We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taplow House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Taplow House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taplow House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Taplow
London
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I always prefer to stay in less commercial and chain style hotels, which is why I picked Taplow House, and it didn't disappoint.

An old manor house delivers what you would expect - lovely details and features, character, quirks and a good attention to detail too. The bedrooms are not huge, but adequate - containing quality furniture, lovely linens, a comfortable bed, and a bathroom stocked with White Company products. Another nice touch is two bottles of complimentary water in glass (not plastic) bottles.

Take yourself to the ground floor bar and you will be very comfortable in the large chairs and sofas, or head outside to sit on the patio or in the garden. You'll be served well and given complimentary olives and nibbles too - all of these touches makes for great value for money.

Breakfast is very good too, with a choice that you would hope for - from fruits to breads to full English.

If you are visiting the local area, then I would thoroughly recommend this place.

Room Tip: At the front of the hotel overlooking the trees and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    49
    22
    21
    12
See reviews for
39
106
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had our wedding at Taplow House Hotel last month and it was the most amazing day in every way. We chose the Exclusively Yours package and it was like having our own private, beautiful venue for 24 hours - we allocated the bedrooms ourselves to our guests, personalised it all as we wanted and were made to feel really special. Nothing was too much for the staff and they accommodated everything we asked for, with smiles!

Our lovely wedding co-ordinator Gabrielle and her team were fantastic from the first time we met, always calm, informative, helpful and genuinely wanting our day to be perfect in every way. Our planning was supported right up to and throughout the day so we never had to worry or double check anything - it was lovely being able to rely on their expertise and experience.

On the day, it all went so smoothly and our guests were impressed with everything from the rooms, service, location, gardens and food, right through to the way that the staff were still being friendly and accommodating even though the majority of us decided to stay up until the early hours!

I could really go on and on about how wonderful the whole experience was but I think you get the drift! If you are thinking of holding any event here or just looking for somewhere lovely to stay, I would thoroughly recommend it. We now have fantastic memories and beautiful photos to remind us. We have already booked a room there to celebrate our first anniversary next year!

Room Tip: We loved the Hampton Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Almost got a 5 star from me but instead its four (VERY GOOD) What a great looking hotel (inside and out) Grounds well maintained.

Rooms a little bit small but only stayed one night so not critical. Would become an issue if i had to stay longer.

Entry to the hotel and check-in is a bit strange. Its round the back of the hotel. My guess is that they have sold some of the land at the front and so the new way in is round by the back door. Not an elegant way to arrive. And check in is just a desk shoved into a corner. Not really a problem just an observation.

Lots of stairs to this place, no lifts so if you need access its an old house so be prepared to climb up and down stairs to rooms.

Stayed in the Wellington room which as already mentioned is small. Comfy bed and good nights sleep. Bathroom nice and clean in old style decor. Air conditioning welcome addition as its very hot outside. Had it on all night punching for 18 degrees to keep room cool.

Wedding was superb they did a great job. Beers about £5 per pint.

In the morning my newspaper was not delivered to room (a niggle) but taken off bill.

Breakfast: Heated self service which was OK but not stand-out. But did the job. Only niggle is that at 9am the food looked like it had been on the burners a bit too long.

Overall a good one night stay for a wedding and we got everything we wanted but there were things that could be done just a little bit better so this time its not 5star but a 4star.

Room Tip: There ARE big rooms (Honeymoon suite) and I was in the best mans room which was huge but ours was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

After reading the reviews I was a little anxious when I booked this for my husband and I to attend the rowing at Eton on the 28th July. As the previous comments from the gentleman who stayed with his girlfriend the service was faultless. I called to confirm my booking the week before and when I advised we were not part of the wedding party that was being held on the 27th the receptionist advised me not to worry. On a arrival the staff were friendly and we were allocated room 20 . The room was spacious and contained all that was required. Once we shut the door the music could no longer be heard from the wedding reception.

We advised we would be leaving before breakfast was served at 8am the following morning this was not a problem. We were advised to fill in the details for room service and it would be delivered at 7.30 as we requested. True to their word breakfast arrived just before 7.30 beautifully presented.

Things continued to get better on leaving to attend the rowing a map was given to us showing a 40 min walk to Eton Dorney along the cycle path which was easy to navigate and most enjoyable. We were even told to leave are car in the car park and collect it on our return, and with no extra charge.

My only complaint is the acoustic to our neighbouring room who were rather noisy when they came to bed as it felt as if they were actually in our room. This was a little bit of a shock at midnight after being blissfully asleep.

Saying that it didn't spoil our stay, I would certainly recommend this elegant house and wish we could also have stayed another night.

Room Tip: If staying while wedding on ask for room furthest from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I've just returned from a top notch stay at the Taplow House Hotel. My girlfriend and I were looking for a base for the Olympic rowing and resented the excessive prices being charged by budget hotels in the area, so decided to pay a little extra for a bit of comfort. Having noticed that the restaurant had two AA rosettes we decided to opt for the dinner bed and breakfast option. All aspects of the stay were great. The food was superb, the hotel staff (particularly our waiter at dinner) were super polite and attentive, and the room was immense - it was large with a super comfy bed, flat screen tv, air conditioning, fantastic views of the grounds and was really tastefully decorated (The Windsor Suite). I've come home wishing I could have had at least a few more nights there.

Any bad reviews on this place beggar belief. These people must have been seriously unlucky with their timing or room allocation, as I couldn't have wished for a nicer place to stay.

Room Tip: The Windsor suite (room 200 I believe) was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Set in lovely ground well kept up, this elegant house of some age is ideal for a couple looking for an lost-worldy reception and/or civil wedding. Food at the breakfast was simple and well cooked and the chocolate brownie was superb. Service was quietly efficient. With a look if you are seeking a place!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We've just returned from a visit to the Taplow House Hotel and I was truly impressed with the level of service we received. Booked in for a family trip to the area for a birthday we stayed on the same night as a wedding. Rather than being made to feel unwelcome or secondary to the events the staff couldn't have made more of an effort for us. We asked if we could have some cake in on arrival the afternoon, unfortunately they had run out so they gave all seven of us cream teas for free. The evening meal was a delicious three course affair and all included in the room rate as was the generous breakfast. The hotel is a 3 minute drive to Cliveden house and 15 mins to Windsor Castle. The room was a little on the small side but clean and comfortable. Definitely worth staying if you're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taplow House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taplow House Hotel

Address: Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Taplow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplow House Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Georgian retreat situated on the border between Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. Taplow House Hotel is a peaceful haven only 15 minutes from London Heathrow Airport and 10 minutes from historic Windsor. Set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and boasting Europe's largest tulip trees Taplow House Hotel is the perfect setting for a meeting, private event, wedding or relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Taplow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taplow House Hotel UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taplow House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.