We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who is the chef? You should be awarded!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoke Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stoke Place to your Saves list
Stoke Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Who is the chef? You should be awarded!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This is simple - go for the food. It's by far Michelin quality and deserve a star! The chef deserves praise. Fantastic! We will definitely return to see you in action for one of the cookery demonstrations and champagne dinners. Thank you. Ps our waitress (dark haired maybe polish young girl) was brilliant. Incredible menu knowledge. Again thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    115
    67
    42
    16
See reviews for
47
206
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a family party here at the weekend and having paid a fair whack to hire their venue(which is the same room used for weddings, events etc) you would presume within the price you have paid you have covered the cost of the venue hire, the food, the temporary bar they erect in the room and the staff.... WRONG!!!
Added on to each drink purchased...already at extortionate prices, £8.50 for a vodka and tonic was 12%, which when questioned I was told was for the Service provided by my colleague (Jacob told me this and was referring to the guy behind our bar) there was often a long wait for a drink as most of the night there was only the one person behind the bar and we were not allowed to use the other hotel bar.
I would also like to point out that this vodka and tonic was at the beginning of the night a grey goose at £5.00 and bottle of tonic at £2.60, then the 12% added on, however later on the grey goose was substituted for Absolute vodka, however was still charged at exactly the same price.
It was also interesting that considering they were charging 12% service, they were asking a lot of the guests to provide them with change for their till !!! There was also no continuity with the way things were handled at this bar.
The toilet facilities were also poor, they were shared with the restaurants and the toilet roll ran out and was not replaced the hand paper towel bin was overflowing from early on, infact they were not checked or replenished by staff at any point in the evening.
I was also informed that although smokers had been told they could go outside to smoke, no facilities were put in place to dispose of cigarettes or cigars and therefore the only choice was to leave them in a plant pot or on the floor.
I personally would never visit this place again and certainly not recommend it!
Although it is a beautiful building in beautiful grounds and has some beautiful rooms , I think they are overcharged for what you get especially as one of the guests had a room with a shower which was not working, They need to take some time to assess their customer service and pricing policy!

If you are planning a wedding or event, PLEASE think of your guests and the costs of drinks with an added 12%....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently spent the weekend at the hotel for my wife's birthday. We were impressed by the Hotel and the grounds when we arrived. The hotel staff were very helpful showing us to our room which was very nice. We went for a walk around the lake and had a couple of drinks at the bar. We were lucky with the weather and sat outside soaking up the lovely view. We had a table booked in the Garden Room and had the incredible Tasting Menu.The menu is truly amazing. Our evening was made by Jacob, the Restaurant Manager, his professionalism and expertise is second to none.Everything is very relaxed and you are made to feel very comfortable. Breakfast was very good in the morning also. I would recommend a stay at Stoke Place and make sure you eat in the restaurant - you would not want to miss out!!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here in a suite for my husband's birthday and ate in the restaurant. Welcome was fab even though the staff were busy with two weddings in the weekend, the grounds are beautiful and with bikes and wellies provided. Dinner was lovely and the wine was delicious. The massive bed in our suite was so comfy but then there was a problem when it came to bedtime. There was a regular, intermittent but quite loud noise from a water pump which was very audible in our room. I need complete quiet to go to sleep so this was a big issue. We called the night watchmen at about 0130 and he found another room in a quiet part of the hotel which was great and happened quickly. On check out the young duty manager immediately said how sorry they were that the had been disturbance and took all the drinks that we had consumed over our lovely meal off the bill. We thought that this was excellent customer service as we didn't ask for it, and a different room had also been provided. Shame about the noisy pump in the cost plane but the staff response to this was spot on. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of days last week for work. It's a strange place. On the plus side: stunning grounds and vistas and well proportioned reception rooms. However, they don't seem to have enough staff to provide reasonable service. There was only one barman trying to serve around 30 people in the bar and they ran out of champagne, vodka, tequila, in fact, most drinks. The following morning, our waitress seemed totally overwhelmed and rather stressed by 10 of us breakfasting together.

The decor is patchy. It was clearly good originally, but hasn't worn well and the common areas have rather unattractive brown carpet and peeling paint. Thatbsaid, some of the reception rooms are stunning.

The food wasn't good. Pretentious and rather mean portions.

The lack of staff, combined with the poorly stocked bar and small portions makes me wonder if they are struggling financially.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had dinner here last Saturday evening , and took the tasting menu at £55. This proved to be an excellent meal . An extra plus was my partner does not like venison which was the main dish. It was changed to a fish in a moment. The bread is made in house and the three offered were superb. Nice small touch was, they serve unsalted butter but slip a tea spoon of sea salt alongside it. Thoughtfull. The service was exemplary. The two young Polish girls were excellent. Would engage in conversation or would slip in and out unobtrusively if that was what the moment called for. Perfect service. Any gripes? We were in the garden room and the decor seemed not in keeping with the quality and style of the food. Not a problem. Oh yes, the in house chox were 10/10. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with friends and pretty disappointing. Beautiful house & grounds, but inside just doesn't work. Cheap furnishings, staff that don't understand english, unappealing menu and bad service.

We had dinner in the restaurant, very slow wine service.... Oh & they ran out! Our waitress was not a happy person. The menu was just bizarre, ingredients that didn't work... Fish was over cooked and really who wants fish and plums on a plate with foam??!!

We asked for a delivery to our room it didn't arrive when requested and maid service left our door open??! We were put in an outside cottage, which felt like a shed. Although to be fair the bed was comfy.

Also watch your bill, service charge is added to every order.

Advice.... Stop trying to be something your not. Beautiful property and grounds. Has the potential to be a great boutique hotel ... But trying to hard & it doesn't work.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoke Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Place

Address: Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Stoke Poges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke Place 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Country HouseStoke Place is a reinvention of the traditional country house - a home from home environment, ideal for celebrations and with the feel of an aristocratic-owned private house.With 39 bedrooms, 7 individually designed private rooms seating from 8 to 200 people, extensive gardens designed by the legendary Capability Brown and a gym and treatment room, Stoke Place offers conferences, weddings, quiet getaways and fantastic dining.Recently awarded 3 AA Rosettes for culinary excellence and a Notable wine list award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stoke Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Place Hotel Stoke Poges
Stoke Place Poges
Stoke Place Hotel Poges
Stoke Place Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoke Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.