We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away from it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel to your Saves list
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Rd, Stoke Poges SL2 4PG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Get away from it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in the Mansion here for 2 nights attending the Boodles tennis event and enjoyed practically everything about it. The only niggle was the bizarre greeting of the staff manning the door who always stopped us from entering and asked if they could help us - almost in the manner of bouncers expecting trouble at a nightclub! We are not particularly scruffy so I'm not sure what that was about. Otherwise Stoke Park was everything we would have wanted it to be. Our first floor room had a wide terrace with views onto the golf course - we ate breakfast out there - bliss! We were able to smoke a cigar too and watch the sunset without annoying anyone. Our room was excellent: huge comfortable bed, fireplace, big sofa, desk,good supply of tea/ coffee and good biscuits, huge bathroom with claw-footed bath, separate shower and 2 sinks. Yes, other places do have more exciting and plentiful, toiletries. Lovely staff. Delicious and plentiful breakfast. Fabulous public areas in this building. We ate in San Marco. There is a charming spacious outside terrace where you can eat. The food was good. The staff were friendly and efficient. And of course, there is the pool, spa, tennis, golf and a lovely 'heritage' walk in the gardens just beyond the golf course. The road from Heathrow was smooth too, and not too long. What's not to like?.

Room Tip: First floor in the mansion with terrace is rather nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you very much for this great review of your stay with us during our Boodles Tournament. We are delighted with your reviews of the bedroom, facilities, San Marco and location, as we aim to create an experience that will be one to remember and leave you wanting to come back. I am thrilled you found our staff to be lovely- guest satisfaction is our highest priority and we hope we exceeded your expectations.

Boodles is a very exciting, but a busy time of the year for us at Stoke Park and simply due to the large amount of guests arriving for The Boodles, many of whom will need to be guided, we had a member of our team on the steps for the event only, and also to protect the exclusivity of the hotel for hotel guests, and I apologise if this seemed unwelcoming in any way.

We pride ourselves on both our location and first class facilities – I am thrilled you enjoyed them.

I sincerely hope you choose to come back to stay with us in the near future.

With very best wishes

Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    98
    37
    13
    9
See reviews for
68
275
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Incredible hotel set in stunning grounds... Rooms are to an extremely high standard. Amazing leisure facilities. Restaurant a bit on the steep side... Salad and G and T was nearly 20 pounds!

Look forward to returning to this hotel! I went on business but would live to return on leisure

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review, we are glad you had a great time and stay with us. There are a number of different experiences to be had at Stoke Park, so whether you are here on business or leisure – you won’t be disappointed.

We have a number of different facilities that you can use, so if you are looking to play a round of golf, a game of tennis or simply relaxing in our spa – the choice is yours. We also offer different dining experiences to choose from whilst visiting us, from informal, light bites and coffees served in our Italian San Marco or Afternoon tea, lighter lunches and well loved dishes served in the relaxed ambience of The Orangery to the fine dining experience of our three rosette restaurant – Humphry’s. All are superbly managed by our Executive Head Chef, Chris Wheeler who ensures that they are all in keeping with our traditions, values and competitor set.

We look forward to welcoming it you back to Stoke Park in the near future.

With very best wishes

Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A beautiful mansion set in a park with a large golf course and grass tennis courts. The bedrooms are large and beautifully appointed with views from either side across the park. Every facility was available and the bathroom again large with a separate shower and bath. The lounge and restaurant are elegantly furnished, and sport superb views across the estate. The service was second to none, every wish attended to and the food was excellent.
A real treat if not a tad expensive. But to offset this the experience was fabulous and my customers loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the mansion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you ever so much for this excellent review, we are thrilled that both you and your guests had such a lovely and enjoyable visit to Stoke Park. We pride ourselves on the finer details we provide for our guests and are delighted this exceeded your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Stoke Park in the not too distant future.

With very best wishes

Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford cheshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Stoke Park where we also attended The Boodles tennis event.
This hotel prides itself on the grounds it is set in and yes they are lovely as you drive in but if you stay on the second floor of the Pavilion (very expensive room rate even if you compare with Celtic Manor and the like) then you see nothing but wall from your window??
The good stuff is very good, towels are great quality, bathroom is huge as is the bed.
The staff are very nice but I guess they have to be because the service charge in San Marco ( cafe type eatery) is way too high. We are told that Humphrys is excellent but we cant comment as we didnt use it.
Take your own shampoo etc as there is not enough supplied for 2 people - yes i know its supposed to be 5 star lol.

Overall its a nice hotel but really not worth the rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, your comments are appreciated and have been duly noted to the appropriate department. I would firstly like to apologise for the view from your bedroom window during your stay. I understand it does partially look at the wall however still has views of the gardens. I’m sorry this didn’t meet your expectations. There are only a few rooms on the second floor of The Pavilion which have this view as most of the rooms enjoy amazing views of the grounds. I sincerely apologise about this, and hope, if you choose to return, will enjoy the benefits of these views.

We do provide amenities of the highest standards in the rooms which we replenish daily, and I apologise if you felt there were not enough. Had we been made aware of this, we would have happily provided with the quantity needed immediately.

