We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bell Hotel to your Saves list
The Bell Hotel
Market Square, Winslow MK18 3AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winslow
essex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We are not fussy travellers and don't expect much for an overnighter just clean and comfy but this place delivered on zero. Stinking bathroom, filthy unusable kettle, and to top it all terrible stomach upset from the carvery. Rare lukewarm beef which with benefit of hindsight shouldnt have touched with a barge pole! Coffee in the bar areas served courtesy of a giant Tchibo vending machine - classy! Tables were left dirty and cluttered. Thank goodness never booked for breakfast. Couldn't wait to escape as early as poss in the morning. As if experience cldn't get any worse all the cash points in the surrounding vicinity had run out of cash! Stop was for Grand Prix - a bare tent in a field would have been an improvement!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    22
    17
    8
See reviews for
21
30
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We are a mature couple visiting with our son in a wheelchair.
Booked room 42 which we were advised as suitable!
Opened the door to a dark gloomy experience and room about 10ft * 16ft with 3 beds.The bedding was brown which added to the gloom. (Put light bedding in)
The bathroom was very small and had no access for a handicapped person.
We have traveled far & wide and suggest this room should be priced at £30.
From a positive view, the staff where amongst the best.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost room42
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We are a mature couple, who stayed for ONE night in JUNE 2013..
The Bell is in the centre of Winslow.
It has undergone many extensions in it's lifetime, but this DOES NOT detract from it's charm.
A very large Car Park, and on the main A road to Buckingham.
The rooms were well appointed & comfortable.
A buffet breakfast is available until 9.00 am on weekdays, but don't dally as it is cleared by 9.15 latest!
There is a BAR breakfast served from then.
Staff very helpful. We had a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were given a lovely room with a 4-poster bed (and jacuzzi bath!) looking directly out onto the Market Square of this charming little town. And as our room was directly above Reception, we could also use the free WiFi provided in the public areas. We loved the full English breakfast, and staff at Reception could not have been more helpful in answering any questions we had. The location was perfect for us, and when we had a look round the whole hotel, we thought it would be a fantastic place for a large function, including plenty of parking and various different areas in which guests can congregate. We will definitely stay at the Bell in Winslow again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Arrived here after a night in a horrible hotel in Bournemouth. What a difference. Have stayed here before, but it is under 'new' management now. (I was informed it was a previous owner of some years ago, who has returned to the Hotel).
Wonderful old coaching inn situated in the centre of the village/town. Beautiful bar and lounge and the food was excellent. We asked for the same room as last time, No. 28, which is in an annex. Really big bedroom and a bathroom almost as big. Some traffic noise at rush hour in the morning and evening, but nothing more than you would expect. Staff were all really helpful and always pleasant. Food was great. Plenty of choice on the menu. Our food arrived fairly promtly even though a party of 50 had earlier entered the function room for a meal. Well done to the kitchen staff!

Room Tip: Bare in mind this pub is a few hundred years old, and with that point you have to accept the use of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Entered the hotel to be led through the "Rabbit warren" as described by the desk clerk to my room, a fair hike indeed.room had an en suite shower room but as with all old buildings the floors were going up and down, the decor couldn't have been updated since the 1970's with maroon curtains and valance.The locals seem to be allowed to barge past paying guests trying to order there food in line for the bar, which is a very limited menu with a few specials on the board, I opted for the turkey and ham pie served with chips and peas and I asked for a side order of gravy.When it arrived it was stone cold as was the gravy in the gravy boat, I advised the waiter who returned it to the kitchen.after no more than 3 minutes the same plate of food arrived with the waitress stating mind the plate it's hot now. The answer to cold food seems to be microwave the whole plate thus giving customers soggy chips and solid peas! I don't envision staying here again and advise people to try somewhere else.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Hotel is on a bend in the town centre which is quite busy but the room we had was very quiet. The Hotel is very clean and tidy and it is obvious that quite a lot of refurbishment has been done. The only very slight problem with our room was that the window was permanently locked which could be an issue in summer because there is no air-conditioning. Being an old building the floor boards creak so anyone walking in the rooms above can be heard.
On the up-side the Staff are really friendly and helpful, everywhere is spotless and the breakfast is excellent.Tea and coffee making facilities are provided too.
The Hotel has a bar and the beer is well looked after.
A large car park is on site.
The Hotel overlooks the Market Square and in a lovely little town with some very nice tea-rooms to visit.
We realy liked this Hotel and will use it again the next time we head down towards Aylesbury.

Room Tip: Request a room not overlooking the front of the Hotel, it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: Market Square, Winslow MK18 3AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bell Hotel Winslow, ideally located for anyone seeking an Aylesbury hotel or Milton Keynes hotel. Our hotel lies in the centre of the historical market town of Winslow, enriched with quaint boutique stores and situated in the midst of the Buckinghamshire countryside. All our bedrooms are en-suite, well appointed and comfortable with tastefully colour coordinated fabrics and furnishings. We provide four executive rooms with the luxury of jacuzzi baths and four poster beds, as well as three family rooms and our range of double, twin and single rooms. In late 2012, the hotel was purchased by its previous owners who are once again providing a daily 'hands on management' approach towards the running of the hotel. Very popular with local residents of the town, "Rosies" Bar has now moved to the hotel and their well known management offer a wide range of Beers, Wines and Spirits along with an extensive and appetizing Bar Menu, created by their original chefs. The Bell Hotel is composed of "Rosies" Bar, plus a Carvery Restaurant - serving up to 160 people - a TV lounge, Coffee Lounge and ample free parking for all guests. Free internet access is available in all public areas. We supply meeting and conference facilities as well as catering for a large number of private functions and weddings for which we also hold a civil ceremony license. We look forward to seeing you here at The Bell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.