We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but nothing special.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bull Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bull Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Road, Gerrards Cross SL9 7PA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Gerrards Cross
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“OK, but nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, booked via secret escapes so got quite a good deal. We ate in the main restaurant the first night and the food was just average, I wouldn't go out of my way to eat there again if I'm honest. The bed sunk in the middle and so we didn't get a very good nights sleep on the first night, but after we told them they did fix it for the 2nd night.

We went for a drink in the front bar on the Saturday afternoon and to say the girl working behind the bar was "disinterested" would be an understatement, if you get a cheap deal then it's not a bad place to stay but eat in "The three oaks" pub instead, that was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear paulelvisjones,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you feel you got a good deal through Secret Escapes.

I am happy our team dealt promptly with your mattress request. Thank you for bringing the matter to our attention. After taking our customers' requests into consideration we have replaced some of our old mattresses with new firm ones.

I am very sorry you were disappointed with your restaurant meal. We have recently worked closely with our new Head Chef to improve our restaurant menu by adding new dishes. Our Head Chef extends his apologies your meal wasn't to your satisfaction.

I have also shared your feedback with our bar staff. We take customer care very seriously and always strive to improve our customer service standards. We have introduced extra training courses for our front of house and food & beverage teams.

I do hope you will consider returning to our hotel in the future and experience the improvements we have been making.

Kind regards,
Karl Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    150
    54
    28
    19
See reviews for
72
96
16
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Came to the Bull for a family and friends gathering and it struck me how busy the hotel is. There was a medical conference, a business conference and numerous business men and family groups all over the place having meetings, meals, drinks and chats. The place is in pretty good condition, but the olde world feeling that was around a few years ago has been pretty well swept away by the modernisation and expansion. The service was great, the food good and the occasion memorable, but I wouldn't go there for a quiet get away; for a business meeting, for large groups and maybe a weekend meal, it's probably ideal, but for old fashioned country quietness, try somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear MaxHS,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for giving us an excellent score on service. We pride ourselves in providing excellent service and we always work on improving this area.

I am pleased you had a good stay overall, even though the hotel was busier than expected. The weekend you stayed with us was indeed busy, but our team did its best to cater for all your guests with the hotel.

Our hotel has seen a few improvements the last few years after taking our customer feedback into account. I am sorry you felt it has lost its olde world feeling. We have tried to keep our traditional charm whilst enhancing it with more modern elements to accommodate the demands of today's travellers.

I do hope you visit our hotel again soon and experience the more traditional areas of our hotel, such as our Jack Shrimpton Bar that offers local ales.

Kind regards,
Karl Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booked here paying above our company rate - hotel refused to allow a 4 night stay to be reduced to 3 nights.
Room was below average for the price and service was slow. I had to go find a member of staff to serve me at the bar at 6.30pm. (bar man did eventually return) and had to wait around at breakfast to be seated.
Hotel staff seemed indifferent to guests - maybe they get too much of our corporate business to care. (The exception was the young bar man in the older bar)
In the bedroom, both the robes were small and the air con unit was very noisy. I switched it off to sleep but it seemed to have some auto restart thing so it kept turning back on.
WiFi was a bit hit and miss in my room, but then sadly that is true of many hotels.
I'll be back in the area but not coming back here so looking for suggestions?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear GM-from-the-USA,

Thank you for your time to share your valuable review.

I have investigated with our reservations team and the rates you were charged were the correct rates at the time.
I am sorry you found the service slow at the bar and breakfast. We have recently recruited new members in the Food & Beverage team, in an effort to improve our service levels.

I have also spoken to the Head Housekeeper and we have agreed to get a number of larger size robes, which will be available upon request.

I understand your frustration with the free WiFi in your room. This is a new service that we have introduced and we are looking at ways to improve it.

I would like to reassure you that we take all guest feedback on board and I do hope that you will give us another chance next time you are in town.

Kind regards,
Karl Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I stayed here on business for a night in September.

