short: the rooms are piled with nick
nacks – books to read, posters and ephemera to look at… the place oozes
with charm. A ‘proper’ shower would have, frankly, taken away from the
over-all feel of the place. It has clever touches (a proper fridge hidden
in a cupboard and thoughtfully provided with proper milk and treats – like
a loaf of ginger bread!) plus music and dvds – all hidden away to use or
not. We hardly left the room(s) for 20 hours except to pop down the road to
bring back an excellent chip shop supper. And Ian the host could not be
more helpful and personable. The lack of a laid on breakfast in a village
as well appointed as Alderley is irrelevant (more restaurants, delis, chip
shops and all day mini supermarkets within walking distance than you can
shake a stick at). A wonderful stay.

Room Tip: I doubt you could go wrong there! We were in the Camelot Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
328
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for our 10th Anniversary and it was truly amazing. If you are looking for something different then this is the place to be. We would recommend this to anyone looking for a romantic weekend. The house is very warm and welcoming and even has quite a few quirky touches to it! You are minutes walking distance to the bars/restaurants and shops. It was one of the best nights away we have had in a long time, just wished we had booked 2 nights instead of the 1.

We are already looking to book again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

we stayed there last week for our wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Camelot suite.
the place is like something you've never seen before. Fantastic place for a lovely night.
the suite was great with a lot of different interesting things that ian has collected for years.
the 4 poster bed is amazing and very comfortable. it's very closed to the village and all the restaurant. We decided to order food from the Italian restaurant and it was very nice.
Overall, I recommeded this place to everybody and we will back to try one of the other suite !!!!
Fantastic experience. What Ian did to bring this place to life is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have just had the most wonderful weekend staying in the Wizard's Thatch in Alderley Edge. If you are looking for something a little different where you can luxuriate and feast your eyes on collectibles then this is the place for you. I stayed in the Wizardry - one bedroom with magnificent 4 poster bed, exceedingly comfortable mattress and very dark enabling a great night's sleep. The second bedroom with a single bed perfect for my brother and very separate from the main bedroom for privacy. Huge sitting room with flat screen TV, a great selection of DVD's and more trinkets than you have ever seen. Fridge microwave & kettle to keep you ticking over and of course the best location only a stone's throw from town. I wouldn't think twice about booking this twee and beautiful hotel. Happy to answer any questions. Thanks to Ian and well done for restoring the building to its finest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arborfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in the Camelot Suite, it was absolutely stunning with its rich colours and lusciously soft linens. It was the most romantic short break we have had and ideal for our first trip as a married couple.

Locally (within a minutes walk) there are numerous restaurants and local and large chain shops and supermarkets. We ate at the Wizards Inn slightly further up Macclesfield Road. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced.

The local legends make the room even more magical and being a 2 minute drive from the start of numerous walks around "The Edge" where you can see such sites as The Wizards Well, The Druid Circle and Castle Rock makes it an ideal location to use as base camp for your explorations.

I highly recommend Wizards Thatch to anyone looking for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Camelot was great! The other two suites looked just as great on the website though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in the Wizardry and i have never been in such a wonderful place. From the second we stepped in it was warming and cosy, we just felt right at home. It's perfect for history lovers with the books and antiques they have on display, my boyfriend loved seeking out the oldest items, mostly the books dating back to the mid 1800s. You'll never find anywhere quite like this, a truly unique and wonderful experience. It's usual to find a place that feels so solitary and peaceful yet within a minutes walk you're on the main street with a great choice of restaurants, cafes and shops, perfect if you want a bit of peace and quite without being isolated. Although walking in feels like a step back in time, there's still all the modern necessities you'd need plus a few little extras, everything seems to be taken care of quite nicely.
I would recommend Wizards thatch to absolutely everybody, it's a perfect, magical little treat that we'll definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: The wizardry is perfect for couples, bear in mind the bathrooms in the master bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nestled just a stone's throw from the main stretch in Alderley Edge, my girlfriend companions and I were immediately awe-struck by the magical beauty of this exceptional place. With its overhanging willow-branches, fish pond, quaint outdoor seating area and thatched roof, from the moment you walk up the drive it is as though being transported into a magical realm like Lord of the Rings.

Once inside The Camelot Suite, the cosy living room is both luxrious and inviting; interesting books and magazines are scattered around to be perused at your leisure and the room has a relaxed and friendly feel to it. The girls loved thier snug room on the next level and upstairs in my room where the seven-foot, four-poster beckoned, thick-piled carpets, silk cushions, teddy bears and a chaise-lounge all add to this luxurious, homely feel.

With its exposed brickwork, timber beams, thick walls and interesting nooks and crannies, the character of this place is worth a visit in its own right. Ian is was as delightfully hospitable as possible, making us feel totally welcome and as though this was a second home.

We were warned once we got settled we may not want to part with the cottage's charming ambience, and this was most certainly the case. But as it was my Birthday, we had to tear ourselves away from our snug retreat to hit the bars (which incidentally are all conveniently placed within walking distance - even in high heels!) along the main stretch. The next day, our late check-out came in as a huge plus (particularly in our condition), and the supremely-comfortable beds were a struggle to peel ourselves out of!

In essence - and all of my friends would heartily agree - I have stayed in some nice places in my time, and I cannot reccommend The Wizard's Thatch enough. Treat yourself to this captivating experience and I guarantee you will not be disappointed. I will most definitely be back... and once you have been, so will you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.