We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The White Hart to your Saves list
The White Hart
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Square, Buckingham MK18 1NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Pub Accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

The White Hart is a combination of old Coaching Inn and modern hotel.
The clean and comfortable rooms are accessed via winding stairs through low doorways. The floors are not even and the windows not square. Quaint.
The breakfast is a reasonable example for pub accomodation.
The location in the market square is perfect
The pub downstair is huge by English standards, with a number of sitting areas including an outdoor deck at the rear.
There is onsite parking, but it was full when we arrived. There is really no street parking to speak of.
Parking our car in the car park (eventually) meant carrying bags through the entire hotel area to get to the reception.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    32
    19
    35
See reviews for
17
54
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancashire, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed at the White Hart in July 2010 as we wanted somewhere to stay close to the Silverstone track which we were visiting that weekend. Our first impressions of the White Hart were very good. The building is actually a lot larger than we expected and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The building itself appears to be relatively old and so there are lots of nice period features including some of the traditional windows and winding stairways. This is one thing that probably should be mentioned, as far as we were aware, access to all of the rooms involved some kind of stairway as there are no lifts so those people who would have difficulty walking up large amounts of stairs should probably enquire about this. There was, however, a notice at reception which addressed this issue so the staff may be willing to assist guests etc. The room itself was very nicely decorated with modern furnishings inc flat screen tv on wall, tea and coffee making facilities etc. The bathroom was also very nice and clean and included complementary toilettries. Breakfast in the morning was available at an extra cost and there was either a Continental or full English option. Over all, the White Hart was a very nice place to stay for a short break and if we were ever looking to visit Buckingham again, we are likely to make a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at the White Hart as a base for Silverstone grand prix weekend, as its only 8 miles away. We arrived Friday evening after a long day and were met by fantasic staff. Noting seemed too much trouble. We ate in the pub each night, the food was great as was the service. The breakfast was lovely and again the service was great, adapting the menu to individual requirements. A mention to Gavin who was far too happy for 7am! Our room was a good size and the decor was modern. The bed was really comfy and we weren't disturbed by any pub noise. The pub was a really good size and had a big beer garden. Watched the world cup final on one of their big screens and it had a really good atmosphere. We couldn't find fault with the hotel or the pub and will be booking again for the race next year. Rob, the manager, must be commended for his hard work, he has a fantastic team around him, but he really pushed the boat out to make our weekend unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Stayed at the White Hart 19th June. Had a lovely time, the staff at the hotel are lovely, our room was big and clean. Even though I had read previous reviews about the noise coming from the bar, I am pleased to say that we didnt have any problems with noise. If I am in the area again I will definately stay at the same hotel.
Thanks to all the staff for making our stay comfortable.

Theresa and Phill

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Located on the market square, The White Hart is a combination of pub and hotel.
The bedrooms as mentioned by other reviewers have been renovated, and ours was fine with a large bathroom.
The staff are friendly and we would recommend for a short stay.
The road outside of the hotel is busy, so expect some noise from traffic.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

This is essentially a pub with rooms. Located in the centre of Buckingham. On the Saturday night when I stayed, the bars were full with a young crowd. It was quite noisy. but the staff went to some trouble to find me a quiet room.
As stated by others, this is a very old pub which has recently undergone major refurbishment. They have done a good job but there is no lift, and in my room there was no light switch anywhere near the bed. Also, no shelf in the bathroom.
Apart from such small details, I would stay again. Breakfast was good and B&B prices very reasonable. The staff (David and Gavin should be mentioned) were friendly and very helpful.
Convenient for Bicester Shopping Outlet.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Banbury
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We arrived and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, modern and the bed was so comfy, I am normally very fussy! The aircon kept the room at a very comfortable temp all night. Breakfast was lovely, we opted for the full english but the continental had loads of variety. Staff were attentive and very welcoming. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Address: Market Square, Buckingham MK18 1NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Buckingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The White Hart 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart is a friendly and lively attraction in the centre of the quaint market town of Buckingham. The newly refurbished rooms are fully equipped with free wifi, air-con and LCD televisions. At this home away from home, come down to the bar to relax, watch live sport and sample the great value bar menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Buckingham
White Hart Buckingham
The White Hart Buckingham, Buckinghamshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.