We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly managed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheene Mill Restaurant

The Sheene Mill Restaurant
39 Station Road | Melbourn, Royston, Cambridgeshire, Melbourn, Royston SG8 6DX, England
+44 1763 261393
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Melbourn
Price range: $11 - $78
Cuisines: English, French, Brasserie, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Our Restaurant... Enter an elegant, shabby chic, candle lit restaurant with open fireplaces and beautiful surroundings. Choose from our Luxurious A' la Carte Menu where our strong kitchen team use only the finest seasonal produce, sourced locally to create genuinely imaginative modern dishes that delight and inspire. Afternoon Tea is available upon request. Relax and enjoy delicious food and drink served with smiles in a charming, friendly environment. More Than Just a Restaurant!... Come and Visit and See for Yourselves...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poorly managed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Set in beautiful surroundings, we had high hopes (and expectations) for the Sheene Mill. However, we were sorely disappointed with every aspect of our visit. The service was appalling (we waited over 20 minutes to be offered a drink and even then we weren't given a drinks menu. The Front of House staff were poorly trained and it showed.

To be fair, the starters were tasty and a good size portion but the mains were inedible. Chewy bits of meat with undercooked potatoes and over-cooked veg.

Our table was booked for 2pm and we didn't leave the restaurant until gone 5.30pm inspite only having 2 courses.

To sum up; beautiful location, inexperienced and poorly trained staff, inadequate management, low quality meals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenemillreception, Owner at The Sheene Mill Restaurant, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Lexie,

Thanks for your review. I am shocked that we achieved such a low rating from yourself! It upsets me and my partner hugely to hear that your lunch didn't go according to plan.

We did have a lot of new staff in June due to the pace of the business picking up but this is no excuse for being left waiting for 20 minutes for a drink.

Since your review we have invested heavily in staff training and I am almost certain that if you returned again you would never have a 1 star experience again.

Regards

Adam Jordan
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    32
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Father's Day outing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We got a last minute late (3.30pm) table booking and were looking forward to a delicious meal as we had been told The Sheene Mill was the best restaurant for miles......and five of us arrived in good time, hungry and anticipating delicious food.
Apart from roast potatoes that had obviously been kept hot for hours, and ditto for Yorkshire puddings.......my beef was very tough going with lots of it left on my plate. It was obvious that we were late eating, but as our bill showed, we still paid optimum prices....plus the 10% Sunday loading.
All the rest of our meals were lovely - and coffee excellent - after having to ask for it and the petit fours...........and the lesson is to not be late booking next year!!!
What a shame we could vote no more than 3/5 for this special lunch!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenemillreception, Owner at The Sheene Mill Restaurant, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Chris,

Thank you for your review. i am sorry we didn't score higher on this occasion as Trip Advisor feedback is key to us building our new business venue.

Since your visit we have implemented booking slots that ensure the kitchen is not overworked during certain periods so that when you do return for Sunday lunch whether it be 12 or 4pm you will still get a fantastic meal and service.

Regards

Adam Jordan
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We had only stopped by for a drink to see what the refurb was like but ended up staying for dinner. I have to say that the conservatory could do with some tlc and bar staff need to learn cocktails however the food was very good and the black pudding mash exceptional.

We will return but I think that they could do with learning how to make cocktails if they are selling them but that's my only negative.

Good luck for the future as a good local restaurant is what we need.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenemillreception, Owner at The Sheene Mill Restaurant, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Clare,

I think you did catch us out on this day with the cocktail requests! Sorry!

Cocktail training for all staff is on the way! To their delight of course.

The conservatory area has received a great deal of TLC since your visit including some beautiful drapes and a chandelier in the middle of the room. We do have plans to update the room even more in the new year!

With regard to price, you visited us during a change over of Chefs so we only had our top end A La Carte menu available. Since then we have introduced an express menu with great dishes at 2 for £17! Spread the word!

Thanks for the feedback and we hope to score 5 stars on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited this establishment with a large party of 25 guests and the staff were really helpful and friendly from the moment we set foot in the restaurant.
To make the evening easier, everyone had pre ordered their choices from the menu sent from the kitchen but of course one lady said she had ordered a different dish to that served. Without any fuss and still with a smile the offending plate was whisked away and very quickly another meal of her choice appeared.
The food was of a very high standard as we have found on previous occasions and the setting delightful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenemillreception, Owner at The Sheene Mill Restaurant, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Jean,

Really happy to hear that you had a fantastic time at The Sheene Mill. We are doing everything possible to make sure we get that 5 stars from your next time.

Regards

Adam Jordan
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Great improvements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Unlike some recently taken over establishments locally, the changes here have not disappointed they have really made a difference. New Chef, new decor and very upbeat team greet and serve you on arrival. The wine list is extensive and the food menu caters for all palates. Delicious meals at good prices value for money,The quality of cooking makes you want to come back for more. The venue is great there is outside seating by the pond for drinks, with its own swan who likes to be fed.. The Chefs are up for telling you about the ingredients used which is a bonus..The menu changes regularly, so you don't get bored, looking forward to the next edition..

.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenemillreception, Owner at The Sheene Mill Restaurant, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you very much for such lovely words.

We will keep working hard to make sure that you keep returning and enjoying yourself at The Sheene Mill

Adam Jordan
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sheene Mill Restaurant also viewed

 
Fowlmere, Cambridgeshire
Heydon, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Sheene Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheene Mill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.