We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food, but a bit formal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Di Paolo

Di Paolo
22-24 Oak End Way | Beaconsfield, Gerrards Cross SL9 8BR, England
+44 1753 880300
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $44
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Di Paolo restaurant located in the heart of Gerrards Cross, serving authentic home-made Italian food. With 36 years of experience in the industry, Di Paolo offers an exquisite menu with the finest ingredients. Our Function Room is available without additional change and can accommodate up to 32 dining guests, frequently used for Birthdays, Christenings, Weddings, Business Events, Social gatherings and Black Tie Dinners amongst many other occasions. Please signup to our newsletter to receive Di Paolo updates, special offers and new menus made by Paolo.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Italian food, but a bit formal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a formal white table cloth restaurant that is a bit pricey, but the food and service were fantastic. I started with the mussels in a rich tomato sauce and then had roast chicken. The others in my party seemed equally satisfied with their meals. The had a nice wine menu by the glass or bottle and a full bar. We had a party of seven on a Tues and they had no problem seating us, but reservations would probably be a good idea on busier nights. Would definitely go back for a special meal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    25
    15
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Your local Italian heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We turned up to a full restaurant on a Saturday night without a reservation and were accommodated without fuss when a table for two was created for us. My grilled calamari starter was perfectly prepared and imaginatively presented and my partners mozzarella salad was likewise. Both were enjoyed immensely. My lasagna main was light and full of flavour and enjoyable to the last morsel. My partners peppardelle pasta with wild rabbit sauce was delicately flavoured and well balanced. The service throughout was attentive and professional with the owner in attendance. The bill was very reasonable for this part of the world. An immensely enjoyable evening in a local gem. We would hope to become 'regulars'

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Always freshly prepared, wonderful food, very friendly and attentive staff, never disappointed! On our last visit, to celebrate a birthday, the staff presented a dessert with candle to the birthday girl, even though we hadn't asked for one! A lovely touch! And pretty typical of the service that we have received in the past, nothing seems to be too much trouble!

Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We went for a romantic meal, the place is nice with friendly attentive staff. Both of us are quite picky with our food and we loved everything we tried. The best fresh bread we have tasted, better than any other restaurant including Italy. I am a vegetarian and it was nice to have non standard veggie options and a variety to choose from at a reasonable price. In many places vegetarians seem like an after thought but not here. The presentation of the dishes is lovely. Would defiantly recommend this place and am looking forward to going back :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing!!! All amazing !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had guests coming from Rome and we wanted to impress them with Italian cuisine in UK!! I booked a table for 11 last night and we arrived there to find a big table very nicely set up with very elegant glassware, tablecloth, cutlery and grand candles in a warm atmosphere with light music. The staff and the restaurant manager were very welcoming and helpful. The food was really nice, from the starters, to sides and main courses, very carefully prepared, most of us had steak which was really succulent and full of flavour.. The plates were very nicely presented and decorated and most important taste amazing!! The manager stood beside the table to watch the waiters putting each plate in place and to make sure we are happy and satisfied. The plates were removed completely empty and everyone enjoyed the meal very much. We finished this amazing night by the most delicious ice cream I ever tasted, and Tiramisu prepared by their chef and cappuccino of a very high standard. All over it was really nice and we will definitely go there again. I would recommend this place if you want to spend an amazing evening with delicious food. Thank you to everyone who made our night AMAMZING !!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Paolo also viewed

Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
 
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Di Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Di Paolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.