We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Function room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Merlin | 5-9 Wilmslow Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Function room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 via mobile

Recently married,myself and my wife took our families to the merlin for a celebratory meal.We booked the big table that seats twenty in it's own room.Our only worry was that the courses wouldn't all come out together and some would be waiting while others were eating.We shouldn't have,the merlins staff were fantastic all food came out together witch is quite an achievement when all are ordering from the full restaurant menu and all the food was of the usual high standard that you expect at the merlin.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    30
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
8
49
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Visited on a recent work trip, lovely dining room, quite unusual decor but very contemporary. Food was excellent and great value for money. Rough cost was £25-30 per head for 3 courses. I would return if staying in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed here only for one night but were really impressed with the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful as soon as we arrived. The hotel doubles up as a local country pub and the interior is very contemporary, lovely atmosphere, clean and bright.
We did not eat dinner here but other guests we met said the food was excellent. Breakfast was a continental with a good variety of cereals, fruit, ham, cheese and toast jams, pastries etc all served by the waitress who was especially friendly and jolly.
The room was clean and fresh and adequate for the time we spent there.
A great place to stay when visiting nearby areas such as Chester, Manchester, Southport etc. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Room 1 - noise from kitchen extractor fan totally unacceptable, raised the issue with staff at the time, by e-mail to the hotel and by feedback form to group head office, but no response from anyone.
This room is below standard for use - also issues with drain smell in bathroom, noise from a pumped waste or similar in another room. Had to ask for towels as only one provided.

Meal and service in restaurant were, however, excellent.

Room Tip: Refuse room one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim_themerlin, General Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
I am obviously very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay and all issues will be reviewed with my team. Unfortunately I have not received any of your feedback until I read this response so I apologise that this comes so late.

Should you have need to stay in our area again, I would welcome a future opportunity to demonstrate our true qualities - please contact me directly so that I may personally handle your reservation and your stay.

Kind Regards

Kimberley Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We had a great week-end at the Merlin to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary, after an initial problem with our room we were moved while out walking to a front facing room with a fantastic view, in fact the whole of the local area was made for walking, very picturesque. We met the head chef, Mike, while we were there who suggested certain meals off the menu, we tried these and found all the food first class, the breakfast was the best I've had for selection than in any of the lodges we've stopped, and weve stopped in a few. The waiting and bar staff are hard working and friendly and we got to to know most of them by first names before we left, in fact we didn't meet any of the staff that were not helpful, and all seemed to enjoy working there, despite long hours for some.
We would like to thank Kimberley, the manageress for her help duting our stay and for leaving an Orchid in our room, a nice touch seeing as we keep them at home.
It's thanks to Kimberley and her team that we will definitely be coming back to the Merlin in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views as the hotel is surrounded by trees although the front rooms have more pan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Stayed at The Merlin for one night with a close friend for a brief break from hectic young family life. Have stayed before but there had been some recent changes and new management so thought we'd take the opportunity to get away and see how things differed. Its in a great location and we popped into Wilmslow on the way for a bit of shopping, Merlin just a 1 or 2 miles up the road. When we arrived at the hotel had a very friendly welcome, room was ready and as requested and we even got an extra pair of hands with our bags!

Stayed in a large family room with 2 double beds (one sofa bed but good size). Good sized bathroom with bath and shower and lots of Neutragena products! We planned just to have a meal and not go out into Alderly Edge (as we've done before) as new Mums we just appreciate a quiet meal and sleep now!

Had a lovely table in the restaurant window, restaurant and bar area have been recently fitted out and log fires, solid oak floors and modern leather sofas/bucket seats provide a comfortable and chic envirment for enjoying a few drinks or meal. We had a great meal, the menu has reasonable priced selection plus more dearer options but still acceptable prices. The staff were attentive and friendly and seemed to enjoy working there.

The stay was just what we needed and we were very impressed with the new management and changes. The only suggestion would be an updating to the rooms which we were told were next to be done. Will definitely be going back for some more R@R and probably venture into Alderly Edge next time to complete the experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim_themerlin, General Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at The Merlin. We endeavour to ensure standards are exceptional and that all our guests enjoy their time with us.

It was lovely to meet you both and I will see you soon when you come for another relaxing stay.

Kindest Regards

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

What a change in 2 months. Friendly, professional and welcoming team. Service, rooms and food was fantastic. Just goes to show how much a new manager can make to the place. Well done Kim and team!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge

Address: The Merlin | 5-9 Wilmslow Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Wilmslow and picturesque Alderley Edge, this elegant lodge gives you all the charm of a country hotel only 12 miles from Manchester.Dating back to the 1880s and dripping with original features and luxurious touches, it's amongst some of the most characterful accommodation in Cheshire. In fact, it was once one of the grandest private residences in wealthy Alderley Edge. Today it offers 10 comfy, modern rooms and a cosy pub and restaurant, where you can savour fresh, seasonal food in the warmth of a crackling open fire.Alderley Edge may boast the highest number of millionaires per square mile in the country, but there's much more to this pretty village than star watching. It's built upon a sandstone escarpment that overlooks the Cheshire Plain, where walkers will find many picturesque routes criss-crossing its beautiful scenery. The National Trust's Quarry Bank Mill and stylish Knutsford are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merlin Hotel Alderley Edge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.