We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good b&b!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Vicarage Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Vicarage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Old Vicarage Bed and Breakfast
Gote Lane | Gorefield, Wisbech PE13 4NJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Wisbech B&B and Inns
Tonbridge, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A really good b&b!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Visiting family in Gorefield and we stayed with an 11 month old.

Sonja and Chris were brilliant- so welcoming and excellent breakfast hosts. The morning food was excellent with great poached eggs and nothing being too much trouble.

Room was large and clean with plenty of space for a cot.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
16
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Thank you Sonia and Chris for looking after us so brilliantly. You were a haven away from the crazy 21st our son had planned and your facilities, cleanliness and high quality accommodation is faultless. The previous 5* reviews say it all but I have to say that anyone who can cooked a good poached egg (I find that impossible) gets an extra special pat on the back. If we ever visit the area again we would not even consider looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

very welcoming hosts ,a charming and well equipped room with home comforts, The Old Vicarage we can highly recommend , for a comforting stay,the breakfast was excellent with homemade jams and marmalade,the house itself has been restored to a very high standard

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniliquin, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on the 12 and 13 of July 2013. We were greeted by Sonja and Chris and shown to our lovely spacious room, then we enjoyed cake and a cup of tea with them. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. A full English breakfast very nice indeed.
This is an excellent place to stay and very clean. We loved our stay.

Room Tip: check reviews for cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a very special place in an area where there is a dearth of good hotels and bed and breakfast accommodation. We spent four nights here: the house is a fine old vicarage, lovingly restored; the bedroom, large and airy; a beautiful bathroom, if needed, is available, in addition to the en-suite shower; the breakfast, extensive and excellent; the welcome is warm; and the decor and furnishings reflect attention to detail and comfort. Other guests appeared to be relaxed and enjoying their stay. The room was made-up each day. Chris and Sonja are keen to ensure that your stay with them is memorable; and so it was!
We would not hesitate to return, if and when we are again in the area, and recommend it thoroughly.

Room Tip: We slept in the Bonaparte room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I wanted somewhere local, for my son and his bride to spend their Wedding Night. And the Old Vicarage is just 3 miles from us. I rang them, and was impressed by the friendly (Sonja) voice at the end of the phone, I explained the situation to her, and said I had checked it out on the internet. And she invited us, the prospective groom, bride and myself to go have a look. What a wonderful reception we received. Enchanting rooms, I found myself trying to make an excuse for me to stay. Sonja and Chris was charming, and they have worked so hard over the past 12 years gradually restoring it sympathetically to its former glory, even to having handmade stained glass window panes fitted. It was difficult to choose which room to stay in. The atmosphere was wonderful, peaceful and very relaxing. Sonja explained what foods she chose, nothing less than she would have herself, fresh fruit juices and all fresh ingredients. I was totally impressed, and like I said before, I am trying to think of a reason I could justify in going to sleep over. Very helpful in every possible way.

Room Tip: Just look on their web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

It's always a pleasure to return to this wonderful B&B on a regular basis. Fully recommended to all. Thanks again and top marks all round for such a great quality stay and excellent service to match.

Looking forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Vicarage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Gote Lane | Gorefield, Wisbech PE13 4NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Wisbech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage Bed and Breakfast is luxurious accommodation nearby to the market town of Wisbech. This 1872 Victorian Gothic Vicarage is set in a secluded garden with majestic oak, lime and yew trees surrounding the imposing property.The property has been lovingly restored with great care and attention to detail, blending together the Victorian period with the comfort and elegance of the modern day. Entering the vicarage through the original oak doors you are at once charmed by the grand space of the hall with its wide staircase and galleried landing. Fresh flowers and paintings adorn the house along with lovely antique furniture lending to the atmosphere of peace and tranquility.Tea or coffee together with homemade cake or biscuits is served in the library on your arrival in front of a cosy log fire. Throughout the house is a wealth of books for bedtime reading or for bookworms to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Vicarage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Bed And Breakfast Wisbech, Cambridgeshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Vicarage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.