We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changes for the better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nags Head Hotel

The Nags Head Hotel
2 Berkley Street | Eynesbury, St. Neots PE19 2NA, England (Formerly The Nags Head Restaurant and Bar)
+44 1480 123456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 58 Restaurants in St. Neots
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
cambs
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Changes for the better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Not really 'The Grill Room' any longer, rather the new chef and waiting staff are under direct management of the owner whose ethos is good fresh local produce at affordable prices.

Friday night I had pork loin and wife had beef stroganoff - both very good - so much so we were back for lunch on Sunday! This was excellent and a great bargain at tthe ofer price of 3 courses for £12.50. Due to go up to £13.95 - still a bargain

Didnt visit the previous incarnation as the Grill Room - believe it was good but a bit pricey.
Anyone put off by those old prices should definitely give the new regime a chance

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    3
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value for a Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My partner and I went to the Nags Head for Sunday lunch. We were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome, and despite not booking it was not an issue. We opted for the 3 course lunch. I had a gorgeous pea and spinach homemade soup. It was lovely, full of flavour and could tell it was not out of a tin! Whilst my partner opted for the prawn cocktail - a nice sized portion of prawns with fresh salad. We both opted for roast dinner (lamb for me and beef for my partner). The meat was tender, veg fresh and overall delicious. For desert we were pleasantly surprised to discover they were homemade so opted for strawberry cheesecake and rhubarb and apple crumble. Again both were lovely. Total cost £34 which included glass of wine, pint of lager and a diet coke. I would recommend this place to anyone for Sunday lunch. Great value. Great food, warm and friendly service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONYTMEX, past tenant of the grill room restaurant at The Nags Head Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
How many more times have we got to inform Trip Advisor that the Grill Room Restaurant does not operate from the Nags Head Hotel, the Grill Room ceased to trade on the premises on the 1st April 2013 and the restaurant is now operated by the Nags Head Hotel. The Grill Room brand is not responsible for the preparation or service of food on the premises and does not wish to have the Grill Room brand associated with the Nags Head Hotel. The Grill Room references MUST be Removed from the Nags Head listings. Please Please respond with a positive answer to my requests or legal representation will be sought to resolve this matter.
Tony Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a shame”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

It wouldn't take too much to get this to good but it is lacking
in so many areas, cold vegetables, dirty glasses, rusty cutlery.
Come on you know you can do better?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONYTMEX, past restaurant tenant at The Nags Head Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
This is not the Grill Room at the Nags Head but just an attempt by the Nags Head Hotel to run a restaurant at the venue. The Grill Room ceased to operate at these premises on the 1st April.
Please trip advisor get you facts updated, we have informed you on several occasions.
tony martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Driving up I was apprehensive... not the best location.

However.... What a DELIGHT!

Fantastic fresh, wholesome ingredients cooked to absolute perfection with a hostess who was attentive and yet gave us privacy.

The best evening meal I have had in 5 years.

I only regret telling you all this as it will make it harder for reservations in the future...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best in St Neots and then some...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here on many occasions and the food, service and atmosphere have always been first class. We always have steak and it's always a lovely cut of meat which is perfectly cooked. I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nags Head Hotel also viewed

St. Neots, Cambridgeshire
St. Neots, Cambridgeshire
 
Great Paxton, St. Neots
Eaton Socon, St. Neots
 

Been to The Nags Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nags Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.