We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a sign post over the road to point it out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose and Crown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Rose and Crown Hotel to your Saves list
The Rose and Crown Hotel
23 Market Place, Wisbech PE13 1DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Needs a sign post over the road to point it out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a friendly place the single room was very comfortable, clean I looked on trip for what people had said about it and it clearly says that you can choose from different menus and it will be brought to you. Well this isn't true I had to choose off one sheet with the date on it, if I was stopping there for a week I would ave looks like a cow cause it would ave been steak, having said that the food was really good very tasty, and the steak was cooked perfect to my taste. It took me 3 times to find the entrance as it is not sign posted they could do with a sign on the other side of the road or on the wall there was one on the gate but when open you can not see it. Also the room I was in on the 3rd floor the toilet did not flush properly. The hotel is ideally situated in the middle of town.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    55
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
72
5
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Staff could not do enough for us. Room was lovely and situated in the oldest part of the building which was very quiet. Spotlessly clean and with a lovely modern bathroom. Meals were good value and their home made pizza was amazing! We visited family whilst here, however, we did also spend a while in the fenland museum which was interesting. Will definitely return here regularly as it's the best hotel in this area.

Room Tip: Those overlooking the courtyard are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to family and friends. We enjoyed our stay and the food was excellent. Family dined with us on the last night of our stay to celebrate an eightieth birthday which was made more personal by the gift of a birthday cake given to the birthday girl and a most enjoyable evening was had by all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff 'went the extra mile' to assist you and your guests to have an enjoyable evening. We pride ourselves on our excellent staff and good food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Pleasant enough hotel, very historic without being really interesting, efficient and pleasant staff and clean. Best thing is its central to the town with shops and restaurants though I would be in no hurry to return to Wisbech itself if I didn't have too!

Room Tip: Hard to find by car, yes white building with red gates in arch but nothing that says Rose and Crown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Glad you had a pleasant stay at the hotel. Wisbech has changed over the years and of course it does depend on what you are looking for when you come to this market town. We do have some great places of interest i.e. Peckover House, Octavia Hill, Elgoods Brewery to name but a few. The hotel is situated in the Market Place at the very centre of this historic town but as we do not own the building at the rear of the hotel we are unable to put signage up. We are In consultation with the Council in this regard and in the meantime we do inform all guests of the car parking facilities when they book with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed with my family at the rose and crown as my husband's birthday treat, the staff were excellent with nothing to much trouble for them, making my husband's birthday treat special. the rooms were lovely with the request for quiet room given. the food was very exceptional with excellent service. the hotel dates back 600 yrs and is very historical. thankyou to Jill who helped to make our weekend special, and to david who answered all my questions and made us very welcome. we will visit again in the future. well done.

jean an denis hall and family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Grimsby, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would like to say that I have stayed at the Rose & Crown Hotel now on a few occasions, and I truly love the place. There is always something new to see in this historic old coach house. Even though it has been lovingly restored and tastefully updated the character and history can still be felt and seen. The staircase to the upper floors are something to truly marvel...
One thing you will certainly notice as soon as you walk in are the smiles and helpfulness of a great working team of staff that cannot do enough to make your stay the best. It's not very often you can go to hotels and feel completely at ease, nothing is ever too much trouble, the dining is quality with presentation that you would hope to find in some very posh restaurant but at a very affordable price.
It would seem there is a room to cater for all guests from family to singletons such as myself, they are always spotlessly clean functional and comfortable room 301 is an absolute gem if your ever going to stay it's very popular because of where it is and what it is like, I was very lucky recently to have chance to stay in this room and I fell in love with it!!! It's not the biggest room and because of its location it has lots of angles it's quirky , quaint, and beautiful but if you like a little more space then one of the suites airy spacious with a touch of class. Either way with any of the rooms you will find they all have something to love about them.
As you can see there isn't any negatives that for me I can find about this beautiful friendly old coach house and it's warm helpful staff, it's a place I could gladly call home.

Room Tip: For me room 301 it's not large by any means there are lots of angles because of the roof so mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at the hotel in September 2013. The hotel has had some money spent on it to update and refurbish but hasn't quite hit the mark in all areas. As mentioned by another reviewer the car park is accessed around the back of the hotel across from the river through and archway, however, this was not signposted and I'd suggest the owner fix this problem and also mention it on their website (I couldn't find a mention of the car park at all).
Our room was on the top floor above the kitchen and the extractor fan,and next to the housekeeping room hence was a bit noisy. It was very hot in the room possibly due to the location above the kitchen but we didn't want to open the window due to the noisy fan. It was very basic and quite disappointing. A token effort had been made to update. There wasn't a shelf in the bathroom to put toiletries on. I did try to change rooms but was told it would be fine for the first night but I'd have to move back for the second night.
On a positive note, the staff were fantastic. Extremely pleasant and very helpful.
We had dinner one night and it was delicious. The menu is limited but they will try to accommodate which they did for me. Complements to the chef...
The breakfast was good enough but not great. It did the job! I like to have a choice of pastries but they didn't have any and there were only 2 choices of cereal.
I would recommend the rose and crown for dinner but not to stay unless you don't mind basic.

Room Tip: Avoid the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your stay at The Rose & Crown Hotel. Unfortunately, we are extremely limited in regards to signage for the car park, due to the hotel being a Grade II listed building. However, we do have a description of how to find the car park, along with a photograph, under the ‘location’ segment of our website. We are sorry to hear you thought your room was basic; however we do feel that our standard rooms offer excellent value for money, with breakfast included. We offer a Full English & Continental breakfast, and have a minimum of 4 choices of cereal.
We are very pleased our staff made you feel welcome, as we pride ourselves in delivering excellent customer service, and that you really enjoyed your dinner, I shall pass on your praise to our chef. We are glad you would dine with us in the future, and maybe choose to stay with us again in one of our superior rooms, which offer more luxury. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rose and Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown Hotel

Address: 23 Market Place, Wisbech PE13 1DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within the thriving town of Wisbech,Cambridgeshire,The Rose and Crown Hotel re-opened in June 2012 under new management and after extensive refurbishment. It proudly takes centre stage as the jewel in the crown of Market Square. The Rose and Crown Hotel, parts of which date back as far as 1435, exudes a refined, relaxed charm that will instantly put you at ease with its warmth and welcome. We offer 26 beautifully styled rooms including superior suites, doubles and family rooms, and provide exceptional dining experiences, a beautiful wedding location and excellent conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Rose and Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Wisbech
The Rose And Crown Hotel Wisbech, Cambridgeshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose and Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.