Like most British 4 star country hotels, you felt it needed a little bit of work.

There was nothing really wrong, but a chain like hotel du vin would be a more upmarket experience for similar money.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Wg284,

Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay.

In the ever changing market of hospitality, we value your feedback and strive to provide and comfortable welcoming atmosphere for our guests.

We always take customer feedback into consideration and have an ongoing programme of upgrade and redecoration throughout the hotel.

I hope you will return to experience the improvements we have been making.

Kind regards,
Karl Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Came here for a quiet weekend away with the other half but was very disappointed. There was a wedding party going on and although it was being held right at the other end of the hotel to us, we were constantly disturbed by children running screaming up and down the corridor outside our room. In fact, at one point late at night a small child no older than 7 knocked on our door and asked me to take him downstairs because he couldn't find his way back to the party. What on earth was he doing wandering around the hotel alone at night??? The noise continued until the wee small hours and we got no sleep until almost 3am, then the guests upstairs from us were up before 7am. We resorted to buying one of the in-room films at about midnight.
We dined in the hotel bar restaurant on Saturday night and it was very disappointing. The food was average at best and the wedding party children were constantly in and out, running round our table. The service was indifferent and there was no atmosphere.
The room itself was fine but more basic than I had expected...quite similar to a Premier Inn.
All things considered I wish we'd stayed at home. I'd certainly have got a better nights sleep!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Lolapalooza,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.
Please accept my apologies that your stay was not what you expected.

I have investigated the points raised from the night in question and have found that our management team did try to contain the wedding party, so the rest of the guests wouldn't get disturbed.
Parents are also reminded during check-in that there are no baby-sitting facilities, so childcare is their own responsibility.

I am sorry you did not receive the service you expected in the restaurant. We have recently made an effort to increase customer service training. I am also planning to introduce customer service NVQ’s for our full time staff.

I hope you will give our hotel another chance and we will welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Karl Wilson
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here many times and it just doesn't improve......

Room this time was OK but so so hot.......just glad I stayed in October and not July.
Better now that WiFi is free in the rooms - didn't use to be.

But what let's it down still is the service.......
I don't want a pint of lager that costs over £4 in a bitter glass so it looses it's head - you can serve it right in 1 bar, why not the other?
Reception at checkout never seems fully manned - they seems surprised that it will be busy between 8am & 9am.
Breakfast is poor - couldn't get an expresso, didn't even bother with the hot buffet and all looked dried out - you could have bounced the yolks on the eggs......

Better hotels for me elsewhere........

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear srp973,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.

I am sorry that you feel we are not improving our facilities and service. I have investigated your issue of the heating in your room with our maintenance team and we have reviewed the timing on the heating system to find the optimum level for all our guests.

I am pleased you had the opportunity to use the free WiFi we have now introduced to our bedrooms.

We do expect high levels of checkout between 8am and 9am, and normally the Duty Manager would also help with the checkouts when it is busy.

We have recently reviewed the breakfast service with our new Head Chef and value your feedback on the food. Espresso coffee is available on request rather than being served as standard.

You feedback has been shared with our team and we do hope we welcome you back in the future to see our improvements and exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Karl Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were based here for our tour of London. Our room was on the ground floor, clean, modern, comfortable bed, two comfy armchairs and a good size bathroom.

There was a good choice at the buffet breakfast, but the dinner was also a buffet and served in individual portions which were an adequate size for me but my hungry husband was less than impressed and the choice was very limited.

We liked the layout of the hotel, and it was nice to relax in the bar with a drink after dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Trippie3003,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Bull Hotel and for your compliments about the hotel.

We have recently changed the dinner service following customer feedback. For large parties that have dinner included as a buffet in their package we have moved to a more traditional carvery option.

I hope you overall had a positive experience and we will welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Karl Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Address: Oxford Road, Gerrards Cross SL9 7PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Gerrards Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Gerrards Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.