We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge to your Saves list
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here in July and loved absolutely everyting about the Wizard's Thatch. It is so quaint and oozes charm and character in abundance. It is such a fun place to stay and was a brilliant stop over on our way south and a fantastic start to our holiday. Ian was a great host, full of helpful information about places to eat and to visit.We would certainly visit the wonderful Wizard's Thatch again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
351
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

In what feels like an escape to another time and place, every nook and cranny here offers something different to see and something new to discover. And you can bet every trinket and treasure found inside has a wonderful story of its own that proud owner Ian would be happy to tell you, if only there was time to go through them all!

From the moment you set eyes on the ivy covered exterior and stoop inside (we stayed in The Wizardry) to the moment you climb the crooked stairs and sink into the seven foot four poster bed, your whole stay here is like living out a scene from a fairytale. And we can't wait to live out the next chapter when we undoubtedly return.

Room Tip: Each suite here has a charm of its own. Our tip would be to keep going back to stay in each one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was one of the best places we stayed in on our three week holiday. We booked it as a surprise for my husband, and it was! The place is unique being a 400 year old thatched cottage and inside is comfy and spotlessly clean. I really can't say enough good things about this wonderful little cottage. The extra little touches really make a difference, with coffee, tea, and cake provided for weary travelers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Stayed in the Camelot Suite with friends which was stunning, really cosy, comfortable and welcoming. I have just booked to return in a couple of months with my fiance and friends as they have to experience the luxury and beauty of the place. Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Camelot Suite which was beautiful, large and very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

It is difficult to explain how good this place is, you really must go there to appreciate just how magical it is. Absolutley fantastic ! A wonderful little place in a wonderful part of Cheshire.

Room Tip: the cheapest 'Merlin' suite is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The Thatch is an eclectic gem of a cottage and everywhere you gaze there's something new for your eye to find. We used it as base to watch the Flaming Lips play at nearby Jodrell Bank and it set the scene for our entire weekend. Just up the hill you have the Edge and the Wizards Walk... it just all added to out sense of amazement and joy. We didn't want to leave and they made us feel very welcome. The owners were so helpful and friendly. Ian was really helpful with local info and knowledge and they helped shape a really good weekend.

Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Most amazing time I have had in ages, Alderly edge was a fantastic place to visit & the Wizards thatch was the ideal retreat, I felt like a King taking a small break from my kingdom for the weekend :) the owners treated us like close friends... 5 stars (will be back soon)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.