We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elme Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Elme Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Elme Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69, Elm High Road, Wisbech PE14 0DQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in the lodge. Very clean, comfortable rooms. We had a very, warm welcome detailing where the restaurant was, what time breakfast, and was escorted to our room.
The room was spacious with armchairs which I felt was a godsend because usually I have found with other 'popular chains' there is nowhere to sit apart from hard dining room type chairs.
We were supplied with bottled water, tea & coffee making facilities, toiletries, tissues, large towels and biscuits. These were replenished every day.
We had dinner at the restaurant on three days and the staff there were fantastic and the food was cooked to perfection. Breakfast was also included in the price and was all you could eat buffet with a vast choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, rolls, toast, croissants and a full cooked breakfast, fruit juice and tea or coffee. I found that staff kept an eye on the food levels and top the food up to ensure nobody missed out.
I would love to stay here again if in the area and would recommend to anyone who is visiting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muguetu, General Manager at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of your 6 day stay with us. As a family owned and run Hotel, it's good to know that the little touches sets us apart from the chains.
It is always nice to receive a review from a guest who has had a longer stay with us as this has enabled them to fully explore all facilities of the Hotel and that we maintained your complete satisfaction with the service and value for money received
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    47
    23
    9
    11
See reviews for
38
68
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you're simply looking for somewhere to stay for the night, this'll do! The hotel has very little character - it's clean and its functional and for anyone staying in the area for business it's ideal. The rooms in the new lodge are basic but they're clean and comfortable. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel and I had a very good mobile phone signal during my stay. The staff were all very courteous and welcoming and the check in/out procedure quick and efficient. Breakfast was OK but I didn't have an evening meal so I can't comment of the quality of the restaurant. The hotel is on the corner of a busy intersection but the noise from the traffic is not unbearable - it is constant though! I can't think of anything particularly negative about Elme Hall but then again I can't think of anything particularly outstanding or memorable about it............its OK!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muguetu, General Manager at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We would like to thank you for your nice review and glad that our new lodge ticked all the boxes needed for a pleasant stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with friends just for the night but would stay again. Friendly young staff like Emily and Rachel are a credit as they were fun and efficient, with a great sense of humour.
We stayed in the lodge and he room was good and the shower perfect. Two nice bars and a lovely garden would encourage me to stay again but the friendly staff would certainly seal it.
Thank you all.
Mike

