We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always reliably good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheene Mill Restaurant

The Sheene Mill Restaurant
39 Station Road | Melbourn, Royston, Cambridgeshire, Melbourn, Royston SG8 6DX, England
+44 1763 261393
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Melbourn
Price range: $11 - $78
Cuisines: English, French, Brasserie, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Our Restaurant... Enter an elegant, shabby chic, candle lit restaurant with open fireplaces and beautiful surroundings. Choose from our Luxurious A' la Carte Menu where our strong kitchen team use only the finest seasonal produce, sourced locally to create genuinely imaginative modern dishes that delight and inspire. Afternoon Tea is available upon request. Relax and enjoy delicious food and drink served with smiles in a charming, friendly environment. More Than Just a Restaurant!... Come and Visit and See for Yourselves...
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always reliably good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

i have been staying at the Sheene Mill for 4 months because of work. The rooms are good the staff are great. The food in the restaurant is always of a high quality and the service excellent. A special commendation for Sig tonight, who looked after us in exemplary fashion for my birthhday dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    32
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service by enthusiastic staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Mill, eating there one night. The setting is wonderful with beautiful lighting over the water at night. Our room was very comfortable overlooking the mill stream and garden. For me the biggest plus is the attitude of the staff, nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile. Our dinner was excellent with lovely amuse bouche with our pre-dinner drinks. The staff were discreet but very attentive noticing when our glasses were empty. We would definitely return when in the area

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, good food and pleasant staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I had lunch with four friends at The Sheene Mill today. One couple live nearby and had eaten there before but for the rest of us it was a first visit.

We were lucky in that the weather was beautiful and we could enjoy a drink on the patio overlooking the Mill stream before going inside to the well decorated and airy dining room.

Our food orders were quickly taken and the waiting staff could not have been more helpful or attentive. Our lunches when the arrived were all judged to be tasty and very good value. The chicken breast and the traditional fish and chips were particularly appreciated!

The desserts were all well presented and I would recommend the Almond Panna Cotta which was beautifully light and served with almond shortbread biscuits.

The only criticism I could offer is that there were not enough garden shades up and we had to go in too soon because we could not sit in the heat of the sun, but I suppose this is not much of a problem in the usual English summer.....

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Another fantastic anniversary meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We came to Sheene Mill for afternoon tea to celebrate our second wedding anniversary. (We like to come every year as we met and married here!). We brought our 9 month old daughter and all had a lovely time. The staff as usual were efficient and attentive without being too over the top.

The food was very delicious. The mini patisserie cakes and meringues were very yummy indeed!

Thank you for another great experience. See you again soon!

P.s the bar food also looked amazing and great value so would recommend that also!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good service, ok food, very over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Lovely gardens & can see why it's so popular with weddings. The restaurant lacks atmosphere but would probably work better with functions due to the way it's laid out & decorated. The pre dinner nibbles were very tasty & the starters & desserts nicely presented, but nothing amazing. The food is ok but not worth the prices we paid. We will not be going back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sheene Mill Restaurant also viewed

 
Fowlmere, Cambridgeshire
Heydon, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Sheene Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheene Mill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.