We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winslow Maze” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bell Hotel to your Saves list
The Bell Hotel
Market Square, Winslow MK18 3AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winslow
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Winslow Maze”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Definitely not a hotel for the puritans! Rooms everywhere and every shape and size - none being in the main building. Restaurant closed most evenings but Tuesday Carvery was excellent. Meals otherwise have to be taken in the bar areas. Breakfast was ample and the scrambled eggs were sublime! Ideal spot to visit Bletchley Park and surrounds. Staff were great and I would recommend it for a couple of nights stay as there is nowhere else in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    22
    17
    8
See reviews for
21
30
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I don't know where some of these reviewers stayed but anyone who is satisfied with the accommodation at The Bell must have had one of the four "special" rooms.

When we arrived, we were shown to an annex building across the street and told to follow the signs to the room. This was a joke! The building was a rabbit warren of dead ends with terrible signage. After 10 minutes we eventually found our room at the top of the building. Access was up many flights of stairs in unlit passages and through un-marked doorways.

When we opened the door, we were aghast at the awful state of the room. The "furniture" was old chipped stuff that looked as though it had been bought in a car boot sale. The carpets were dirty and worn out and the bed just looked like something from a cheap bedsit. The walls were papered in a dingy yellowy pattern with holes drilled for something that had obviously been removed. The bathroom was also extremely tired but above all was the stale, dirty smell.

Talking of smell, the whole hotel was filled with odd smells - as if something worse was trying to be covered up!

We complained to reception who "found" us another room which was much better but still way below an acceptable standard. We had no choice but to accept as we had other commitments and had to go out but dreaded going back. The bed sheets were worn out - they were very "bobbly". The base sheet didn't fit the mattress, the bedstead was old and broken and again, there was a weird smell in the room. My wife thought that it came from the bed! Yuk!

We were told that the hotel was undergoing a refurb but we saw no evidence of anything going on. Strangely, someone on this site wrote a 5 star review in January 2013 saying that new management had brought back to a high standard. That must have been the owner of the writer was in a different hotel.

There were two glimmers of hope. The receptionist was a ray of sunshine and was as helpful as possible. The only other good thing to say about this place was that the toilet paper in the room was excellent.

In short, this hotel is tired and smelly and certainly not worth the money.

Room Tip: pay the £100 and upgrade to one of their 4 luxury rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel usually does a good carvery on Wednesday lunchtime which my friend and I have used in the past
It has been refurbished in the last 6 months but when we turned up today no carvery was available due to low demand. We were advised to book before going in the future and they would organise it for a group of 4..
Bar snacks and meals were available . The fish and chips were very good but pricey at £9

Room Tip: Only went for lunch but plenty of parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenock
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is good value considering what else the area has to offer. The hotel and rooms are very dated but that goes with the character of the hotel and the village in general. The staff are really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I shared a twin room with a friend and both beds had the most awful mattresses ever. They were cheap and so worn that the springs stabbed at every turn. It was so bad that I had to sleep on top of the duvet and my friend had to sleep top to toe in her bed. This was pointed out to a staff member in the morning who said that they would get housekeeping to look at it. We ended up having to have an extra Duvet the second night, one to use as a topper. The pillows were poor quality as was the bed linen.

There was a lot of noise throughout the night, not sure whether it was from traffic which seems unlikely due to it not appearing to be a busy road or from something else. When flushing the toilet there was a lot of noise in the pipes for several minutes.

On the plus side the food we had was good.

Overall, it was a disappointing stay with very little sleep. Had we not had to stay in the area for an event we would have gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed 23-24 Feb. A good standard B+B.Some nice personal touches as you would expect from an independent place.Large mugs black + pink décor which was funky plus room 4 had a nice ensuite in a large room.Very good food.Nice staff.
Few negatives some blown plaster by the window bed / mattress comfy but needs replacing Reposition a plug socket by the desk for the kettle redecorate but I don't want to buy the place as its probably listed.
For £60 + 15 for a huge cooked breakfast good value ideal for an overnighter

Room Tip: 4 has an ensuite faces the car park and is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
374 helpful votes 374 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Travelling back from Aylesbury we decided to try out this establishment for a bar meal. We were not disappointed, food arrived quickly and was all freshly cooked. Nice busy bar generating a good atmosphere, mainly locals enjoying their early Friday night drinks. We enjoyed our stop at The Bell Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: Market Square, Winslow MK18 3AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bell Hotel Winslow, ideally located for anyone seeking an Aylesbury hotel or Milton Keynes hotel. Our hotel lies in the centre of the historical market town of Winslow, enriched with quaint boutique stores and situated in the midst of the Buckinghamshire countryside. All our bedrooms are en-suite, well appointed and comfortable with tastefully colour coordinated fabrics and furnishings. We provide four executive rooms with the luxury of jacuzzi baths and four poster beds, as well as three family rooms and our range of double, twin and single rooms. In late 2012, the hotel was purchased by its previous owners who are once again providing a daily 'hands on management' approach towards the running of the hotel. Very popular with local residents of the town, "Rosies" Bar has now moved to the hotel and their well known management offer a wide range of Beers, Wines and Spirits along with an extensive and appetizing Bar Menu, created by their original chefs. The Bell Hotel is composed of "Rosies" Bar, plus a Carvery Restaurant - serving up to 160 people - a TV lounge, Coffee Lounge and ample free parking for all guests. Free internet access is available in all public areas. We supply meeting and conference facilities as well as catering for a large number of private functions and weddings for which we also hold a civil ceremony license. We look forward to seeing you here at The Bell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.