We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Akbar Tandoori

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Akbar Tandoori
99 Great North Road | Eaton Socon, St. Neots PE19 3EL, England
0871 432 0500
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 58 Restaurants in St. Neots
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cambs
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a rather bland average meal here last weekend. Staff not overly friendly. All a bit disappointing. Poor quality chicken used which spoiled it. Naan bread not that good. Mind you the portions are big and it's reasonably priced.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    10
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lamb naga - boom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

great curry , great service, top draw mongoose, but lamb naga what a curry all you want in a curry. seasoned pros love curry love Akbar.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Your tongue can't repel firepower of THIS magnitude!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I visit regularly with her family. Always a friendly, helpful and attentive service.

The food is first-rate and the portions are very generous. They'll also cook virtually any Indian dish NOT on the menu and can make recommendations too. So if you're not sure what to have, just tell them what you like and they'll sort something out for you you'll like.

So whether you've never tried Indian or if you're a curry veteran, this is the place to go.

Takeaway service is also available and the quality is just as good and the prices very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have been here a handful of times and would definitely rate it as the best Indian restaurant I have visited in St Neots. I went for a meal with my partner for my birthday last week. The staff and polite and attentive without overcrowding, a lovely meal and excellent value for money, 3 courses plus a bottle of wine for £50. Lovely setting and very clean as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very good curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a recommendation, which turned out to be a good one, set in an old inn, good menu, fine choice, my party ordered a variety of items off the menu all good, in particular the vegetarian thali was excellent. No hesitation to pass on the same recommendation. One commendation to note were the toilets, which were spotless, very clean with antibaterial hand soap, excellent well done !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar Tandoori also viewed

St. Neots, Cambridgeshire
 
St. Neots, Cambridgeshire
St. Neots, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Akbar Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akbar Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.