We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Arrows Hotel

Save Saved
You added Five Arrows Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Five Arrows Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Waddesdon, Aylesbury HP18 0JE , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Waddesdon
Guildford, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a quiet comfortable room with an excellent dinner and breakfast. We got a 10% discount as we were National Trust members. We went on to visit both Oxford and Waddesden Manor which were both magnificent. Book your time at the Manor as entrance to the house is by timed visits only.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main road. The rooms in the outbuildings are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear peter321,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely positive review. It is very much appreciated.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    66
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
130
Solo
0
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We only found Five Arrows through using Google and had no idea what to expect. Everything was amazing! The staff were friendly and courteous, the room was very comfortable and the meal, which was part of a Friday Night Special, was out of this world. The location of Five Arrows is extremely convenient and, combined with a visit to Waddesdon Manor, made for a wonderful night away. Thanks to all the staff, who, even though a wedding party was due that afternoon, never made us feel either rushed or in the way. There was a distinct atmosphere of calm!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Teresa C,

Thank you ever so much for leaving these kind words, they were really very pleasing to read. I’ll let the kitchen know how much you enjoyed the food and have passed on your notes of commendation to the front of house team. they are thrilled!!

Thanks again and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here after a day at Waddesdon Manor, which is well worth a visit.
The staff were so friendly, the food excellent, comfy four poster bed and delicious breakfast.
We would definitely recommend and will be returning.

Room Tip: We had room 4 on the front with a balcony, a little traffic noise, but wouldn't let that put you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Lynn B,

Thank you ever so much for your kind words. Its so great to hear The Five Arrows being enjoyed so enthusiastically on all aspects.

Kindest Regards
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked in to the Five Arrows as the last night of our five week holiday before returning to Australia. Tripadvisor had some good comments about the hotel, and they were all well deserved. First of all parking is easy and close to the hotel. The establishment is well run and the staff, although quite young, have been well trained and are keen to give good service. Despite there being a small party of locals in the dinning area we were well looked after. During breakfast a young staff member noticed I had yesterdays paper and fetched a new one without a word. The facilities are delightful. We had a room in the back (old stables) which consisted of a four poster bed, separate lounge area and large en suite bathroom. The only criticism is how noisy the exhaust fan was. Otherwise the perfect stay. A fitting end to our holiday.

Room Tip: We followed previous advice and requested a room at the rear of the property. It was very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear DMCC3,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an upbeat review. It’s extremely gratifying to hear how much you enjoyed your experiance at The Five Arrows.

Comments like yours are the most pleasing and going that extra step to make our guests happy.

Thank you for visiting The Five Arrows and thank you once again for your kind words.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were on a road trip through the Cottswalds and decided to stay over night so we booked this hotel. We were given a single for me and a double for my sons. I was given Room 7, two flights up, no elevator so be fit!!! The Room was VERY small with one small window and a very hard mattress. I needed to keep the window open to get some air at night.... the room was very warm despite it being late September... No air conditioning, but they provided a noisy little fan ( which was hopeless to use). My sons had a double room ( #8) which was very nice... airy and a great bed... they slept well, I DIDN'T!!! So if you book this hotel... be sure NOT to get room #7!!

Having said that, the manager did say that if she had another room she would have moved me.. they were sold out.
Despite the room, the food was fabulous. I had the lamb and my son had the duck..... Exquisitely done and presented..... The breakfast was the usual English breakfast but your could order Eggs Benedict, which were perfection..... The staff were lovely and very hospitable... however, when you can't sleep and you are travelling, it negatively impacts your impressions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the main road and stay away from Room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear shopper_10,


Thank you for your mostly upbeat comments. It is always pleasing to hear people enjoying our food and service here at The Five Arrows. I have however taken your comments on board with regards to your room.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We live locally but fancied a night out
Great food - superb hotel with some quirky rooms
No bar - table service only
Great service
You do need to book in advance - it took us several attempts to get here last minute!
We will be back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Paddythediver,

Many thanks for leaving these notes on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed being at The Five Arrows.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as part of a short break to Oxford. Great hotel, service was excellent. The staff were all very friendly and could not do enough to help. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sam M

It’s lovely to hear you had such an enjoyable time at The Five Arrows and thank you too for saying you’d happily recommend us.

Kindest Regards
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Five Arrows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Arrows Hotel

Address: High Street, Waddesdon, Aylesbury HP18 0JE , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury > Waddesdon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Waddesdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Arrows Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Arrows Hotel and Restaurant stands at the gates of Waddesdon Manor offering 16 bedrooms of character and charm. The Restaurant has a varied and exciting menu to suit all tastes, and a wine list that encompasses everyday and rare wines from both New and Old World vineyards. Whether you merely pop in for coffee or tea, or come to dine and stay the night, we aim to make you comfortable and very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Five Arrows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Waddesdon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Arrows Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.