We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taplow House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Taplow House Hotel to your Saves list
Taplow House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Upon our arrival the hotel receptionist was professional and courteous. We stayed in the Cedar room which was clean and comfortable though the bathroom is a bit of an obstacle course when getting in and out of the shower due to where the WC is placed.

Breakfast time was a little disorganised though this may be to a lot of guests arriving at once however the staff were helpful and the quality of the breakfast excellent.

Overall this is a very nice hotel and I would recommend to friends

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    67
    35
    24
    15
See reviews for
55
136
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
bucks
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We held our wedding at Taplow on 27th April 2013 and had the most fantastic experience as did all our guests. We reserved the venue nearly two years before and our International guests filled up the hotel straight away.

The service and food were exceptional and we would particularly like to thank Gabrielle (our wedding co-ordinator), Naza who managed the hotel and Brent for ensuring that our guests who included babies had the correct room size and travel cots.

The beds were exceptionally comfortable and the Hampton Suite was large enough for my bridal party to dress before leaving for the church. The rooms were made up whilst we were at the service and were left spotlessly clean.

There is a super ground floor room with a wet room which is excellent if you have guests with limited mobility.

The bridal suite was exceptionally large with two bathrooms but personally I would have preferred to stay in the Hampton Suite as it has more character and I struggled to climb the stairs in my wedding dress.

We would highly recommend this venue to anyone considering it, thank you again Taplow House Hotel.

Room Tip: The stairs are very narrow at the top of the house, our favourite is the Hampton suite overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

After attending a Beautiful Wedding Reception of lovely friends I felt I should comment on the High Standards of this Lovely Hotel, its wonderful staff, excellent food, wine and atmosphere were all excellent.
On arrival the welcome was lovely , we were greeted by staff were very friendly, attentive,and the service was excellent especially Senol who was coping with a very busy evening in the Bar serving all the Wedding Guests.
This was my first visit to this Hotel and as we did not stay overningt I will definately like to return for an overnight stay to sample some more of the Hospitality, Food, Wine, and to enjoy the beautiful setting this Hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have just returned from a few days at Taplow House Hotel. What made it so special was the staff - the Manager was such a gentleman and attentive, the Restaurant Manager and everybody in there were pleasant, courteous and welcoming and as we were leaving a lovely young lady who was cleaning the bedrooms helped us down the stairs with our luggage. It was so kind of her as we were both struggling a little. The grounds of the hotel are spectacular. We would have given our stay 5 stars but were slightly disappointed that the menu for dinner on the second night was the same as the first night, although the food itself was extremely good.
We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

From the moment that our request to have our wedding at Taplow House was accepted we have felt that we had chosen the best wedding venue possible and we were definitely not disappointed in anything from the moment we arrived on Thursday 27th till we left on Friday the 28th March 2013.

Our wedding was even better than we had hoped it would be!!! Everything was perfect, from the way the room was decorated, the delicious food, drinks and the atmosphere was amazing and this was all made perfect by the hard work from the Taplow House Staff who excelled in everything.

We truly appreciate all the hard work from everybody at Taplow House who put so much effort in making our wedding reception a truly exceptional celebration for us and our guests!

The decor of the hotel is absolutely unique and we were able to get some fantastic photographs. The whole hotel is geared up to have beautiful weddings.

Our room on the Wednesday was huge and I had loads of room to get ready for the wedding along with my 2 daughters and 3 granddaughters. The views out of the windsows over the grounds were exceptional .

We had the honeymoon suite on the Thursday and this suite was huge with a separate lounge and 2 tellys!!!

We are now looking to return for our anniversary

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed on Saturday night and after changing rooms twice we were setlled in to Tudor which is a beautiful, large and spacious room overlooking the front lawns. The hotel is impressive on arrival. The decor is period as is fitting with the hotel. The staff are just fantastic and I have high standards when it comes to customer service. They went out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable.

The grounds are very well maintained with a croquet lawn and there is also an underground bar as well as the bar in the main hotel. We only ate breakfast but what a lovely breakfast it was and again, the staff were first class, so attentive.

I would have no hessitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and we will be returning in the very near future.

Love this hotel and sure you will too.

Room Tip: If there is a wedding on select a room that is not over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here the first 2 nights of our honeymoon and it was FANTASTIC. Quiet, peaceful and almost regal. Very classy hotel with history under every footstep. The Orkney Suite was outstanding and bigger than our own ground floor at home. We will be back here for our anniversary!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Orkney Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taplow House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taplow House Hotel

Address: Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplow House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Georgian retreat situated on the border between Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. Taplow House Hotel is a peaceful haven only 15 minutes from London Heathrow Airport and 10 minutes from historic Windsor. Set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and boasting Europe's largest tulip trees Taplow House Hotel is the perfect setting for a meeting, private event, wedding or relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Taplow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taplow House Hotel UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taplow House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.