We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chosen for convenience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bell Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bell Hotel
Market Square, Winslow MK18 3AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Winslow
Skegness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“chosen for convenience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Bell as we were attending the christening of our grand daughter and it was convenient. Staff generally friendly and helpful. Room reasonably comfortable but the hotel badly in need of a good cleaner, We found an accumulation of dirt behind the bathroom door, the plug holes of wash basin bath and toilet were badly stained. We complained to reception but nothing was done. We purchased a bottle of bleach and cleaned the stained areas ourselves but we did not have a vacuum cleaner or dust pan and brush so the accumulation of dirt remained. Carpet in the dining room badly in need of a clean. A lovely old building and could be a first class hotel in a wonderful village but being badly let down by housekeeping. This is the first time we have reviewed a hotel but felt moved to do so this time as the management are being let down by staff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    18
    13
    6
See reviews for
17
26
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I eat there regularly with several organisations that use the Bell for meals after meetings. The carvery is excellent but the a la carte not so much. Main problem is getting a drink at the bar on busy nights, need more bar staff. Overall the meal is good value and the wine drinkable. Cannot comment on the hotel as only eaten at the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip M, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments, the Hotel has been purchased by ourselves at the end of 2012, we are currently working hard to improve all areas of the Hotel, including updating rooms, facilities and service, food and beverage via new and well known local chefs, a new booking system enables you to view and book rooms online from our new website.

We hope that you will choose to stay here in the future and that you will appreciate the improvements that we have now made to all areas of the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stopped for lunch on 21st July after a tiring 2 hour car journey we just wanted good food and to relax for a while before a large family gathering that evening. We walked into the bar to be met by a delightful smiling young barman who took our drink and food order with enthusiasm (so lacking in some young staff ) We sat comfortably waiting and were served our food by the same young man. My husband had steak and ale pie and I had scampi both excellent. We were booked into another large hotel nearby for the night but on reflection wish we could have stayed here and will do next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed for two three-night stays. The rooms are ageing, the building's old, and it's all "full of character"...which I need to expand upon.
The rooms are old, tired, grubby. I stayed in 25 and 27. 25 was better, but had sloping floors, a wardrobe which redefined perpendicular (you gotta see it) and basement feel. TV. Ensuite. Both fine. 27 had no wardrobe, a mark on the carpet where some had dropped a hot iron, and bath and TV. If you're into cleanliness you'll be worried; in room 27 the light fittings are cobweb-covered, and the approach to both rooms features corridors and carpets that are ancient, filthy. There are some nicer areas, perhaps. But I wasn't accommodated in them.
The good news; I slept like a log in both rooms. Take shower gel and soap - there were dispensers in both rooms but 3 out of 4 were empty. TVs worked. Showers were hot and bathrooms were OK - not spotless, but not truly awful. OK. Breakfast is very good (see Fawlty Towers memories) and the meals are OK, while the beer options look very good. Staff are friendly, generally.
Fawlty Towers? Well after quite a few OKs there are some truly odd moments. One morning the breakfast chef disappeared. OK for hot meals, but forget about coffee or tea for half an hour. Eventually someone searched the kitchens. A week later the chef was late (which didn't seem to inhibit proceedings). I ordered a chicken and bacon salad one evening, and it was very good, but completely devoid of bacon. And that's the feel of the place. Things can work well. Or not.

Why not an average mark? Because my stay wasn't pleasant but it was OK. Would I go back? No, not if I was paying or if someone else was but I could influence the choice. This is not what the accommodation should aspire to. A lick of paint, some cleaning, some housekeeping, and it would be really acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip M, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments, the Hotel has been purchased by ourselves at the end of 2012, we are currently working hard to improve all areas of the Hotel, including updating rooms, facilities and service, food and beverage via new and well known local chefs, a new booking system enables you to view and book rooms online from our new website.

We hope that you will choose to stay here in the future and that you will appreciate the improvements that we have now made to all areas of the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winslow hotels

england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is definately not worth the money that you pay after being moved from 2 other rooms as the shower didnt work was but into one of the exec rooms, on first look this room looked great. But when you look closely it was dirty there were hairs over bathroom floor and dust inbetween the bed and beside cabinets.
also if you do stay ask for a rom at the back as it is so noisy from the pub across the road one night there was a big fight and the police were called and according to locals this is not a one off it happens all the time.
Breakfast was very hit and miss.
All in all i would never go there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip M, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments, the Hotel has been purchased by ourselves at the end of 2012, we are currently working hard to improve all areas of the Hotel, including updating rooms, facilities and service, food and beverage via new and well known local chefs, a new booking system enables you to view and book rooms online from our new website.

We hope that you will choose to stay here in the future and that you will appreciate the improvements that we have now made to all areas of the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Second visit , this time small room window stuck , tv not working , also had to get someone to sort electric out. Overpriced for quality of room.

Room Tip: Court yard rooms better .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for two nights over the Easter weekend.

First great point on the hotel we got a room upgrade to one of the exec suites and it was a marvellous room! Stunning furnishes and a brilliant bathroom. Was positioned above the bar area which was noisy into the small hours on the first night, though we joined in on the second night!

Second good thing, lots of car parking for a hotel that's central to the town.


We took the breakfast option and that was great, the option of help your self to continental, or full English or both was great! Toast a plenty all washed down with juice or free flowing tea or coffee! Set you up perfect to the point we didn't eat till dinner!

The service was equally up there, so polite it was a credit to the hotel!

This truly is a belting hotel!!

Oh yes and if you stay out late you have a key to the front door as well as your room - so don't believe everything you read in the other reviews!

Would visit the area again and stay at the hotel without hesitation!! Tremendous!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: Market Square, Winslow MK18 3AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bell Hotel Winslow, ideally located for anyone seeking an Aylesbury hotel or Milton Keynes hotel. Our hotel lies in the centre of the historical market town of Winslow, enriched with quaint boutique stores and situated in the midst of the Buckinghamshire countryside. All our bedrooms are en-suite, well appointed and comfortable with tastefully colour coordinated fabrics and furnishings. We provide four executive rooms with the luxury of jacuzzi baths and four poster beds, as well as three family rooms and our range of double, twin and single rooms. In late 2012, the hotel was purchased by its previous owners who are once again providing a daily 'hands on management' approach towards the running of the hotel. Very popular with local residents of the town, "Rosies" Bar has now moved to the hotel and their well known management offer a wide range of Beers, Wines and Spirits along with an extensive and appetizing Bar Menu, created by their original chefs. The Bell Hotel is composed of "Rosies" Bar, plus a Carvery Restaurant - serving up to 160 people - a TV lounge, Coffee Lounge and ample free parking for all guests. Free internet access is available in all public areas. We supply meeting and conference facilities as well as catering for a large number of private functions and weddings for which we also hold a civil ceremony license. We look forward to seeing you here at The Bell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.