I am pleased to see that my team have made an excellent impression, as at Stoke Park we pride ourselves in our genuine friendliness, excellent customer service and the ability to provide a lasting impression on our guests. We offer a number of different dining experiences whilst visiting Stoke Park, so whether you are looking for an informal experience in San Marco –our Italian restaurant or a fine dining experience in Humphry’s- all guests have the freedom to dine where they wish. All of our restaurant’s menus are managed by our Executive Head Chef, Chris Wheeler and prices are in keeping with our competitor set – but I do apologise if the service charge did not adhere to your expectations. Our service charge is in line with most restaurants and I hope you saw that we do clearly state that all service charges are optional.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our lovely entrance with our sweeping grounds and our first class facilities and hope that you had a great time at our Boodles tennis event,

I do hope you would consider us again in the future,

With warmest regards,

Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just spent a day here at the spa with my two daughters. Elder daughter is expecting baby in four weeks and younger is getting married in August. So, this was a chance to relax together before the big events. Had a lovely, healthy lunch in the Atrium which is furnished with big squashy sofas, has subdued lighting and a wonderful fish tank to add to the calm atmosphere. The lunch is taken at a central table, which can seat 8 but there were only ourselves and I other couple eating at the same time. Lovely pool, relaxation rooms and the treatments were fabulous. Try the exfoliating sea minerals and oils massage, my skin has never felt better. This place is so warm, cosy and friendly, you cannot help but switch off! What makes it so special though is the attitude of the staff. They are so friendly, welcoming and relaxed which is just what's needed. We went for a drinks in the main house Orangery at the end of the day and here also the reception and bar the staff are impeccable! Highly recommend ( although was tempted to keep it to myself!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review of your spa day with your two daughters, I am glad to see that it was the perfect day of relaxation and pampering before the big days! I am delighted to see that your lunch in the atrium, surrounded by the tropical fish and cushy sofas, added to the peaceful ambience. Your comment that I am most pleased and proud about however, is that our staff were flawless; the friendly and warm atmosphere created at Stoke Park is in no small part down to the genuinely welcoming staff.

Thank you for sharing this recommendation, we hope to offer you a warm welcome back to the Stoke Park Spa in the very near future.

With very best wishes,

Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stoke Park Club is set in very attractive gounds. The golf course looks superb though I have not played on it. Tennis facilities are very good with a choice of surfaces both inside and out (grass, astro, indoor). The gym is also first rate and they have a modest pool and lots of other spa facilities. Cafe San Marco serves nice snacky lunches on an Italian theme; service can be a bit up and down. The main house has a very smart resaurant, but they also serve more relaxed food in the loung area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am delighted to see that you rate our sporting facilities so highly, health and well-being are an important aspect of the Stoke Park brand. Our fine dining restaurant that you refer to, Humphry’s, offers a selection of Head Chef Chris Wheeler’s innovative Modern British cuisine, and was awarded its third AA Rosette in January for culinary excellence. The Orangery, with its more relaxed atmosphere, is where our fabulous afternoon teas are held and also our less formal all day dining menu.

I hope that you choose to come back to Stoke Park again soon, and perhaps get a chance to play on our 27-hole Championship golf course.

With very best wishes,

Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My sister and I visited Stoke Park for a Spa Day over the May - Bank Holiday. It was a magical day from start to finish - the hotel itself is located within a beautiful setting surrounded by immaculate gardens. We checked in early so we could enjoy the fantastic facilities on offer - before the pamper session started we opted to go to the gym which had all the facilities you could want and more, cardio, power plates, weights area etc - the pool area was very relaxing with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the gardens and fantastic loungers where you could relax and enjoy the peace and quite. Our actual treatments were just brilliant - we both had the Terrake full body massage which was just AMAZING (fully recommend) after that it was champers and lunch in San Marco - again just brilliant. Above all however the staff at the hotel & spa were so professional and very engaging - we can't wait to go back and visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review of your Spa Day with your sister, your comments are greatly appreciated by all here at Stoke Park. I am delighted that you took such great pleasure from our beautiful grounds, and made full use of the gym facilities and swimming pool. I am also pleased to hear that you rated both your Spa treatments and your champagne lunch in San Marco so highly. Your comment that I am most pleased about however, is how our staff made such a positive impression on you, and that they were so engaging and professional.

We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome on your return, hopefully in the near future!

With very best wishes,

Giammario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Poges
4.0 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stoke Place
Stoke Place
#2 of 2 in Stoke Poges
4.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
2.0 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#3 of 3 in Burnham
4.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 stars 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel

Address: Park Rd, Stoke Poges SL2 4PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Stoke Poges
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoke Park is Europe’s leading Hotel, Spa and Country Club Resort conveniently located 35 minutes from London and only 7 miles from Heathrow. Situated in leafy Buckinghamshire, Stoke Park is set amidst 300 acres of glorious parkland, lakes and gardens. With 49 exquisite bedrooms, a 27 hole Championship golf course, award winning Spa, 13 tennis courts and a state-of-the-art gymnasium, one will certainly encounter the ultimate Stoke Park experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Park Hotel Stoke Poges
Stoke Park Poges
Stoke Park Hotel Poges
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa And Hotel Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.