We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gallows Guest House

Gallows Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gallows Guest House to your Saves list
Gallows Guest House
13 High Street | Huntingdon, Fenstanton PE28 9JQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Fenstanton B&B and Inns
cambridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“ok for a one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were going to a friends party in Fenstanton and this B&B was just up the road. Luckily we could leave our car in their drive as there is no parking with this B&B. The room was ok, a little tired looking. Tv was dated and the controller had tape over the back or the batteries would have fallen out. The bed was sheet and blankets, which I prefer a duvet as you never know what other people have done with the blankets! The bathroom was ok, but only shower gel and bubble bath (no shampoo) which is the first time I have been to a hotel or B&B without any. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was nice, with all you would need. We asked for 9.30 but was told latest was 9.15. Think as it was sunday they could have stretched extra 15mins but it wasnt a problem. This is ok for a one night stay but dont think I would have wanted to stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The house is not staffed so if you were here on your own I wouldn't really like it. The bedspread was dirty but this was changed immediately, breakfast was good although we weren't given a choice they expected you to have the same each day. The house is beautiful and overall if you were traveling with a companion a good choice overall. There's no internet but there is in all the local pubs which are great so didn't find it a problem. Bed was lovely as was the room and bathroom.

Room Tip: go with a friend and be assertive over breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The place is easy to find and although there is not a car park, we parked right outside, in the street. There are three or four pubs in the village, as well as a fish and chip shop, small supermarket, butchers, several hairdressers, a chemist and a bakery. We were telephoned to find out our arrival time, we rang the bell several times and started to telephone them to say we had got there, and we had to wait just a few minutes until someone arrived to let us in. We were asked what time we would like breakfast, and if we wanted a full english. We had a choice of two rooms, on the ground or first floor, we chose the latter. There was a huge king sized bed, a full size bath in the bathroom, and a small dressing room with shelves and hanging rail.
The house is apparently 300 years old, with lots of original features. It is extremely well looked after,with quality furnishings and decoration. Beautiful wooden floorboards throughout. Very warm and comfortable, very clean. Breakfast was in a comfortable dining room, the service was excellent, the food was well presented and well cooked. Altogether, we felt we made an excellent choice for one night's bed and breakfast, at an extremely reasonable price of £59, as many other establishments locally were charging much more than this.

Room Tip: Several rooms face the road but were not noisy. Room 3 had a huge bed and a lovely bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Situate just of the A14 easy to find, and was a welcome sight on a very wet dark Friday evening after travelling a long distance. Nice welcome and the room was very cosy and clean. Jug of fresh milk for tea- great touch wish more places would do this rather than the horrible plastic pots of "milk".
Breakfast cooked to order. very good as well.
All for a very good price.
Recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

dont be put off by the name ! this is a very friendly and quaint guest house in a lovely english village,we were texted earlier in the day to see what time we would be arriving (the owner does not live on premises)we arrived a bit earlier than we anticipated but this was no trouble to a lovely woman called Sarah who meet us ,showed us to our room and informed us to the best pubs in the village!the room was clean,nicely decorated,the bath and shower are probably the best we have had when staying in hotels/b&bs etc,bed was very comfortable,breakfast was excellent,be warned though mobile phone and tv reception is very poor in the area and as it was a sunday there was nowhere to eat locally ,would recommend this place to anyone ,the King William pub is a very good,friendly pub within a couple of mins walk,plenty of parking nearby,one more thing our sat nav took us to a differant part of village,dont know why we imputted the one advertised

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Making a decision between a bed and breakfast and a chain hotel was difficult for me. I have never been sorry to have chosen The Gallows Guest House. It is an excellent choice for a bed and breakfast atmosphere and allowed us to enjoy the immediate villages easily and with great memories to take home to North Carolina. We had a king size bed and a nice bathroom, our elderly father had a great double bed on the first floor. Sarah, the house mgr, was gracious and accommodating. Her English breakfast was great. Just a block down the street is free wi fi and excellent food at the King William. St.Ives, Houghton, Huntingdon, Cambridge, Hemingford Grey, minutes away and more fine dining.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We used this B and B after visiting relatives in St. Neots. Quite handy not too far from their home We arrived late but were welcomed by the owner who was very friendly and helpful. The premises are also handy for pubs and eateries in the village. We had a room at the front overlooking the road which was a bit noisy especially as the catch on the sash windows was broken. Room was well appointed but hair dryer had a broken switch which apparently had been pointed out before. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gallows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Guest House

Address: 13 High Street | Huntingdon, Fenstanton PE28 9JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Fenstanton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fenstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gallows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallows Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.