We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose and Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Rose and Crown Hotel to your Saves list
The Rose and Crown Hotel
23 Market Place, Wisbech PE13 1DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1 night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Fantastic and friendly staff, this pleasant stay as I passed through in the wonderful 1601 character building was really good, recommend anyone traveling in the area to stay here. We had a meal in the evening which was amazing and the breakfast was nice too. Thanks everyone

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
We appreciate you posting your review on Trip Advisor and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    57
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
28
78
6
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is excellently located with an ample size car park at the radar, rooms were very clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The quality of the food and the service were of a very high standard indeed. The staff were extremely welcoming. I will definitely be returning to this gem.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the hotel. We appreciate all reviews and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

For a one night stopover I was more than happy, spacious room at the rear of the hotel with room to spread out and do a bit of work. Parking to the rear of the hotel was easy to find.

Evening meal was quite nice, breakfast delicious and served quickly. staff were very friendly, overall a positive experience and good value for money.

Room Tip: The welcome info indicates market traders to the front of the hotel from 4am 2 days a week so worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
The Rose & Crown Hotel is an ideal location for business people visiting Wisbech and we are delighted that you found your 1-night stay to your satisfaction. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, Yorkshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Everyone else's review make the hotel sound fantastic BUT while I agree totally about the extremely friendly and efficient staff - all the waitress seem to be of Czech origin and were charming - and the food was superb the actual rooms leave a lot to be desired - in my book!

Not low cost - for a northerner - at £75 B&B rate - the room may have been refurbished 'only 2 years ago' but whoever did the design on it must have used early 50s choice of carpet material and wallpaper. The amount of water that had come through the ceiling of my room had not only left a serious stain but the paper had separated from the ceiling. One semi serious point is that the flex for the kettle was so short the kettle could not be placed on the adjacent desk - any child could in theory trip over the kettle lead resulting in a potential scald.

Do NOT go to the hotel on a Wednesday or Friday night unless you are assured the room you have booked does not overlook the marketplace as there are notices in the rooms stating all cars have to be out of the marketplace by 0400 as that is the time the traders arrive to set up. As the glazing is single that will be the end of any sleep!

The food was a revelation though - how rarely do you get a super super steak - well hung meat, a great size and simply beautifully cooked - simply delicious! The breakfast also has to rate as one of the best I have ever had in any hotel - wherever the location or the cost! Friendly bar with locals also using it and pleasant old ambience in the dining room too.

Although I love my food I doubt that I will stay at the Rose & Crown again, sorry but it is a miss for me! Faded glory - rooms need redecorating - bedroom door paintwork all a bit sad!

Room Tip: Do not book unless you are guaranteed a room that does not overlook the marketplace!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor and for highlighting some issues that obviously needed attention i.e. the ceiling where the leak came in. Unlike some parts of the country who suffered with major flooding, we were very lucky here in Wisbech to have got off lightly with a few leaks. The Rose & Crown dates back in parts to 1435. The ceiling was repaired and the room redecorated since your visit.

We are glad that you enjoyed our food and the good service you received during your stay. Do come back and give us another chance. I am sure you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is a gem. Rooms are full of character but still with all the mod cons you need. Hotel used to be a coaching inn and it has been tastefully decorated. Everything is spotlessly clean.Staff cannot do enough for you. We enjoyed all the food in the hotel and this is by far the best place to eat in wisbech. We will definately be returning as we have relatives nearby but would recommend this to anyone. Parking is great and the quality of hotel and service far surpasses it's price tag.Staff even made me a packed lunch at short notice so they really go the extra mile to make you feel at home.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Your review is much appreciated and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on an impromptu visit.

I found the accommodation to be comfortable and the room very clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and helpful and they served me the most delightful afternoon tea that I would strongly recommend.

value was good as was my evening meal. In fact I would say that the food is what sets this hotel apart from other hotels I have used in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Yes at The Rose & Crown Hotel you can be assured of good value for money. We do have an excellent Head Chef and a great team in our kitchen who work hard at ensuring that we serve the best food in the area to all our guests and customers. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

On a recent business trip I needed a stay in Wisbech, UK.
After checking on TripAdvisor (honestly, where else!?!?) I found the Rose and Crown, a historical and centrally located Hotel, at a very competitive rate.
To be honest, I didnt expect a huge amount for my money, having had previous bad experience elsewhere.
Well, I was proven wrong! The Rose and Crown is a fabulous hotel, very nice rooms, modern, yet tastefully decorated, and with very welcoming staff, making every guest feel welcome and appreciated.
The restaurant is first class, with a menu to rival many vastly more expensive hotels.
So, if you can, please do stay and experience the Rose and Crown for yourself :-) It's worth it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main building, especially when it's wet outside....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Many of our guests are business people either doing business in Wisbech or passing through. We pride ourselves on our customer service with good food, welcoming and pleasant accommodation and although the building itself is Grade II Listed all our rooms have modern showers and bathroom facilities which most people demand in all hotels these days.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured you will get the same good food, excellent service with comfortable accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rose and Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown Hotel

Address: 23 Market Place, Wisbech PE13 1DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within the thriving town of Wisbech,Cambridgeshire,The Rose and Crown Hotel re-opened in June 2012 under new management and after extensive refurbishment. It proudly takes centre stage as the jewel in the crown of Market Square. The Rose and Crown Hotel, parts of which date back as far as 1435, exudes a refined, relaxed charm that will instantly put you at ease with its warmth and welcome. We offer 26 beautifully styled rooms including superior suites, doubles and family rooms, and provide exceptional dining experiences, a beautiful wedding location and excellent conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your The Rose and Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Wisbech
The Rose And Crown Hotel Wisbech, Cambridgeshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose and Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.