We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nags Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nags Head Hotel to your Saves list
Nags Head Hotel
2 Berkley Street | Eynesbury, St. Neots PE19 2NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St. Neots
Kinver, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was called to St Neots recently on business. I was given the name and number of The Nags head by a colleague. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff could not do enough for me. A great place to stay in easy reach of the town centre. I would highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
16
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

From the minute we arrived at the Nag's Head we were made to feel welcome and that "nothing is too much trouble". We had not booked in advance but were fortunate to find the hotel had a double room availble when we arrived on the evening of our one night stay. The room was comfortable, clean and the only sounds we were aware of was the amazing morning chorus from the birds. Breakfast was cooked to order, was piping hot and delicious. The restaurant was undergoing a refurbishment during our stay so unfortunately we were not able to eat there for dinner although Kevin, the owner, was more than helpful with his advice on restaurants that were all situated close by. We understand his restaurant is to re-open next week and if the food served there is as good as breakfast then we're sure it will be an amazing success.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I can highly recommend the Nags Head as excellent basic accommodation with a good breakfast included. The rooms are basic but comfortable and spotlessly clean. The owner Kevin cannot do enough to help you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked a twin room and paid £216 for three nights B&B a month in advance as we were visiting relatives in the area just after Christmas. A telephone call on Boxing day, a day before our departure, alerted us to the fact that the hotel was not busy(in fact we susequently found we were the only guests) and we were given us a phone number to call on our arrival to gain entry. On arrival, standing outside a dark building and failing to get through on the phone we began to get bad vibes about our choice of accommodation. Sure enough when we did eventualy get in to the reception area we did not receive the warm welcome the website promises. Did we plan to get our own breakfast? No,We had booked and paid for B&B. Then only a light breakfast of cereal, tea and toast was available. Could we not have a cooked breakfast. No. Thus for our three day stay which included a Sunday we got the light (minimal effort) breakfast. We asked about the central heating which seemed to have been switched off with a small heater placed in the room to provide some warmth.We were told the CH would come on but it didn't. A day later we asked if we could have our cold soggy towels replaced as there was no heat in the bathroom. Yes but which of the towels did we want changing. During our stay the restaurant and bar was closed and the place had all the atmosphere of a morgue. Fortunately, we could warm up elsewhere. We did express our dissatisfaction and received £30 back but the whole experience cast a shadow over what was supposed to be a nice post Christmas break to catch up with family. My advice is double check what you think you are paying for as were told we had misunderstood the terms of our booking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed at the Nags Head a few weeks ago and found it to be excellent value. Cosy, very clean room with very friendly staff! Kevin is very welcoming and makes this hotel! Had the Full English breakfast in the morning which was beautiful! I have to say i completely disagree with the previous rather negative review, its not an accurate reflection of my experience at the hotel.

Will be staying again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Needed somewhere to lay my weary head for the night. Last minute booking, but the owners could not do enough to accomodate. The rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. Would definite use again next time down this way. And the food in the restaurant was much needed. Thanks for making me feel welcome :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A disappointing experience,Having emailed the owners to inform them that I would like a quiet room if possible, I was surprised to be put on the lower floor and then having people put on the top floor above walking around on laminated flooring. Every movement from upstairs was exaggerated it was impossible to sleep. My partner could not sleep and he is usually totally oblivlous to any noise, Just as well there was no one watching TV as well.

The beds were comfortable and the bedding clean, Shame that we were not able to take advantage .
As payment was asked for on arrival I asked to see the room and on seeing it I was suprised at the owners comments when stating that he did not really care whether I liked the room or not. Not really the right attitude to running a business.

Although the room looked modern and clean initially, on inspection of the bathroom the shower had not been cleaned, there was black mould on the shower sealant and it looked as if it needed some general improvements.
There was dust on the window sill.

It was overpriced.

Room Tip: choose top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nags Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nags Head Hotel

Address: 2 Berkley Street | Eynesbury, St. Neots PE19 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St. Neots
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St. Neots
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel St. Neots, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nags Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.