We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Lots of places to visit near by.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ethorpe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ethorpe Hotel to your Saves list
Ethorpe Hotel
85, Packhorse Road | Bucks, Gerrards Cross SL9 8HX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location. Lots of places to visit near by.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Ethorpe in a family room for 3 nights ( originally booked for 2 but decided to stay an extra night). The lady on reception was very helpful & knowledgable. She gave us directions to church (family christening) & a timetable for trains in to the city. We had breakfast every morning - good selection of hot & cold choices to please all tastes. Evening meal was also good value with again a good selection of meals for a veggie, a meat eater & a child. Will definitely stay again when visiting family.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    51
    33
    10
    13
See reviews for
40
38
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

couldn't have asked for more. clean, friendly, value for money and room for five. thank you to all at the ethorpe. didnt get food but when our takeaway was delivered they were lovely, helping with doors, wishing you a good night, all the little personal touches. spot on.

the baldwin family

Room Tip: room 10..... bloody massive bathroom and suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windermere U.K
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst attending a function. The room was clean and spacious. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was fine. Corridors and dinning room are ready for a lick of paint. Very good for the price

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Helpful and friendly staff, food disappointing , breakfast bland with cheap meat. Also food in the pub was poor. The beds were not comfortable and a funny smell in corridors . Expensive say for the service

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights with our children. From the moment we booked the staff could not have been more helpful. We were pleased with the size of the room, which was clean and tidy. We found the whole place simply charming. Breakfast however was a little disappointing. Don't get me wrong the staff tried their best but they just didn't quite get it right. We waited a while to be served. No spoons on table or for the fruit. First day we got served tea. Second day we had to serve ourselves. The food itself was ok. But this would not put us off staying again. It was brilliantly placed you can be in city in approximately 30 mins and ideal for legoland. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just what you'd expect from a Chef and Brewer pub so no surprises, and a tradional menu with a few twists. We just visited for dinner.

They provide colouring kits and a good menu for kids and not a bad one for adults too.

The fish and chips were good enough and the salted chocolate pudding was really good.

They've clearly trained the staff to upsell, but they did so in a friendly, helpful and non pushy way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear BadgerFoot,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and will share your feedback with our management team.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We ordered 6 steaks in total, only two of them were correct and didnt get sent back, the rest were a massive fail, service was excellent especially Steve on the bar shame about the chefs, very nice location and a brilliant selections. Also Anna was a brilliant waitress to us she is a good addition to the hotel. The only thing letting the place down is the incompetent chiefs

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gerrards Cross hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ethorpe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethorpe Hotel

Address: 85, Packhorse Road | Bucks, Gerrards Cross SL9 8HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Gerrards Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ethorpe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethorpe Hotel Gerrards Cross

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ethorpe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.