We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff could be friendlier!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bell Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bell Hotel
Market Square, Winslow MK18 3AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Winslow
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Staff could be friendlier!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Slightly disappointed bar staff quite rude when we arrived one person was positively hostile the receptionist slightly better made no attempt to give any background about the hotel or the area or whether we would have liked an evening meal. Rooms are tired looking shower tray could have done with a good scrub. Bed was comfortable clean bedding always a plus!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    18
    13
    6
See reviews for
17
26
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The night staff were fantastic Don was brilliant when we saw our 1st room and wasn't happy he moved us straight to the honeymoon suite which had a lovely four poster bed and a beautiful jacuzzi bath. the bar staff in the evening were fantastic and so friendly although i'd stay away for the day time receptionist Tara and the barmaid they were rude and miserable as hell and make you wish you'd booked into a different hotel.... apart from Sue who does a lovely breakfast who couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Always friendly place to visit.food plenty on the plate and well presented pub food.
Had Christmas dinner with family 2012- great value for the money and all left pleasently full.Considering returning this year. Going a bit on the pink.
Love the coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting family on a visit from the US. My Dad booked our room for us which was upstairs. I am notoriously fussy about hotel rooms, but was very pleasantly surprised - our room was attractive, spacious, comfortable and clean.
We had our baby with us and the hotel provided a crib for her and the staff fussed over her during our stay - the lady at breakfast offered to boil her bottle each morning at breakfast and one day when she was hungry before the kitchen was open the owner rushed off to make her (a very good) grilled cheese sandwich.
The really pleasant surprise was the food. We were there for the Sunday roast dinner and it was amazing. I over ate the Yorkshire puddings, because they were wonderful. Actually it was all wonderful.
We ate dinner at the Inn every night as our video baby monitor reached to the lounge so we could sit downstairs while the baby slept. It was really excellent pub food and reasonably priced. It was a very nice surprise just how good it was. My husband was obsessed with the mushroom risotto and I loved the fresh fish. It was all absolutely delicious.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay. I was nervous not being involved in picking where we were going to stay, but we really couldn't have been happier with the Bell.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The wife and myself travelled to see see parents and thought we would stay at the Bell Hotel we phoned ahead for a few requests and Poppy on reception looked after us (Thankyou Poppy) we stayed in one of the courtyard rooms it was basic but had everything you needed! If you get the chance and they have the room go for an executive room! Breakfast was buffet style fresh sliced bread,Scrambled Egg,Beans,Grilled Tomato,Mushrooms,Bacon,Sausage also cereal if you want it!There was loads of free parking onsite also quite a few local shops ect we felt that the people that run the place look after their guests and customers very well we will return! Meant to add the coffee machine inside is a fantastic idea. :0)

Room Tip: Go for an executive room if you can get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Bell over the weekend of the MotoGP at Silverstone and it was really busy. Despite this we were given a very warm welcome by staff who maintained their demeanour all weekend despite being rushed off their feet. The bar was particularly busy on the Friday but we had no problems getting served. The bar has a large selection of draught beer and real ales which I can recommend. The hotel itself wouldn't be out of place in a Harry Potter novel, it seems to have been possibly an old coaching inn and doesn't have a straight line in the place. All the rooms I was in have original oak beams which add to the atmosphere. Our bedroom was large enough with comfortable beds but a rather compact bathroom. No worries there, we're not fat. The bar meals were very good and inexpensive but perhaps the breakfast might have been better although I wouldn't consider it bad and, for sure, I never went hungry. As for the Tchibo coffee machine, it's a 2 star hotel not the Ritz, and I would far rather stay at the Bell than the Ritz, value for money and quality of staff make it 4 stars for me.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night before a wedding food was good, the room comfortable the jacuzzi bath was a bonus. The breakfast was ok but could have been better but all in all cant complain and would recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: Market Square, Winslow MK18 3AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bell Hotel Winslow, ideally located for anyone seeking an Aylesbury hotel or Milton Keynes hotel. Our hotel lies in the centre of the historical market town of Winslow, enriched with quaint boutique stores and situated in the midst of the Buckinghamshire countryside. All our bedrooms are en-suite, well appointed and comfortable with tastefully colour coordinated fabrics and furnishings. We provide four executive rooms with the luxury of jacuzzi baths and four poster beds, as well as three family rooms and our range of double, twin and single rooms. In late 2012, the hotel was purchased by its previous owners who are once again providing a daily 'hands on management' approach towards the running of the hotel. Very popular with local residents of the town, "Rosies" Bar has now moved to the hotel and their well known management offer a wide range of Beers, Wines and Spirits along with an extensive and appetizing Bar Menu, created by their original chefs. The Bell Hotel is composed of "Rosies" Bar, plus a Carvery Restaurant - serving up to 160 people - a TV lounge, Coffee Lounge and ample free parking for all guests. Free internet access is available in all public areas. We supply meeting and conference facilities as well as catering for a large number of private functions and weddings for which we also hold a civil ceremony license. We look forward to seeing you here at The Bell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.