We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore House

Sycamore House
1 Church Street, Little Shelford CB22 5HG, England
(01223) 843396
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Something special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Michael Sharp and his wife offer a quiet and relaxed atmosphere in which to enjoy Michael's delicious menus. A firm favourite over the years which will not disappoint. Seasonal ingredients personally prepared with a lovely selection of wines to choose from. Very reasonably priced.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“BRITISH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This restaurant has a tremendous local following. We had meant to visit for a while but it never came off - until our recent visit. It is a curious set up - a husband and wife team with one other staff member serving 3 course dinners in what can best be described as their house. The atmosphere is VERY British - slightly reserved, dowdy decor and whispered conversations. And the food was also British - competent with whiffs of aspiration and mountains of vegetables cooked as we have come to love on this "Isle of Wonder". The majority of us settled for the Duck which sadly didn't echo the clarion call sounded by the reviews - a tad overcooked hence tough in places. It was perfectly edible but our expectations were not met. The wine list was a joy and fairly priced. We will return as the place is a real jewel and deserves to be well supported in an area where the dreaded chain restaurants dominate the city of Cambridge.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A benchmark for UK food & wine value - excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We've eaten here many times over the years, and we've come to use it a benchmark for value for money UK food. The fixed price menu for 3 courses plus an inter-course salad is currently £28.50. There's around 5 choices for each course and all are expertly cooked by Michael Sharpe with tip-top local ingredients. This isn't elaborate food, but it most certainly is extremely enjoyable: you know you are in professional, no-nonsense hands here.
The wine list is quite interesting and wide ranging, and the mark-ups are very modest indeed - Michael sources some wines from Noel Young (local independent wine merchant) and he makes sure there's plenty of choice (from around £12 as I remember, which these days in a restaurant like this in Cambridgeshire is simply amazing).
The old thatched building is attractive, although simply decorated.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent - food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I have eaten here many times over the years with friends and family celebrations. Service always faultless with great food and good well priced wine. Relaxed atmosphere where food stands out and ideal place to have an evening with a group of friends.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I went to this restaurant for my boyfriend's birthday meal and we love everything!
The food were delicious, staff were polite, the atomosphere were quiet and comfortable.
We spent whole night in there because it was so comfortable and relax,
I hightly recomend this restaurant for everyone particularly if you would like to have a romantic night and chill out ;-)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sycamore House also viewed

Little Shelford, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Great Shelford, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Sycamore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.