We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern Italian with great service & fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Di Paolo

Di Paolo
22-24 Oak End Way | Beaconsfield, Gerrards Cross SL9 8BR, England
+44 1753 880300
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $44
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Di Paolo restaurant located in the heart of Gerrards Cross, serving authentic home-made Italian food. With 36 years of experience in the industry, Di Paolo offers an exquisite menu with the finest ingredients. Our Function Room is available without additional change and can accommodate up to 32 dining guests, frequently used for Birthdays, Christenings, Weddings, Business Events, Social gatherings and Black Tie Dinners amongst many other occasions. Please signup to our newsletter to receive Di Paolo updates, special offers and new menus made by Paolo.
South East England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A modern Italian with great service & fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Despite living only 6 miles away from Gerrards Cross, this was our first venture to eat there. We were not sure where to eat so after seeking trip advisor advice we plumped for DiPaolo and were not disappointed. On arrival the waiter greeted us warmly, took our coats and sat us down. Menus and the wine list were swiftly offered. We ordered wine & water, however as we were with friends we had not seen for a while we were busy catching up rather than looking at the menu. The waiter was extremely patient and did not rush us to order. A range of starter and mains on the specials menu were presented in detail. I liked the fact there was a choice of a set menu or standard menu, both of which sounded very appetising. We opted for the standard menu, which had a good choice. I liked the fact we were in an Italian but the chef obviously has taste and talent as the choices were not just pasta in different forms with a choice of cream or tomato sauce. I opted for Cozze Alla Contadina, steamed mussels with tomato, white wine, garlic, canellini beans and chilli. This was divine. A great size portion, full of flavour and for mussel lovers all the shells were open, a good sign. There was a slight punch of chilli through but not too strong, well balanced flavours. My husband opted for Asparagi Con Pancetta Tirolese, asparagus with ham, rocket & tomato salad and chilli pecorino cheese. A big thumbs up and a clean plate said this was fantastic. For mains I ordered Tortellacci Con Salmone E Gamberi, salmon and prawn tortelloni with pesto sauce. This was amazing, great presentation and attention the detail. The pasta was thinly rolled so the dish was not too heavy and the filling was a generous portion without being too much. This dish also came in a smaller portion, however the larger one is not too much, just fine as a main. Hubby went for Petto Di Pollo Farcito Con Pinoli, corn fed chicken with roasted pancetta in a cranberry marinate with port and sauté potatoes, carrots and green beans. A wonderfully flavoured dish, presented well and again the portion size was just right. During our meal the staff were attentive but not over kill, and very friendly. The dessert menu was tempting but we refrained, coffees and liquors were offered too. During the meal bottled or tap water was also available. All in all as our first choice in Gerrards Cross I am extremely happy we chose here, I would highly recommend DiPaolo and will definitely return, hopefully soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    25
    15
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bushey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
““Unfailingly excellent!””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Saturday afternoon thinking of where to go and we found this lovely restaurant Di Paolo we rang on the way there and booked a table for two for 6.30pm it was a lovely man who answered the phone very polite and friendly. We got there a little early parking was limited but was available, we were seated near bar which was a lovely quiet setting the waiter was polite and very friendly we ordered our wine and starters and main course , and in no time we were served our starters straight away. The presentation and quality of the food was superb, then our glasses were refilled and mains was served, lovely yet again., I went to the bathroom before we left and they were so plush nice and clean, which was really nice too see. We were given loads of time in-between meals and there was no rushing us onto the next course. I had a great evening and felt totally happy with my experience at Di Paolo. The bill for all we had to eat and drink was under £90 for two, I would recommend that you try this place out ,its one of my favorite now and they will be seeing us very very soon well done Di Paolo.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“an amazing italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

a truly wonderful atmosphere great service amazing food and white tablecloths!definately going back but havent had time.Looking forward to taking our friends

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“First class food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Went to DI Paulo's for a celebration meal for 8. The food was suberb, and at a easily affordable price. Extremely good value for the quality that was provided. The service could not have been better, attentive but not at all rushed. Also had an excellent choice - fantastic seafood selection, but a variety of other dishes as well. Nice to see a restaurant of this quality quite busy on a Thursday night, they obviously have quite a few regulars, and I hope we will return in the very near future. Many thanks for making the evening special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Outstanding Italian food and superb night out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went to Di Paolo first time on St Valentine's day with special Valentine menu with my fiancée and had a superb romantic evening! The ambience was great and staff was very helpful and friendly. The food was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. The prices are very reasonable for such a top notch Italian food.
We visited Di Paolo second time in March with a friend who usually eats in a very expensive London restaurants. He was very impressed with the food quality/presentation and reasonable prices. I had for dessert the best ever cream brûlée with berries.

Thank you Di Paolo and I am looking forward to visiting you again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Paolo also viewed

Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
 
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Di Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Di Paolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.