We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing meet & feed the tiger experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linton Zoo

Linton Zoo
Hadstock Road, Linton CB21 4NT, England
+44 1223 891308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Linton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Linton Zoo, emphasis is on conservation and education, while providing an enjoyable family outing. There is a wealth of rare and exotic creatures to see including Tigers, Lions, Tapirs, Lemurs, Owls, Parrots, Giant Tortoises, Tarantula Spiders and many others. The zoo is an ever evolving attraction, set in 18 acres of gardens and woodland with plenty of picnic areas. It is generally considered a one and a half hour visit but some visitors do stay longer especially on days when there is a full programme of keeper talks and activities. The favourite of all is the animal encounter sessions. Many of the aviaries and enclosures are heavily planted so you need to be prepared to take your time at each exhibit. Bear in mind that Linton Zoo is a breeding centre for endangered species and is not a commercial entertainment centre. There are several options to enhance your visit with a behind the scenes tour, money raised from these special tours directly support field conservation projects through our charity. There are sometimes late closing evenings with extra special activities aimed at giving you a better understanding of specific animals, details are posted on our Facebook and website. Expect country park like pathways, some are gravel and sand others are grass, because of the large trees there are occasional roots. The zoo is more or less all out in the open so there is little shelter on wet days, if you visit on a day with rain expected please do come suitably dressed with waterproof footwear. Free parking is within zoo grounds and there is a basic children's play area. The one toilet block is situated on the car park area which is within the zoo grounds and as the zoo is quite compact it is within easy reach most times. There is also a coffee shop which serves a wide range of snack and lunch items as well as hot and cold drinks. We are open all year but restricted hours during the winter months. Visit our website for visit information including opening hours and details of activities at weekends and during the school holidays. Our Facebook page will keep you updated with all the latest news and of course the latest cute baby pictures.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“amazing meet & feed the tiger experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This zoo is a lovely day out, with a great range of animals, the highlight being the big cats. We went on the meet the tiger experience where we had a really interesting talk from Kim the keeper and got to hand feed (through the bars!) one of the tigers. Really great experience and fascinating to hear about the conservation work of the zoo. Would recommend to anyone who likes big cats and would like to support the great work of the zoo.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    54
    19
    19
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A day to remember !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The zoo is a hidden treasure. Very compact but with a great variety of species. The care and consideration for the anilmals is immediately visible. We visited with the family, and the children loved the hands on experience with some of the smaller species. We also paid £10 each to meet the lemurs - not knowing that we would actually be sat there with a lemur on our lap eating grapes ! The children have not stopped talking about it since. On top of this I also had the keeper experience - feeding a tiger. To be literally within inches of such a magnificent beast was truly one of the highlights of my life. I have travelled far and wide, but this beats almost all. The owner stayed with me the whole time and shared some amazing information about "Katinka"..even getting her to roll over on her belly ! What a wonderful day out.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“meeting the animals, jackie & kevin powell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband & I visited Linton Zoo on 19/01/13 to meet, feed & sponsor a big cat. We had a fantastic experience with Kim, her knowledge & compassion for all the animals in her care is amazing. The conservations efforts they are going to at the zoo is such an important issue to all the members of staff, Mikey was brilliant & really impressed us with his enthusiasm & love for the animals. A fantastic experience, money well spent but also for such an important cause.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding care and attention-loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I had booked an animal experience for my Husband’s birthday (through Groupon) and from start to finish, from booking to leaving, the expertise and friendliness was outstanding from all we met.
The zoo is small and intimate, well laid out so very ‘natural’ and relaxed and with a good range of different animals. The thing you don’t notice without talking to the staff is the hard work and dedication behind the Zoo, to do with conservation etc. Don’t come expecting a big razzmatazz and Disney style falseness –come here if you want to see beautiful endangered animals, being well cared for and staff helping to preserve these animals for future generations.
I booked a Lemur Tour as a ‘fake’ reason for visiting (as the main present was a meet and greet a Big Cat) but the lemur tour was excellent! We were the only two there, and Dawny was so informative and passionate about her work and her lemurs. We spent ages with each group of lemurs, in their ‘rooms’, feeding them as they ran all over us and around us! Such sweet and intelligent animals.
Then Dawny (in on my secret Big Cat Meeting) very cleverly guided my husband to the leopard and tiger section and he was thoroughly surprised and delighted by being taken into a section just between the tiger and leopard enclosure. Lisa the leopard was feeling sleepy (apparently very old and likes her sleep) so he fed and ‘met’(behind a fence but REALLY up close – touchable distance but obviously no touching allowed!) She loved her chicken drumsticks and fish and he loved her roar – to show her dominance – then her purring and beautiful calm countenance as she laid down ‘beside him’. Her keeper was informative, passionate and really friendly – taking great photos and video which we were able to buy later. All proceeds for the tours and extras are all focussed on the conservation work and obviously expensive upkeep of the amazing animals.
I would whole heartedly recommend visiting and supporting the lovely Zoo and people there – and the gorgeous Tigers, Lions, Leopards, not forgetting the lemurs, and other (smaller) but still lovely animals.
Thankyou for an excellent afternoon!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Animal Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I bought my husband an animal experience and it didn't disappoint. The zoo is run by a family who are extremely passionate about their animals and the conservation of animals elsewhere. It is so refreshing to see a zoo investing heavily in their animals and making enclosures like the animals would live in the wild as much as possible. Kim was the person taking my husband for his experience with a tiger but she didn't just take him there and that was it she walked along with us telling us about other animals in the park and about the work they are doing with other countries to save animals from extinction. Kim was very informative and passionate and a joy to listen to. My husband totally loved his tiger experience and a leopard came over for some food as well so to his amazement he got to feed two cats!
I would recommend the animal experiences to all ages they even do children's party experiences for up to 10 children.
This zoo was not overpriced as some reviews have said we have been to zoo's that charge a LOT more for entry, gifts, food and drink than Linton charge!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linton Zoo also viewed

Shepreth, Cambridgeshire
Woodhurst, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Linton Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linton Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.