We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheene Mill Restaurant

The Sheene Mill Restaurant
39 Station Road | Melbourn, Royston, Cambridgeshire, Melbourn, Royston SG8 6DX, England
+44 1763 261393
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Melbourn
Price range: $11 - $78
Cuisines: English, French, Brasserie, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Our Restaurant... Enter an elegant, shabby chic, candle lit restaurant with open fireplaces and beautiful surroundings. Choose from our Luxurious A' la Carte Menu where our strong kitchen team use only the finest seasonal produce, sourced locally to create genuinely imaginative modern dishes that delight and inspire. Afternoon Tea is available upon request. Relax and enjoy delicious food and drink served with smiles in a charming, friendly environment. More Than Just a Restaurant!... Come and Visit and See for Yourselves...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“A welcome return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This restaurant was a local treasure but, for various reasons, it just went and gonned. The new proprietors are part of its tradition but they have done more than recreate its excellence.

We went on a Monday because our trains coincided at Meldreth station. It was delightful walk across from the railway and the location is breathtaking. Your other reviewers have noted it and indeed it has been the same for many years.

There is a drinks menu in the lounge. We have no objections. We are adults. So are the ladies who, like us, take the Monday Madness menu ((£17). Good cocktails - but be adult and watch the price. And watch the ladies who drink more cocktails. Why not? They are adults.

Food is very good and will get better. Service is slowish but that's because the Monday menu is obviously geared to the ladies. They are respectable. They deserve a night out. They are adults. They are also very noisy.

The wine list is limited but good. The ladies can afford it and enjoy it. They are adults.

This restaurant is very good in itself and could become excellent outside of itself. I should love a simple lunch here (which I did have many years ago with friends) and hope to do the same again.

So be very careful and read each word. This is a great place but there are ladies and in their twenties ... I should be more clear. Twenty of them and in their fifties. Why not? They are adults.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenemillreception, Owner at The Sheene Mill Restaurant, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
James840,

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your return to The Sheene Mill.

We have taken onboard your comments regarding speed of service and aim to put that right in the future.

Regards

Adam Jordan
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    32
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Friendly, beautiful & most of all AMAZING food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Visited on Easter Monday and took advantage of the Monday Madness offer (3 courses of £17). Brilliant value, lovely food and a beautiful building with lovely grounds. Topped off with the resident swan knocking on the windows.......will definately return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenemillreception, Owner at The Sheene Mill Restaurant, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely words.

We now have an EXPRESS MENU which is 2 courses for £17 and that runs from Monday - Saturday.... so even more reasons to pop in and visit again!

Regards

Adam Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue, fantastic food, fantastic welcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Since being taken over by Serena and Jordan, The Sheene Mill has fast become the best place for wonderful food, wine and entertainment at sensible prices in our area.

In the three months that Serena and Jordan have been managing The Sheene Mill, they've already put their stamp on it, and the improvement has been both rapid, welcome and shining.

We've had two special occasions there, as well as a Sunday lunch, all of which have been amazing. We look forward to many more great meals, especially when summer finally approaches; sitting outside on the new decking, admiring the view across the river (including resident character, William the swan) will be stunning.

Really worth a visit...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Been taken over and new owners obviously trying to make a big effort which is paying off, lovely setting good food and atentive service

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Midweek Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My partner and I recently enjoyed a mid-week break at The Sheene Mill.

Our room had a view across the mill-pond which was then basked in coloured lighting as the night drew in; which ensured the views were always nothing but perfect. It came with the largest selection of tea I've ever seen in a hotel and some complimentary bottled still & sparkling water - which I thought was a nice touch. Our bed was extremely comfortable and the hotel was quiet enough to allow us a lie-in each morning.

The breakfast provided is a either a selection of cereals or you can order from the hot food menu (which is all made to order). We ordered from the hot-food menu each day and the food arrived very quickly.. they even gave me a cafetiere (for one) so I didn't have to keep leaving my table to get a top-up.

The cleaners come around daily and did a fantastic job getting rid of rubbish and replenishing the tea & coffee - they even folded some of my clothes that I'd left strewn along the bed one day!

The staff were very welcoming and always seemed to want to 'go the extra mile' for us to ensure we had everything we needed. I would definitely stay again and recommend it to others.

Lastly, my partner left behind her Kindle in the room and when I rang up the hotel in a panic a few hours after check-out - they already had the kindle to one side and offered to send it back recorded delivery to me which was re-assuring!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sheene Mill Restaurant also viewed

 
Fowlmere, Cambridgeshire
Heydon, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Sheene Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheene Mill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.