We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to The Sportsman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sportsman

The Sportsman
Main Road | Elm, Wisbech, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 86 Restaurants in Wisbech
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Go to The Sportsman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've just got back from a fab meal at The Sportsman. The Chef who cooked my steak deserves a medal - cooked to perfection!!! A good all-round menu at very good prices. Well presented with good unobtrusive service. I have been there now both at lunch times and evenings and would recommend either highly. I'm not a veggie but I noticed that rather than the token one veggie dish there were three to choose from. Definately another visit on the cards. Thank you to all the staff there for a lovely meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    3
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not really sporty, apart from the old golf clubs, but good atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The food was excellent and the barmaid efficient and pleasant. This is a real country pub, which has memories for me of sawdust on the floor and the two elderly ladies - Maud May and her sister - who were the licencees in the early 1960s. Elgood's beer was served and it was very olde worlde.
The current landlord has done a comprehensive job of bringing it up to modern standards and it is well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Quaint and cosy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A little gem of a pub just outside Wisbech. Good selection of beer and food at reasonable cost. Great service from the bar staff and management. Cosy and warm would defintely pop in for a beer when passing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Wednesday nights is a steak special for two, very good value. Good sized food portions always. Advisable to book for Sunday lunches.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good value food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We came as a party of five on a busy sunday, just before christmas. A good choice of the set lunch or ordering off the normal menu. We went for 2 courses for £9.99 excellent value these days. The food was honest pub grub, with an array of well cooked veg. Drinks were a good price (3 cokes for under a fiver- I didn't order the first round!!) The general atmosphere was buzzy and friendly. Would be happy to revisit and recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sportsman also viewed

Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
 
Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Sportsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sportsman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.