We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discover a gem at this hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stoke Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stoke Place to your Saves list
Stoke Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Discover a gem at this hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I visited this hotel a few days ago after reading lots about it and getting a good impression on the telephone. I arranged to have dinner in the fine dinning Garden Room restaurant. The service is excellent, but the portions are just too small; it's like trying to discover a gem on your plate. Everything else is fine, but I would not recommend it to anyone who has an appetite.

Room Tip: The location is very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    127
    71
    43
    18
See reviews for
51
227
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited the hotel as part of a Travelzoo deal. The inclusive dinner package was what attracted us and this aspect did deliver. Our accommodation was not in the main house which was not ideal as we had to walk in freezing conditions. I would reccomend the hotel for the food however make sure you have a room in the main house

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've stayed here on a number of occasions now and every time the experience has been first class.
A great place to relax and unwind - the setting is amazing, our room (most recently we had one of the suites) was beautiful and the staff could not have been nicer.
Would strongly recommend this place to anyone - a character all of it's own and i think unbelievably good value for money too!! Mark J

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed for a night with 3-course meal and executive room for 10 year wedding anniversary. The place is a lovely fairly secluded manor house with fantastic character and wonderful grounds including a small lake.
Food was lovely-very classy and delicious and the overall service was excellent.
But, our room was in the main building and happened to be above the restaurant/lounge area. They started playing loud ambient music that literally vibrated through into our bedroom We called reception and they said that this will go onto 11pm. For starters this is pretty unacceptable but what could we do? Anyway, when it was still going on until 11:30 I called only to get no answer at reception so had to go down to the lobby area embarrassingly in my PJs. They then turned it off. Next morning we were woken again at 7:30am by the loud music. Seriously! Again, they apologised and turned off immediately but I was already awake by then. For a place that is basically a "get away from the hustle & bustle of life", I can't believe they still persist in this practice or haven't sorted out any noise insulation/move the loud speakers. It was crazy. They said sorry on our exit and waived a few surplus expenses which was good in a way but I wasn't bothered by any monies-my wife and I wanted a peaceful evening without our son. Just not good enough despite all the efforts they make to raise the service standards. I'm not one for complaining unless really necessary to try to put this into perspective. We were in room 14. Don't stay there is my advice-ask if the room they put you in will be noisy. Well worth staying if they can guarantee a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms not above the restaurant if loud muzak bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I chose Stoke Place as it looks a terrific setting on the website. Took family members to celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary. The tea was delicious and beautifully presented,the staff couldn't have been more friendly, and there is a very welcoming initial greeting at the door. We were unlucky to be there on an extremely busy day - good sign it was busy except we were kept waiting for much longer than suited the older relatives, and then we had only 25 minutes to enjoy the tea as they needed to prepare our table for their evening guests. Have been back again, at a carefully chosen time mid week, when we had a pleasant and leisurely tea, with a stroll around the lake.
I would recommend the tea - but avoid a day they have a wedding to cater for, or a key weekend such as Bank Holiday

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

From booking, arriving and stay with 2 girl friends for a girlie weekend we had a brilliant time. They put us in a cottage so as to accommodate our friendly dog. The grounds are well kept and spacious, kitchen garden and lake lovely even in cold Bank Holiday weekend.

Liked the quirky decor and the dining room is unusual and different (some have said cafe; if so I would add upmarket cafe!!). The food was amazing and service efficient and professional.

We had a complimentary bottle of wine with our booking and reception rang our room to ask whether we wanted in before in the room or in the bar. Everything we asked for we got.

To make it even better? Our family call this shabby chic. Not really shabby but you feel at home here with kids and dogs, rather like a comfortable country house. The glass and table ware were gleaming, the breakfast excellent and dinner fantastic.

Thank you to all concerned.

Will come again and bring the extended family for a weekend as there is masses to do in the grounds - boules, croquet, chess, bikes, lake etc.

Room Tip: Only been in the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

When you drive up to the front of this country house hotel it looks like the bees knees. However, first impressions at signing in at reception do give a foretaste of the standard of the rooms and the common areas throughout.

The furniture is tired and showing signs of wear and tear and the decor is not helpful. It is a tad 'whacky' sort of 60s contemporary style, but having said that it does work in the bar and the breakfast room. However, when this doubles up as the dining room for the evening, it is really not in keeping. The rooms are fine, but again tired, try to get one facing the lake if you can, our did have an excellent view and a walk round the lake is worth it.

Highlight was the excellent dining in the evening and the service overall lacked nothing. Room service was prompt when needed, but the meal was very good, well worth it on its own.

They do need to upgrade the rooms and the common areas, but glad we went.

Room Tip: Choose one at the back, overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoke Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Place

Address: Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Stoke Poges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke Place 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Country HouseStoke Place is a reinvention of the traditional country house - a home from home environment, ideal for celebrations and with the feel of an aristocratic-owned private house.With 39 bedrooms, 7 individually designed private rooms seating from 8 to 200 people, extensive gardens designed by the legendary Capability Brown and a gym and treatment room, Stoke Place offers conferences, weddings, quiet getaways and fantastic dining.Recently awarded 3 AA Rosettes for culinary excellence and a Notable wine list award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stoke Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Place Hotel Stoke Poges
Stoke Place Poges
Stoke Place Hotel Poges
Stoke Place Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoke Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.