We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dog-friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliveden House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cliveden House to your Saves list
Cliveden House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taplow SL6 0JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very dog-friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here in the spring of 2012 with our large dog; booked directly by phone at the very last minute (three hours before arriving); arrived by car; stayed one night (enjoyed dinner and breakfast).

PLEASE NOTE:
the reason for this review appearing with such delay is that we have only now (May 2013) been able to finally fight our laziness in reviewing the more than 60 hotels and B&Bs we stayed at in 2012 and, so far, in 2013.
As everyday (!) users of this site, we feel we must make the effort of contributing - we also think that there aren't enough real reviews by real people (even on this site).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for including us in your round up of hotel reviews. So pleased you made mention of us being dog friendly, we certainly are. I know how loved dogs are by their owners and it is always a treat to be able to bring them along with you. The 376 acres of Cliveden Estate gives them more than enough space to explore and ware out their owners!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    80
    41
    18
    11
See reviews for
84
273
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My partner and I, together with my twin brother and his wife, enjoyed a memorable couple of days at Cliveden as part of our extended 50th birthday celebrations.The hotel's architecture is wonderful and the grounds were spectacular. We booked the only two rooms with the modernised bathrooms - which were splendidly furnished (the Leoni and Wilde rooms); although the room lighting was a little over subtle, and would have been difficult to read by. The staff were very friendly, but some were not quite as efficient as you would expect from a hotel of this standing. We took a private boat trip on the Suzy Anne, and enjoyed afternoon tea and champagne on the short afternoon cruise - another lovely memory. My brother and I enjoyed a few frames of snooker, but the table is in need of repair. Food wise - I had read a few other reviews and was a bit concerned about what we might find; but I needn't have worrried - we ate in the Coach House the first night (which was fine, but very quiet the night we were there) and the following evening we enjoyed a lovely dinner in the main dining room. Relaxing by the pool on a sunny afternoon was super, although some of the guests in the hot tub were rather loud! One slight disappointment was that, despite the hotel knowing it was our 50th birthday's, there was no card in our room, or other small gesture to mark the event. Overall, the wonderful property and grounds ensured an excellent rating, although aspects of the hotel could be improved.

Room Tip: If you like a lovely modern bathroom, there are only two rooms to choose from - Leoni and Wilde
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
So pleased to read that Cliveden and the team helped create so happy memories of times shared with members of your family. I was also happy to hear that you played the snooker table and indeed that you found it, as it is tucked away in a quiet corner of the hotel. That we are not quite perfect rings true but thank you for your very balanced review and we promise to keep working on the imperfections.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We decided to stay here on a whim after joining friends who live in the area for afternoon tea and, in sum, we want to move in forever.

We stayed in the Vanderbilt Suite, which was stunning. Every single detail was perfect - the bedding is sublime, the bathroom and its amenities very comfortable, and the suites areas are beautifully appointed. The club is a spectacular place for dinner - they've cleverly, thoughtfully, and beautifully converted the stables into a pub; the dining room is nothing short of regal. We hiked the extensive grounds over three days, finding many breathtaking vistas and charming corners. The spa is first rate - the indoor pool is comfortable and inviting, and even when it was near freezing outside, a nighttime or early-morning swim in the heated outdoor pool, steam rising from the water, is invigorating yet romantic. The concierge is also very helpful and attentive at arranging reservations at restaurants in the area (Bray, Maidenhead, etc.). The grand piano is very nicely placed below Singer Sargent's portrait of Lady Astor, though could use some tuning and regulation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
I am delighted that Cliveden worked its magic on you and that you had a chance to explore all elements of the house and gardens. That you touched on the misty morning swim is charming, I think that is one of the very unique experiences at Cliveden and I pleased you ventured out in the cold to swim in the steamy morning mist.
Thank you for making mention of the piano playing, John our resident pianist has played at the house for 20 years and is very much one of the elements that guests return for time and again.
I have made a note that you think the piano is in need of a tune and will get that done asap.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We didn't actually stay in the hotel, but we had afternoon tea and used the spa. Afternoon tea was lovely, but the best part of the day was the spa with a beautiful outdoor hot tub, the massage was good and it was great to utilise the other spa facilities such Jacuzzi and sauna