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muguetu, General Manager at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking out time to review your stay at the Elme Hall Lodge.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay so much.
I have passed you comments on to our staff.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a double ensuite Budget Lodge Room at a cost of £69.75 per night including breakfast.
I had previously telephoned them and asked for a bottle of champagne to be put in our room.
On arrival we were given a very warm welcome and personally shown to our room by a very helpful member of staff.
The room was very nice – I certainly wouldn’t have classed it as “budget” end, in fact we have stayed in many other places that have charged much higher and were not as nice. The room was very clean, spacious and nicely decorated, flat screen TV, 2 easy chairs and a coffee table. Nice touches were 2 bottles of water, tissues and nice size bath towels, black out blinds – a god send!!. Very good shower (wish hoteliers would put corner racks inside showers as it is difficult for some of us to keep bending down to the floor to get our shampoo, body wash etc!!).
Our champagne was in the room in an ice bucket but sadly there were 2 wine glasses and not flutes!! Not the end of the world but it certainly doesn’t taste the same.
We went to the restaurant for dinner, what a lovely building the actual Hall is, and the service and food was excellent. We have only one complaint: We wanted another bottle of the same champagne but was informed that they had now ran out (it was Louis Dornier @ £25.50 per bottle) and they offered us Piper Heidsieck at £39.95. My husband said that we would have it if they gave it as the £25.50 price which they said they couldn’t do. 10 mins later they “found” a bottle of the Louis Dornier et Fils Brut – when I asked why they couldn’t find it earlier they didn’t reply – found this very odd!!
Breakfast the next morning was good but there was only scrambled eggs – we asked if we could have fried eggs and was told it was no problem. When they arrived 1 was rock hard and the other had obviously broken in the frying pan and was hard and flat!! But the rest of the breakfast was good as was the staff.
We went out for lunch but when we returned in the afternoon there was a rock band playing in the ballroom and guests could go in for free. It was brilliant – not everyone’s cup of tea but definitely ours!!
In the evening we went to the restaurant and had the Table d’hote menu at £11.95 – amazingly good value for money – would highly recommend it – we were so full we asked for children’s portions of dessert!!
Sadly, we do have a complaint to make about breakfast on Monday morning. Again, we asked for our eggs to be cooked and this was not a problem – they arrived but when we went to the hot buffet there was hardly any food left and there wasn’t anyone around to ask to top it up – eventually my husband knocked on the kitchen door and asked when some more food would be coming and they said about 5-10 minutes so our eggs were left on our table for 10 mins whilst we waited for the food to be cooked – this was very annoying as someone should have been keeping an eye on the food.
Apart from the few incidents I have mentioned we would highly recommend this place and for what they charge I doubt if you could get much better anywhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lodge and although there was a wedding and a prom party going on we didn't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muguetu, Owner at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your nice review of your stay, it's always nice to know when we get things right.
Regarding Breakfast, we usually run a Hot Buffet constantly toped during the busy peak period of breakfast, with later arrivals being cooked to order.
It is always possible to eat breakfast at a later time and a call to reception if a guest is delayed will always ensure we have not assumed someone is not skipping breakfast.
We had in fact reserved 2 additional bottles of your chosen Champagne in another cooler and hence the slight confusion.
Once again thank you for review..
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK based
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife booked us here as a treat for my 50th birthday. The staff are very helpful and diligent, our room was pleasant enough and we were staying put. Our last night was also our 27th wedding anniversary and I wanted to surprise my wife. So I got a card and she liked that, we went out for the day. Came back and the receptionist Alice I think gave me the room key. We went up and as my wife turned the corner to go to our room. I said I had one more treat for her, I opened the door and ushered her into the honeymoon suite. All our stuff having been swapped over while we were out. Thank you Alice and everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muguetu, Owner at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
It's nice to hear that your Anniversary surprise went so well and that the Hotel and Staff came up to your expectations.
Best Wishes to you both.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We attended a wedding here at the Elm Hall and what a great time we had.
Everything seemed planned with such precision, food was great and service superior to any function we have ever experienced in other venues.
Staff were very polite, efficient and ever smiling, we felt really welcome.
Check-in was smooth and the Lodge room was fully equipped with a very comfortable bed and large flat screen TV.
Breakfast was an excellent spread served in the main Hotel, with such a selection!
Overall it was a magic day for our friends the Bride & Groom, made complete by a very professional team.
We shall return!!

Room Tip: Lodge rooms great, but main Hotel are larger and have Bath & Shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muguetu, Owner at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed the wedding reception, thank you for taking time out to review your experience.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Arrived yesterday afternoon as was greeted by Emily who has to go down as the most helpful receptionist ever! informed us of everything we needed to know with a charming smile. Room was clean and tidy but wish I could have stayed in the hotel rather than the lodge. The food was good but was limited as they had a wedding booked in but overall what was provided was OK. The breakfast was great and the sausages were to die for! Overall a great night and would definetly go back when I next visit the area.

Room Tip: I was in the lodge and all the rooms are far enough away from the road as not to hear the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muguetu, Manager at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for the nice review of your stay, I am so glad your party in the Village was also most enjoyable.
Emily says hi.. We do restrict the menu if there is a wedding, especially between 4pm & 6pm, but still offer the full bar menu which does includes steaks etc.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the Hotel and hope to have availability in the main Hotel for you, at which time we would be happy to reserve you a table in the restaurant for an un-restricted choice.
Regards Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elme Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elme Hall Hotel

Address: 69, Elm High Road, Wisbech PE14 0DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elme Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elme Hall Hotel and conference centre offers the ultimate in traditional comfort and client facilities. Recently constructed the building's traditional design is matched by our traditional hospitality and attention to detail. Appointed with the latest technology Elme Hall Hotel offers the following facilities: luxury accommodation including bridal suites, conference suites, function rooms, civil marriage license and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Elme Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elme Hall
Elme Hall Hotel Wisbech, Cambridgeshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elme Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.