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed the Walled Garden Spa at Cliveden and that the afternoon tea was worth a special mention. I was hoping we could tempt you to return to stay one day but I note you are local so it would be hard to justify a stay, but I very much hope you return one day for more tea & pampering. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The house is very historic and grand, the rooms were spacious and beautifully maintained and preserved, the service was excellent , staff was very friendly and gracious. The highlight, by far, is the grounds and property around the house. I spent hours just walking the gardens, strolling through the fields and exploring the trails. Staying here is magical, makes you feel like royalty, as another reviewer said.
The food was very good, but for the price I expected it to be a bit better. We actually enjoyed our more casual dinner at the converted stables more than the formal dining room
4 stars instead of 5 because it was very expensive and the value proposition not quite up to a full 5 stars. No air-conditioning in the rooms and it got pretty warm at night. We booked the 1 hour boat cruise and it was crazy expensive for what is was, over $70 a person for little finger sandwiches, fruit, tea and cookies.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and subsequent review. We are so pleased you experienced the magic of Cliveden House and your kind comments are much appreciated by us all.
Just taking your point about Air Conditioning, we are very aware how important this is especially for our visitors from the US. We have only been able to install Air conditioning units in a couple of our less historic rooms, beyond this it is our of our hands as the we are Grade 1 listed and a Heritage site so we are greatly restricted as to what we can install into this wonderful old house.
We very much hope it would not deter you from returning one day. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yendesk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I booked the spa, dinner, bed and breakfast package as a treat for my wife's birthday. It was certainly expensive, but we had been once before (many years ago) and hadn't had the chance to enjoy the grounds so thought we would go again.
My one complaint about our previous visit was that the standard room we stayed in was a bit out of the way - up and down corridors in one of the wings, and I didn't feel the full benefit of staying in Cliveden House. When I made this booking I paid that bit extra to make sure I stayed in the main house, and it was well worth it. In fact, as returning guests we were even upgraded to the Henry James room, which was absolutely beautiful - large, luxurious, light and airy, with separate dressing area and a stunning view of the parterre.
The spa feels like an add-on to the country house hotel. Perfectly adequate, and it is nice to sit around the "Profumo pool", but I have been to better.
Dinner and breakfast in the terrace restaurant were both excellent, with attentive service and in a setting which was opulent while still retaining some informality.
For me, the appeal of this place is its grandeur and history. The long gravel drive, the perfectly manicured formal gardens, the symmetry of the building, the antiques and oil paintings all around the house, the attentive (but not overbearing) staff for whom nothing seems like any trouble ...they just speak of a country house hotel that is a one-off and that really values its guests.
If the "spa" bit of a spa break is the one overriding factor in your choice of hotel, then maybe a specialist health spa is more for you; but if your trip is essentially a romantic getaway from the children, then Cliveden can't be beaten. I certainly intend to go again.

Room Tip: Although it costs more, you will really feel the benefit of a room in the main part of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
As a point of interest did you know that Cliveden House was originally built for love. This is well documented as the Duke of Buckingham built it for his lady love, the Countess of Shrewsbury. So it is with pleasure that I read you review and that you highlighted the fact that you feel we are a romantic destination, we agree. Thank you for your balance of comments and we agree that it would be nice to see a slightly larger and more up to date Spa here. It might take a while due to our Heritage listing and the NT considerations but we hope to be able to offer just that in the future.
See you soon we hope. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Me and my partner were visiting the Cliveden as a birthday treat for me. The entrance was grand and spectacular, we parked right outside the place. Really breathtaking on arrival. We arrived at midday expecting to walk around the grounds and leave our cases in the car but were greeted at the entrance by a welcoming employee who helped us in with our bags and said he would check if our room was ready. The room was ready early so we were invited to book in where we were informed we'd been upgrade to the Stanford suite! So from the beginning we were impressed and delighted and it only got better! The customer service was second to none we have ever experienced. Our suite was unbelievable, a real treat. The lounge was spacious with everything you would need with a sofa and smart tv and radio. We had a bathroom and an extra toilet. The bathtub was really deep and spacious, the whole suite was grand. Our bags were brought up right away, when shown to our room we were told about the history of Cliveden. Everything was superb. We then asked about the spa at reception and were taken there and showed around by another employee who was pleasant.

We had afternoon tea at Cliveden and it was out of this world. We sat in the lobby at tables, which sounds nothing special but you need to see the lobby! Amazing. Really lovely setting for our tea. The tea was delicious, the Cliveden blend and were tea leaves with pretty strainers. The cake stand was beautiful when brought out, really impressive. The individual quiches were still warm and delicious, the scones still warm also. The sandwiches were very tasty indeed. The cakes were really lovely too, presentation was outstanding and the taste even better! And we thought it was good value for money, because it was a very high standard of dining.

The spa was phenomenal! Views of the clock tower while in the outside hot tub was the highlight. Also the changing rooms are extremely well equipped with almost every item you could imagine needing! Curling tongs, straighteners, hair dryer, hair brush, hair spray, hair mousse, face cleanser, toner... the list goes on. Little touches go a long way, and i was really impressed. The outside pool and hot tubs were my favourite facilities, you just couldn't beat the view.

The gardens were beautiful, some lovely views and a good number of trails to follow. The grounds are a fitting setting for such a grand place.

We ordered room service pretty last minute, at 10.15 when it ended at 10.30. We ordered the steak and the burger and some drinks. The gentleman on the phone was very polite and said it will be 20 minutes. It came up right on time, the man who brought it up was friendly and set up our food and drinks on our table with condiments ready without us requesting. The food was brilliant, the steak cooked perfectly and the burger was lovely. A perfect end to a perfect day! And once we were finished we phoned down and the plates were cleared very quickly indeed.

From start to finish the Clivedon delivered a high quality service with very helpful staff, and we can honestly say it was one of our best experiences yet.

Thank you very much to everyone at the Cliveden, we will definitely be returning like most of the guests who visit! From Oliver and Sophie

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are so mindful that the moment folks turn onto the drive and the house comes into view for the first time that our guests expectations of us get greater and greater as they approach. So it was a great pleasure to read your review and to learn that all your expectations were met and that you very much enjoyed your visit, I do hope it is an experience you will repeat before too long. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliveden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliveden House

Address: Taplow SL6 0JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliveden House 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliveden is unique. One of the world's finest luxury hotels, this grand stately home is set in the heart of the Berkshire countryside, surrounded by 376 acres of magnificent formal gardens and parkland and with wonderful panoramic views over the River Thames. It is one of the finest luxury hotels near London and Heathrow Airport. Guests have included every British monarch since George I as well as Charlie Chaplin, Winston Churchill, Harold Macmillan, President Roosevelt, George Bernard Shaw, John Profumo and Christine Keeler, and many other well-known names from the past and present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cliveden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliveden House Hotel Taplow
Cliveden House Taplow, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliveden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.